? 12/25 Kevin AMPS 5.1 (92)

Georgia & Kevin

Member Since 2022
I'm wondering if/when I should shoot or not.

My doubt is highly caused because of his eating habits, which I'll describe below.

Kevin is newly diagnosed and we've been on LC Wet & Lantus for just 22 days. He used to free feed kibble, and when given old wet food he would finish all the wet food as soon as it was put down.

Now that he is on fully LC Wet, at first he would finish it all immediately. Great for giving shot after. But now as we've been doing this for a little bit he's realized he doesn't have to finish all his food immediately. Not so good for shots. But he will ALWAYS finish the food by the end of the 12 hour cycle. Typically enjoys the most of it 3-4 hours after putting food down.

Kevin came with me home for the holidays. Very scared cat. At home before we left, we were trying to figure the best time to put food out, so that his shot isn't on an empty stomach. But since he's so scared here, his eating is unpredictable (although again, he will almost ALWAYS finish the food by the end of the 12 hour cycle).

His numbers have been great though!? And I haven't been giving him insulin. I'll do a curve once I get home from holidays. But should I be giving him his shots anyway? His activity has been so low, and its been really hard to get tests from him here, he's normally great for testing. But being here, and getting these good numbers I kinda just want to let him be.
 
How long has it been since he stopped kibble and is eating only LC wet? A diet change can make a big difference to numbers. The fact that he's seeing a green preshot after 3 cycles of no insulin means that he might need much less than 1U. With SLGS, every drop below 90 is a dose reduction by 0.25U.

When do you get home? You could watch him today and see how he does in terms of his numbers and take a call on the dose tomorrow. I'm assuming that if you give insulin you may not be able to monitor closely today?

In terms of food, with Lantus you don't need to feed a whole lot of food with the shot. Some food is good. Lantus typically onsets 2 hours after the shot, so you have that much time to get food into him. Are you picking up the food 2 hours before shot time? That way you don't get a food influenced preshot number.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
He switched to LC wet December 2nd, 2022. Loves wet food.

I’ll be going home December 30th. I’m holding off on shots right now. I’ll be reducing his dose for sure then, and keep posted with more testing when I do.
 
Keep testing him even if you do not give insulin. For cats with a functioning pancreas, food should bring down the BG after 3 hours because the pancreas produce insulin in response to food.
 
Last edited:
I'm wondering if/when I should shoot or not.

My doubt is highly caused because of his eating habits, which I'll describe below.

Kevin is newly diagnosed and we've been on LC Wet & Lantus for just 22 days. He used to free feed kibble, and when given old wet food he would finish all the wet food as soon as it was put down.

Now that he is on fully LC Wet, at first he would finish it all immediately. Great for giving shot after. But now as we've been doing this for a little bit he's realized he doesn't have to finish all his food immediately. Not so good for shots. But he will ALWAYS finish the food by the end of the 12 hour cycle. Typically enjoys the most of it 3-4 hours after putting food down.

Kevin came with me home for the holidays. Very scared cat. At home before we left, we were trying to figure the best time to put food out, so that his shot isn't on an empty stomach. But since he's so scared here, his eating is unpredictable (although again, he will almost ALWAYS finish the food by the end of the 12 hour cycle).

His numbers have been great though!? And I haven't been giving him insulin. I'll do a curve once I get home from holidays. But should I be giving him his shots anyway? His activity has been so low, and its been really hard to get tests from him here, he's normally great for testing. But being here, and getting these good numbers I kinda just want to let him be.
Beautiful numbers you are doing a great job:cat:
 
@Bandit's Mom hi, do you already think Kevin needs to be off insulin? I advise her to post on her because ruckus is such a way more complicated cat with his acromegaly and antibodies. Kevin is doing so good it’s blowing my mind, any other suggestions other than more tests. With the slow method what is the Canadian number she should not be giving the insulin?
 
Back
Top