12/24 Sooty PMPS 256

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Click here for yesterday's condo...

Today: AMPS 281 +5 255 PMPS 256

All is well with Sooty this morning, lots to do now, BG test, Shot, Amoxi and Gabapentin all safely on board!

Hope you all have a calm and peaceful Christmas Eve, LL peeps and good luck for those who may be traveling!

ETA: Found out from the pharmacy, the 200mg/5ml Amoxi does indeed have Sucrose as a so-called "inactive ingredient" (so this means less than 2%).
It did seem to kick up his BGs by about 30ish initially, but he seems like he may have adapted to it and seems to be back in the 250s now.

The thing is, my question is, I would have increased his Lev by 1.0 by now, absent the ABs, so should I still do that...? I don't want to get ahead of his normal resistance to have him crash when he finishes the ABs... but I would think that from where he was and now is, a 1.0u increase is probably OK at this time...
 
Re: 12/24 Sooty AMPS 281

Good morning guys! Happy Christmas Eve .. I hope that sooty comes down some for you and surfs in the blues and greens ... Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/24 Sooty AMPS 281 +5 255 (Amoxi has Sucrose)

Found out from the pharmacy, the 200mg/5ml Amoxi does indeed have Sucrose as a so-called "inactive ingredient" (so this means less than 2%).
It did seem to kick up his BGs by about 30ish initially, but he seems like he may have adapted to it and seems to be back in the 250s now.

The thing is, my question is, I would have increased his Lev by 1.0 by now, absent the ABs, so should I still do that...? I don't want to get ahead of his normal resistance to have him crash when he finishes the ABs... but I would think that from where he was and now is, a 1.0u increase is probably OK at this time...?
 
Re: 12/24 Sooty AMPS 281 +5 255 (Amoxi has Sucrose)

GIVING YOU A BUMP, AND WISHING YOU GUYS HAPPY XMAS EVE!

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/24 Sooty AMPS 281 +5 255 (Amoxi has Sucrose)

Maybe we need to puzzle through this situation. Ordinarily, with a cat that has an infection going on, we know that until the ABs kick in, there may be a need for more insulin. The rationale is that the presence of an infection, high BG numbers, and often a kitty that isn't feeling all that well and is off his food, could put the cat at risk for DKA. So, the dose is raised and once the infection breaks, often the insulin has to be reduced quickly.

So, with Sooty, there are two factors. An infection that may be raising numbers and the sucrose in the ABs. Given the length of time your vet wants to keep Sooty on the AB, I suspect you'll see a drop due to the infection breaking prior to the month that your vet wants Sooty on the AB. Then again, it's Sooty who seems to have a strong affinity for yellow! If his numbers have bumped up by about 30 points from the sucrose, you should be able to account for that and back off the dose if you need to when you've used up the AB.

If that makes sense to you, I would say raise the dose the way you have been doing.
 
Re: 12/24 Sooty AMPS 281 +5 255 (Amoxi has Sucrose)

Sienne and Gabby said:
Maybe we need to puzzle through this situation. Ordinarily, with a cat that has an infection going on, we know that until the ABs kick in, there may be a need for more insulin. The rationale is that the presence of an infection, high BG numbers, and often a kitty that isn't feeling all that well and is off his food, could put the cat at risk for DKA. So, the dose is raised and once the infection breaks, often the insulin has to be reduced quickly.

So, with Sooty, there are two factors. An infection that may be raising numbers and the sucrose in the ABs. Given the length of time your vet wants to keep Sooty on the AB, I suspect you'll see a drop due to the infection breaking prior to the month that your vet wants Sooty on the AB. Then again, it's Sooty who seems to have a strong affinity for yellow! If his numbers have bumped up by about 30 points from the sucrose, you should be able to account for that and back off the dose if you need to when you've used up the AB.

If that makes sense to you, I would say raise the dose the way you have been doing.
Yes, that makes extremely, eminently good sense to me - !! I agree completely, it's just that Sooty's acro 'insulin resistance' seems to have a mechanism all its own, and seems to want to stick him at the mid-200s, almost no matter what else is going on! The UTI did seem to bump up his BGs, but then he went back on his own, to mid 200s. Then when the C&S came back, and we started him on the ABs, (Sucrose and all), yes he jumped up by about 30 or so for a day, and then again, came back on his own back down to the mid 200s!
This dosecrease is from 18u to 19u (newbies, please see our SIG, this much insulin would kill a non-acrocat!) and so it's a wait and see game, as to whether it will make more than a temporary difference... so, all together now: "Tomorrow, tomorrow, there's always tomorrow....!!!"
 
Just wanted to stop by to say Good luck in figuring out the dose, and be ready to decrease if needed when the infection breaks.
Have a Good Night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top