12/25 China PMPS 359,+2.5 260,+6 119,+9 142 BOING!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Merry Christmas everyone!!

I realize red is a "christmassy color", but so is GREEN!!

What's up with the 400's China???

Oh well...guess I don't have to worry about her going too low today while we're out at the DIL's parents house for Christmas lunch

Have a blessed and Merry Christmas Lantus Land!
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438 YUCK!

Chris, I hope you and your family have a great Christmas and you come home to a lower number.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438 YUCK!

It is nice of China to give you a number that let's you not worry while she is out...but remember, China, red and GREEN are perfect together, so once those beans are home, head on back to the lagoon!!!
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438 YUCK!

Merry Christmas Chris. Enjoy your Christmas lunch with your family. Unusual number for China-sometimes numbers are wonky. At least you won't have to worry for today.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

So much for the worry-free day!!

At 2.5 she's at 175...a 263 point drop in 2 1/2 hours!!!

I'm supposed to leave at about 10-10:15 and it's now 8:45

I guess I can load her up with lots of gravy, but then if she comes crashing back down, I won't be here then either...and if I just leave lots of food down, the civvies will hoover it up if I'm not here to shoo them away
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

I hate when this happens right when you have to leave. If you give her gravy now and right before you leave I wonder if that will slow her down enough? Sometimes Lovey drops a lot in the first few hours but then levels off. Does she usually nadir around hours 6-8?
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

"usually" she nadir's around +6 to +8, but even if I give her gravy now to prop her up, her +6 would be noon, and we'll still be almost an hour away from the DIL's parent's house. Dinner is around 1-1:30 so even if we "dined and dashed" (which is out of the question) we wouldn't be home until at least 4pm (+10)

As much heat as I'm going to take from it from my son, who already has "warned me" not to get sick, get hurt or otherwise back out if I said I would go, and whose attitude on China is "she's just a cat" (but of course if she was HIS cat, things would be different!!), I think if there's not a big surprise when I test again here in a few minutes, I'm going to have to cancel.

I hate to do it..I really do...I know my DIL's parents didn't have to invite the whole family, and have been working hard on this meal to make it special, plus it's Mom's first Christmas in many many years not at her own home...and without Dad
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

Merry Christmas Chris & China,

I hope her next number shows you a surf, and you are able to go out. It is hard when "outsiders" do not understand about our kitties going too low. I have quite a few in my life like that. And those that think you put your cat above humans.....hmmmmm, well guilty on that sometimes ;-) . It is hard for them to grip a potential emergency.

Hope China surfs safely along - either way, hope you have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

Morning Chris, and MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! ~O) ~O) ~O)

And a big OH WOW> what to do indeed... well any chance you can take China with you? I had to with Mannie. He would pull this stuff all the time: neud to go and he'd drop like a rock. I too couldn't leave him home with food, the others always ate it...

Good luck with the next test...maybe that +2.5 was a fluke, bad strip?

I hope you don't have to cancel....
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

Maybe you don't have to cancel..... maybe you can just be late..... ( fake car trouble or tripping and hurt your ankle - I'll hobble over as quick as I can ;-) )
Come on China.... no lower, okay?

Merry Christmas!
tumblr_mx4tibsCRJ1su2ozao1_250.gif
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

I already considered the "box her up and take her with me" idea, but since she's already eaten (and has a problem with carsickness), there'd be 4 of us (plus a sick cat) in a not so big car for 2 hours this morning, 2 hours this afternoon ...and I'm not sure DIL's parents are "animal people"...I know they have them, but not sure what types and it's asking an awful lot to bring a spare cat along for Christmas dinner

As for the fluke strip, that was my first thought too, so I immediately repeated it and got 172 so was going with the higher of the 2 to begin with..I've learned here that if you get a wonky number, always retest!

If she were even a young child, I could maybe say "if you start to feel weird, eat some ice cream...or call 911", but when it's a kitty, those aren't options.

She's down to 141, so a drop of almost 300 points...whether my son likes it or not, I just can't see leaving...and what he'll never understand (other than his "she's only a cat" attitude) is that I REALLY was looking forward to going too...but he'll never believe it and knowing him, will think that I'm lying or have been planning something "like this" all along :sad:
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

I'd thought of that too Rhiannon, but with it being a 2 hour drive one way, if they're eating at 1pm, that doesn't buy me much time...and even if I walked in (hobbled in?..LOL) late, there'd still be another 2 hour drive home...there's just no good way to leave for at least 5 hours right now unless they were to reschedule the whole meal for tonight...after her evening shot at 6pm

On a more positive note, the kitties are LOVING the bananas!!!
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

yes Catherine...that's her +3.5..the 141...but China has a past history that when she drops like this, she's going to keep on going and there's just no way to know when she'll stop.

Could she surf above 50 the rest of the day? Sure, it's possible, but her history says it's not likely, and I doubt if I'd enjoy the "ride", be able to hold polite conversation over the meal, and then the ride back anyway worrying about her
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175 NOW WHAT??

I'm sorry Chris.... Your China sounds very much like my Mannie. I went through the same thing - with drops like that he just kept heading down.... I hope your family will udnerstand. Hugs to you today.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5,+3.5 141 175 NOW WHAT??

My first thought was to bring her along. If your son really wants you there, it's a reasonable option (other than a carsick cat). The stress may also keep her numbers up. You could always leave this as a choice for your son. If he really wants you there, it's with China. If that's not possible, then he's making a decision.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5,+3.5 141 175 NOW WHAT??

Oh Chris, what a dilemma. I always had the same problem. My son and DIL were not understanding of my reluctance to leave Checkers, with low numbers. I always ended up feeding high carb, or on rare occasion, skipping shot, risking catching heat here for skipping, or heat from family for skipping family function.
I wish I had thought of Sienne's suggestion, of asking, "Do you want me to bring 'the cat?"
I would have been in a pickle if they said to bring, 'cause it was 60 mile trip. :roll:

I'm sorry I can't help.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5,+3.5 141 175 NOW WHAT??

When I saw the 438 this morning at AMPS (and since she'd been at 427 at +6 last night I figured it wasn't a bad strip) it never even crossed my mind to skip it...or even give a BCS. China clears bounces quickly, but not in 3 hours, so I figured I had at least 1 entire cycle to leave, party and enjoy the day.

I might have been more comfortable if it was just "low numbers" too..as long as she was surfing, but to drop 300 points in 3 hours, she's on a mission and there's just no way to know where she'll end up going

That would have been a good idea Sienne..maybe...I just never know how this particular son of mine is going to take anything...no matter what, I'd be wrong..that's just the kind of relationship we seem to have...but at least it would have given him the option of saying "well, I don't understand it since she's ONLY a cat, but whatever Mom..I figured you'd think of some way to get out of it" (and yes, I can totally hear him saying that)..but it would have been HIS decision!

It also wouldn't be fair to China to drag her out for a car ride she would NOT enjoy, as well as expecting the DIL's parents to accept a strange cat in their home without any notice, so I will just have to live with the backlash and do what's best for everyone (in my opinion)...especially China!

He'll understand better the next time he calls me at midnight saying "Mom..Baby (his pit bull) is dying!! (she has a chronic skin condition, but it's NEVER been life-threatening that minute)..and I've always told him "if you're worried about her, take her to the vet..we'll figure out how to pay for it later"....only NEXT time, if I get grief over today, I'm going to say "Well she's ONLY a dog, what's the emergency"?
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5,+3.5 141 175,+4.2 120 staying

Boy oh boy, do I feel for you!! It's only been recently that my family has been more understanding of my cat, and that's probably because I've stopped apologizing for him. The fact is, China is always going to be a baby...she'll never been able to say exactly how she's feeling and she'll never be able to give herself a snack when she feels her numbers dropping. She will ALWAYS be dependent on you. If others don't understand, that's their problem. When it's her time to cross the bridge, you'll know that you gave her excellent care and she had a great life. I would send some flowers or a fruit bouquet to your DIL's parents. If they don't understand, well, you did what you could. I say to you, HAVE A MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! And enjoy your cliff-jumping kitty!!
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5,+3.5 141 175,+4.2 120,+5.5 75

What a rainbow, what a dilemma. We are travelling with Neko today. Hope you managed to convince them you are a package deal.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5,+3.5 141 175,+4.2 120,+5.5 75

Chris, I'm sorry China threw such a wrench into your plans today. I know how hard it is to be in that situation. Hopefully your family will be understanding. I hope China surfs for you the rest of the day.
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5,+3.5 141 175,+4.2 120,+5.5 75

We hit 50!! Now we'll just see if she keeps dropping...at least she's slowing down!!

AMPS 438
+2.5 175
+3.5 141
+4.2 120
+5.5 75
+6.5 51
+7 50

6pmic6.jpg


No cats were harmed in the fakery of this picture :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175,+3.5 141,+6.5 51,+7 50,+8

We got a nice surf going on...and considering the circumstances, I'm totally comfortable with my decision to stay home. Yes, it would have been nice to go, but I know I wouldn't have enjoyed a minute of it worrying about her.

Now to just see how high she bounces after her cliff dive this morning!
 
Re: 12/25 China AMPS 438,+2.5 175,+3.5 141,+6.5 51,+7 50,+8

Looks like China was just trying to give you a rainbow for Christmas! Tell her to send some of those low numbers Cobb's way. :lol:
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359 BOING!!

Suzanne, I'd LOVE to have shared some of her cliff dive with Cobb!! Maybe then I wouldn't have missed the family dinner!

We finally got the bounce I was expecting...of course after that dive, I'm not at all surprised...now let's just see how long it takes for her to clear it..and CHINA..you really don't have to clear it in the next couple of hours, OK??

And it came as no surprise...my son stopped by not long ago and dropped off a "care package"..and then told me he KNEW I'd find a way to get out of it and doesn't believe for a minute there was anything wrong with China...Sigh :sad: cat(2)_steam

Recap of a busy day

AMPS 438
+2.5 175
+3.5 141
+4.2 120
+5.5 75
+6.5 51
+7 50
+8 51
+9 149
+10 253

PMPS 359
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359 BOING!!

Oh Chris....I'm so sorry for how your day turned out. It's just something we all deal with and understand about but unfortunately, most other people, including relatives, don't.

I hope you found some time for yourself today and enjoyed the meal your son brought.

unknown-1.gif
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359 BOING!!

Son's can be, well, I don't know your son so don't want to say anything bad. It's unfortunate that you had to hear that though, Chris.

I'm sure over the years, I've caused my parents pain, but usually it was me butting heads with my dad. Never my Mom.

Quite the day for you and China. I hope you have a "Merry Day After Christmas"!

Hugs,
Carl
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359,+2.5 260 BOING!!

Oh Chris, I'm sorry you had such a rough day and that you missed the family gathering. I got the same "she'll be fine" when I wavered on the office Christmas party, but at least that was just work people and not family :sad: You're a good bean to take care of China first! :YMHUG: I hope that China gives you an easy evening of rest :-D . Merry Christmas!
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359,+2.5 260 BOING!!

Sorry about the words from your son. Maybe he was just upset that you weren't there? This board is nice for the reason that people understand what it means to take care of a diabetic cat.

China went from 400's to 50. Do you think the 1.25 will end up being too much insulin for her?
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359,+2.5 260 BOING!!

I hope you and China were able to enjoy your Christmas, even if plans were changed.
370968979_806c9f40c4.jpg
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359,+2.5 260 BOING!!

Hope you still enjoyed your day, Chris. Kids can be a pain in the butt at times! Kitties, not too often :-D
China, let your momma get some sleep tonight, please. You kept her busy all day :-D
 
Re: 12/25 China PMPS 359,+2.5 260,+6 119 BOING!!

Thanks so much everyone for the kindness and understanding. It's much appreciated, especially when your own child doesn't understand. My Mom did, the DIL did, but my own son saves his special form of venom for me.

China's coming back down from her bounce at a MUCH better rate than this morning, so I think I'm going to try to get some sleep. AMPS comes soon enough.

PMPS 359
+2.5 260
+6 119

On the one really positive note, Santa Paws brought everyone their own banana!! I've never seen all 3 of mine go that crazy!! They really LOVE them!! So cute!! Will try to get some decent pictures sometime

In case you missed it earlier, I thought this was hilarious...and pretty much fit the issues this morning...Introducing, China, the Cliff Diving Cat!!
6pmic6.jpg


No kitties were harmed in the fakery of this picture....LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top