12/25 Baby AMPS 138 +6 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
First off.. (((Carolyn & Latte (GA) rb_icon))) I hope you see this, because you do not have a condo to thank you for the beautiful blessing & kind words you have been in the past few days.

***Question, I realize:
Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Which is Baby? Is she an old Diabetic Or New? How does OTJ factor in? Is it based on Diagnosis or how long on the juice?
She was diagnosed 1 year ago this month, on Insulin for 4 months, diet controlled nearly 8 months.

I want to begin shooting .50 tomorrow & take her to the Vet Monday (to maybe understand WHY she is out of remission)

Ok?
 
Re: 12/25 Baby **Question

Nicole: I don't see any reason to increase until you see the vet. Her numbers are not above 200. That is just my opinion. Hopefully some others will give their opinion.
 
Re: 12/25 Baby **Question

I just wrote this, but I lost it.
She had a pretty darn good cycle last night. I agree with Barbara. I would wait until you see the vet. And, I'm glad you're taking her in for a checking over.
 
Re: 12/25 Baby **Question

I hope you are having a wonderful holiday!

Unless more experienced eyes suggest otherwise, my understanding is that a cat is considered a "new" diabetic if they are less than a year from diagnosis. The amount of time that a cat has been on insulin doesn't factor in. So from that perspective, Baby would no longer be considered a new diabetic once it is the anniversary date of her diagnosis. In addition, it is often harder for a cat to go OTJ a second time so the more rigorous cut-offs for dose reductions make more sense.

I also agree with what Barb and Dyana said. Getting Baby checked out so you know why she is back on insulin makes good sense. IMHO, ideally this could have been done prior to starting Baby on insulin.
 
Re: 12/25 Baby **Question

I really think the vet visit will help things become a little more clear and guide you with your dosing decisions. Until then, I agree with the others about waiting it out. And, knowing baby...full .25unit increases may not be necessary. Do you have an appt scheduled for Monday, or you are planning on scheduling one/trying to get her in? I get the sense you are really nervous about getting her checked out. ((((((((nicole)))))))) Its very likely its a simple thing that can be treated and then no more insulin! Dont forget, you have the power of the board behind you!

On another note, thank you for your kind words. You made me cry though! ;-) Its good to have a computer again so I can reconnect with those who helped me and Latte. I hope you had wonderful christmas full of love.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/25 Baby **Question

Wishing you a beautiful Xmas & Baby,come back down--Sure she could have a slight uti, tooth problem, anything minor, that could raise those numbers=
I hope you get your Holiday wish & Baby goes back to the Falls--Lubs you guys!! Many Hugs from Us!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top