12/24 Minner AMPS 244 +2 246 +5 197 +8 210 PMPS 226 +2 181

MinnerPip

Member Since 2024
Prior Post

It’s hard not to be disappointed, and sad for Minner. We were going in the right direction, had broken that 200 barrier and developed confidence with shooting lower numbers and collected valuable data.

Last cycle was progressive upwards, a bounce (?) and this cycle is not starting well. Opened new box of syringes yesterday and the mind wonders if they are off and I’ve really been giving her a little less than 7.5 units for 3 cycles now. OR is this the IAA catching up and killing use of a bunch of the insulin? I am not sure how to differentiate.

I’m going to re-read guidance on dose changes as I don’t understand right now how to handle bouncing in the dose change decision process. Especially when she was in green 3 days in a row. Also going to study her sheet a bit.

wishing all a positive day!
 
I know it's disappointing. Here's hoping Minner's bounce (if it's that) is short lived and that she's back into the greens soon.
 
Bouncing is totally normal! She’s doing really well and even her bounces are relatively low. If you look at Bell’s spreadsheet you’ll see that her recent bounces last 3-4 cycles. I find them incredibly annoying but it is just part of the process.

As for dosing and bounces, the advice I’ve gotten from Wendy for TR is that you hold your dose for at least 10 cycles total for a green cycle and for at least 6 cycles after the green. She told me to think of the 6 cycles after the green as giving your cat a chance to repeat the performance of the green cycle. 6 cycles should be long enough to clear any bounce affecting the cat’s BG. She also mentioned she avoided increasing the dose on a cycle where a bounce is breaking, which for Bell usually comes with a fully decreasing BG cycle. I believe this is because some cats drop lower than “normal” when a bounce breaks and you don’t want to add more juice to that, but she could give a better explanation. Think of these bounces as a good opportunity to understand how long they typically occur for Minner and what their rise and break look like. That could save you some sleep in the future :)
 
The blues are back in town. :cool:. May she show you some holiday green tomorrow.
Thanks Wendy. Very happy to see blues again. Looks like no green today. She’s in yellow and climbing. I wonder if I should go to 8U at PM cycle. If I ignored the one green reading of 90 from 2 mornings ago, then today’s AM cycle would be cycle 6 since seeing green. I’ll start new thread and ask for advice. I don’t know if this is IAA or bouncing. I see no pattern.
 
Back
Top