12/25/20 - Squeaky! PMPS 534, +6=311 AMPS 104 Skipped; +1.5=74 2=79 +8=414 PMPS=429

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jan D & Squeaky, Dec 25, 2020.

  1. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-24-20-squeaky-amps-141-5-125-8-329-pmps-534.240446/

    What made the cat upgrade his phone? He wanted to finally get pawtrait mode.

    I think everything is going okay. Will skip this morning and check in about an hour before I leave the motel. He ate a pretty good breakfast. Is not eating from his dish, only from my hand so I have to be here to feed him. UPDATE: I put some canned food in there and he ate from the dish. YAY

    Wishing everyone who celebrates it, a very Merry Christmas! And if not, happy whatever you celebrate!

    Also I still haven't responded to everyone who posted in my threads recently, will do so when I can! I love your comments and thanks to everyone for the coaching and encouragement!!!!!

    Anything else I need to do to make sure all is okay today? Thanks!!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2020
    Butters & Lyla and tiffmaxee like this.
  2. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Okay so I need to leave the hotel room and go visit my mom.

    He ate a good breakfast right after preshot so I'm surprised his number went DOWN.

    @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee Is there anything I can do besides wait around for his BG to go up by itself????? Yikes missing Christmas.
     
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Wow! The power of the depot! Will he eat some more of his usual food? Do you have anything slightly higher in carbs?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  4. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks Bhooma wow you are FAST!!!! :) :bighug::bighug: His usual food is raw pork and he had a bunch. Then.....

    He has ALREADY eaten some of the ziwi lamb which is labeled as 90% protein.

    I will try to feed him some more of it.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Jan, which Ziwi variant is this? Let me quickly try and calculate carb%.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  6. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Yes he ate more. What next? Test in 30 minutes?
     
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    When do you have to leave?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  8. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Oh, it says, Ziwi peak NZ lamb recipe and now I see it says 93% meat, organs and green mussels on the front of the can.
     
  9. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Well let me put it this way. I have from whenever I get there to 11:15 to open presents with my mom. It's now 10:06. Takes about 15 minutes to get there so if I leave at 10:30, I'll get there at 10:45 and we'll have a half hour.

    At 11:15 we need to be in the car on the way to my sister's house. She is timing her meal for our arrival.

    So technically speaking, I wanted to leave 15 minutes ago.
     
  10. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    The food chart lists the lamb as 6% carb.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky and Bandit's Mom like this.
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Was just going to say this. :)
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  12. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    So now what do I do? He did eat a bunch of it, a super large snack. And I left the rest out for him.
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Test 20 mins after this and see where he is at. He will head higher at some point but can't say when. Or how low he will go.
    Do you have any HC treats?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    We should probably look at a vacation dose like Elise suggested yesterday. You don't need the stress of him going low when you are spending time with your mom.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Let me look at the ss. Be right back.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would give a token dose or even skip.
     
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Should Jan feed something higher than LC before she leaves? She fed Squeaky 6% carbs at +1.5 (when she got that 74) and will get another test 20 mins after the meal.
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It would be different if he would eat without you but he has you trained, lol.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    She skipped this morning but he has still dipped to 74 at +1.5 thanks to the depot.
     
  20. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Well I can't always get him to eat treats. i don't think these are high carb: Orijen Boar Treats for dogs, Orijen Regional treats for cats, and Orijen Lamb treats for cats.

    I have several different kinds of cat food here: Instinct Original Rabbit pate 95%/ Instinct Original beef pate, 95% I and Love and You Beef Pate grain free. . Also ND pumpkin, lamb and blueberry recipe

    EDIT also ziwi peak nz beef 92% and HONEY
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would feed higher than 6%. What options?
     
  22. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Doesn't he though. This morning though he saw the ziwi lamb and ate from the dish by himself.....

    (But yesterday he didn't eat anything all day long until I arrived. However I only gave him boring healthy food. LOL)
     
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can make any of them higher with syrup. No hc food it appears.
     
  24. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    This for tonight, I take it. What kind of vacation dose? How much? I did reduce last night to 3.75
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d carb him up. He has to start to go up soon without insulin.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Will he eat the Ziwipeak if you leave it out? Time for another test?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That was not enough. I’d give no more than half his normal dose. He will be high tonight but you need to be able to leave him.
     
  28. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    I will test now
     
  29. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    So 2 units twice a day?
     
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think so and see what he does with it. I would never suggest this under normal conditions. What do you think?
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. The daily stress is too much for both Jan and Squeaky. Jan, when do you head back home?
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  32. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    10:28 am 79

    9:50 am 74

    8:36 am 104

    3:23 am 311

    9:28 pm 534
     
  33. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    I don't know if he will come out from under his chair and eat or not. He did not yesterday, but also I did not give him anything but his usual food.

    Today is Thursday Dec 25. I leave Monday Dec 29 in the morning.

    So he did go up 4 points in half hour.
     
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think he won’t drop any more.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You need to be able to spend time with your family without worrying he will drop. You can’t take him with you to your sister’s? Never mind. I think he will be fine since no shot was given. I think you can leave.
     
  36. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Leave him something he like to eat. Like the Ziwipeak.
     
    tiffmaxee and Jan D & Squeaky like this.
  37. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    No my sister has a dog. And that would be super stressful for EVERYONE to take him somewhere else.

    Yes I left him some ziwipeak. I could also open the ND pumpkin and put it right next to the chair he is hiding under lol.

    So y'all think I can go? He did eat after BG test 104 (raw pork), then he saw the ziwi in his bowl and went over and ate some. Then he tested 74. Then he ate more ziwi. Then he tested 79.

    EDIT: If I had to guess, I'd say 74 was the low. After all he hasn't had any insulin since 9:30 last night.
     
  38. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Hmmm, I could put a little honey in some ziwi and see if he will eat one bite.
     
  39. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think he’s going to surf and then rise. Leave food under the chair and go. Vacation dose until you get home.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky and Bandit's Mom like this.
  40. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Put the food he would like to eat near the chair he is hidng under.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  41. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks Bhooma and Elise. I put a little honey in some of the ND food and he wouldn't eat it. I put some ziwi in the same dish and put it under his chair. I put a few treats next to the chair bottom also.

    I'm going! And per your advice only shooting 2 units tonight.

    I think he will be all right. He does seem to mostly eat more when his numbers are low and eat less when his numbers are high. So hopefully he will be smart enough to figure it out. I'm going now.

    THANK YOU BOTH AND HAPPY DAY/HOLIDAY!!!!
     
  42. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Merry Christmas! I hope Squeaky behaves for you tonight.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  43. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks Gals. When I got back, he had eaten the food I put under the chair. And his numbers were in the 400s I'll post the number when I get back tonight.

    so I'll do a vacation dose of 2 units am and 2 units pm. Looks like I might have to stay an extra two days to avoid driving in the snow!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d try that. If he stays high and will eat while you are gone we might be able to increase but give the 2 units a try.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky and Bandit's Mom like this.
  45. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks Elise, when I got back to the hotel, he was on the bed ! and had eaten from his dish! Seems more comfortable being here today.....

    2 units tonight! Thank you and Bhooma for your assistance this morning!
     
  46. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good for you to know he will eat without you. Gives more options. Hop3younhad a good day with your family.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  47. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Oh thank you Elise, it was a lovely day. I put up Mom's tree, and we had presents, then we went and had lunch with my sister at her house. Mom was really tired but well, could you imagine her feeling crummy and being alone with no tree, no presents? Gale would have come to pick her up for lunch but this was much better...... I'm so glad I came. Yesterday I went grocery shopping for her, tomorrow I will change the sheets on her bed.

    I actually like the arrangement of staying in the hotel, it was a good thing to have brought Squeaky. I am an introvert and need my quiet time alone every day.

    Thanks again for your help!
     

Share This Page