12/24 Panic | First day on Lantus | AMPS 535 +2 501 +3 488 +5 435

Panic

Member Since 2019
I imagine it will probably be an uninteresting cycle considering it's only her first day and she needs to clear a bounce but keeping this thread up in case I need advice today. Here's to hoping she reacts well, need to get back into some low blues!

Side question, does Lantus have that printer ink smell like other insulins do? I usually try to give my hand a quick sniff if I suspect I may have given a fur shot but I want to say when we were on Vetsulin it didn't have a distinct smell like NPH/ProZinc did.
 
Good luck on Lantus!

I actually think it smells like a band aid LOL Probably just me. Maybe just ease out a drop so you can have a smell?

Have a great day!
 
I never noticed a smell myself.

Just remember you might see high numbers for a few days. The depot has to fill and that takes at least 6 cycles. Panic will get some insulin, just not the full amount yet.
 
Yeah I'm not expecting anything interesting to happen the first couple of days. :)

+3 is 488
 
Yeah I'm not expecting anything interesting to happen the first couple of days. :)

+3 is 488

not necessarily true, some cats react quickly at first then go up for a few cycles. Be diligent with monitoring, but yo I probably won't need to over do it.
 
not necessarily true, some cats react quickly at first then go up for a few cycles. Be diligent with monitoring, but yo I probably won't need to over do it.
True, she had a pretty impressive cycle her first day on ProZinc. Today's proving to be a bit meh so far though.

Good luck . I think it smells kind of sweet and medicinal myself. I've unfortunately given plenty of fur shots. Lol
Haven't we all. XD It's so much easier once they get some of that chub back!

+5 is 435
 
Lantus is a game of patience that's for sure...just follow your dosing method instructions for increases and reductions - and change as indicated. Sometimes folks hold the doses for too long...so be sure to count off your days and if you wonder if it's the right time, please post and ask.

Good luck with the change!
 
Lantus is a game of patience that's for sure...just follow your dosing method instructions for increases and reductions - and change as indicated. Sometimes folks hold the doses for too long...so be sure to count off your days and if you wonder if it's the right time, please post and ask.

Good luck with the change!
Thank you, that's a good reminder. Think I'll print out the dosing method list and keep it close. :)

-----

PMPS is 371. Nice to see her starting to clear that bounce. It's so WEIRD using U-100 syringes with U-100 insulin again...I've been converting U-40 into the syringes for so long her 1u dose looks SO TEENY compared to the 3u marker she was on!
 
Back
Top