12/24 Simon +8 39 +8.25 44 +8.5 52 +9 57 +16 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I raised Simon's dose yesterday and he was flat yellow until this afternoon. This 39 is a shocker! I have to leave in an hour for a Christmas Eve service and won't be back until late. I was having to skip his shop tonight because of not being home at his shot time.

Advice: Do I need to worry if he is rising when I get ready to leave in an hour? What would be a safe number to feel comfortable (over 70?) I will leave food in his automatic feeder. I kind of hate having to skip his shot tonight because maybe this increase was the beginning of his jump start back to more normal numbers and lower insulin. There is no way I can miss the service tonight because I am playing music and so is my DH.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59209
 
Re: 12/24 Simon AMPS 288 +4 144 +6 87 +8 39!! Advice

Georgia....Oh my Simon!!!

He's got this late in his cycle...wow. Did you retest? What did you feed him when you got this...HC or karo? If you gave him karo, I'd be alot more worried about him coming back down but he still could even with HC food. I think if you get a good rise....70s at least and you put MC/HC in is his feeder and you know he'll eat it, then that's the best you can do. I know this is important tonight.

Sending you hugs...and that is just IMHO.....I hope others will offer some ideas, too.
 
Re: 12/24 Simon +4 144 +6 87 +8 39 +8.25 44!! Advice

Marje, I just re-tested and he is 44. I fed him his regular food and now am going to feed him some MC. I'll retest in another 20 minutes. Wow is all I can say. Not the best timing Mr. Simon!
 
Re: 12/24 Simon 144 +6 87 +8 39!! +3.14 44 Advice

Good idea, Georgia. Can you also leave him 2-3 mini meals in his auto feeder? He's probably going to go high but that's safer than having him at these numbers while you are gone.

The skipped shot will help drain his shed and you can start over with a reduced dose tomorrow. (((Georgia))). Try not to worry tonight and have fun....I know you will be thinking of him.

Merry Christmas my friend.

Oh...Cleo won't eat out of the feeder will she? I'm pretty sure Simon is the dominant one right?
 
Re: 12/24 Simon 144 +6 87 +8 39!! +3.14 44 Advice

Marge, I will leave out 2 mini-meals in his automatic feeder. Most of the time he gets to the food before Cleo or will knock her out of the way. I'm pretty confident that he will be the one eating the meals. This is crazy...trying to get ready to go and testing at the same time. Thanks for the words of support.
 
Re: 12/24 Simon 144 +6 87 +8 39!! +8.25 44 +8.5 52 +9 57

I have to leave for the church service now. Simon isn't as high as I would like him to be before I leave, but his numbers are rising slightly. I just fed him another mini-mc meal and his automatic feeder will go off in an hour and then again in 3 hours. I think he will be ok since he has now had 3 mc meals and 1 lc meal. He is very happy to be getting all the fud. I am going to be worrying throughout the service, but at least he hasn't had any insulin since his AMPS. I can't imagine that he would go lower since it is so close to his PMPS time.
 
Re: 12/24 Simon 144 +6 87 +8 39!! +8.25 44 +8.5 52 +9 57

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: oh my! what a day you ahev had. I too am sure he will be fine while you are gone. Try not to sorry, and enjoy the service.

Merry Christmas to all!
 
Re: 12/24 Simon+8 39 +8.25 44 +8.5 52 +9 57 +4 297

Just got home from the Christmas Eve service and dinner and Simon has sure bounced from all that food I left him. He is one happy camper! I hate that I had to feed him all that mc food but better safe than sorry. He is very happy right now, jumping up and down and playing with Cleo. I am going to give him a little dose decrease tomorrow morning because I am away from home until his PMPS, visiting DH's family. I don't want him diving again in the middle of the day when I'm not home.
 
Georgia: I hope you had a lovely time. It's just one night, he'll come back down and you had to keep him safe. You did the best thing you could have.

Merry Christmas!!!!
 
Re: 12/24 Simon+8 39 +8.25 44 +8.5 52 +9 57 +4 297

Georgia and Simon said:
Simon has sure bounced from all that food I left him. He is one happy camper! He is very happy right now, jumping up and down and playing with Cleo.

Did you ever think before FD that they would be SO thrilled with the contraband??? :lol: :lol:

Glad you had a good night, and have a lovely tomorrow!
 
Better safe than sorry, that's for sure! And, you've got an extra-happy Simon to boot...a little Christmas joy for everyone!

Enjoy your day of celebration tomorrow - Merry Christmas!

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top