12/25 Kay AMPS=288 +3=141 +6=85 +8=67 +10=78 PMBG=55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
I never thought I'd be spending an 18th Christmas with my best feline friend. This year feels more special somehow, and I'm so grateful to still have her in my life. I got everything I wanted today; a happy and energetic kitty with all 5 P's in place, a healthy appetite and perfect BMs (what's this poop club I hear about and how do I join? :D). I've been blessed with thunderpurrs, chest cuddles and headbutts--material gifts pale in comparison!

Happy Holidays, LL and scritches and smoochies to all the sugarcats! :)
 
Last edited:
An hour until preshot and Kay is surfing greens. :eek: Her nadirs have been around +4 lately, but it was +8 today. I'm thinking my options are:

1. Stall and test her every 30 minutes until she starts rising and give her the full dose.
2. Give her a token half-dose or quarter-dose.
3. Be uber safe and skip the shot to let her depot drain.

I gotta admit I'm kinda chicken and leaning towards option 3. I will be home to monitor her of course. Would appreciate any thoughts, thanks!
 
Hi Mel

She's been pretty flat now for some time today. If you have supplies (strips, HC food, karo) and can stay up, the best option is to shoot the .75u on time. However, usually the first time you shoot green, we stay with you and I'm not able to do that tonight, unfortunately.

Your options are correct but remember that because of the depot, if you take any of the options, she still might come down tonight. Hard to say.

I will be up two more hours but after that, you'd likely be alone. Do you have a preference knowing all that?

I'll be back in a bit.....it's Gracies test and feeding time.
 
Marje, I think I'm going to play it safe and not shoot. After the 47 she gave me a couple days ago, I don't think my heart can take it. I will continue to keep an eye on her, for sure. Thanks for stopping by. Love to you, Mike and Gracie. :)
 
If I could stay up with you, I'd strongly encourage you to shoot. We shoot low (above 50) to stay low and develop those nice, long green Lantus curves. I'm really sorry I can't stay up....mike will be home in two hours and we haven't had Christmas yet.

A 47 is a safe number....it just is a little lower than the cushion we like and it's a "pay attention" number.

I can understand why you wouldn't want to shoot and be alone. Wait and see where she is at PMPS. I will still be around and we can discuss it if she is headed up, ok?

Merry Christmas!!!!!
 
Preshot is 55! I'm way too chicken to shoot that alone. Christmas dinner and presents are delayed on account of me; thankfully, I have a very understanding family! Enjoy your Christmas, Marje, and thanks again for your help!
 
While it's likely her second Lantus dip, it's a wise decision. I'd feed her and check her in an hour or so and be sure she is coming up.

Have a wonderful night with your family!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top