12/24 Mallie Amps 86 +0.5hrs 94 +2 97 +5 77 +6 86 +11 74 PMPS+5 92

mom23seniors

Member Since 2019
Mallie’s AMPS was 86 (4.8).
I haven’t fed her yet and I’m going to retest at at 6:30am mst. I should be home today at least enough to check her every two hours to see what she does with her breakfast and no shot.
 
Hi and welcome!! I am not one of the senior members but I know that they will want you to chose either TR or SLGS. Since you are new you to FD you may want to chose the latter until you are comfortable shooting low numbers- something you’ll want to do if you want to try for remission. The shooting of the numbers is based on their lowest nadir in the cycle not your amps or PMPS as lantus is a slow acting insulin so it’s effects aren’t seen immediately like some of the shorter acting insulins. Please read up about some of the important things to consider with your sugar baby in the stickies that the moderators have posted for the lantus group. You should be holding doses for 7 days with the SLGS method as you may create a lot of bouncing with numbers with your kitty- something I was not aware of when I first started with this insulin! I’m sure they’ll be around at some point to chime in and guide you as they are a great bunch of people!!
 
Great numbers for not having given a shot for 4 cycles (3 + this morning) I am sure someone will be along with some advice for you.

Have a great day!
 
Here is an excerpt from the stickies::
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.
 
Here is an excerpt from the stickies::
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.

This is why I have not given Mallie any insulin since Sunday morning.
 
What was her story regarding becoming a diabetic??

Mallie was on a short course of prednisolone for 6 weeks (including 3 weeks of reducing dose/frequency to wean her off) for an ear infection in September. After she was off the prednisolone (last week of October) completely I noticed in the month of November that she was drinking more and that she appeared to be loosing weight. I had a routine geriatric blood & urine appointment scheduled for Nov.30 at the vet and so I brought up my concerns and it was confirmed that she had become diabetic. My (old) vet thought that it was brought on by the short course of prednisolone.
 
Not sure why the US tab didn’t update the +2 cell ‍♀️
Mallie is doing well. Her +5 is low-I only have 2 other days of +5,+6 and +7 but I’m “guessing “ her being low in this time is normal for her.
I just gave her a 1/4 can of FF Salmon pate because she was asking for it and with her 4.3 maybe she wants to be a bit higher at +6 hehe
 
Mallie was on a short course of prednisolone for 6 weeks (including 3 weeks of reducing dose/frequency to wean her off) for an ear infection in September. After she was off the prednisolone (last week of October) completely I noticed in the month of November that she was drinking more and that she appeared to be loosing weight. I had a routine geriatric blood & urine appointment scheduled for Nov.30 at the vet and so I brought up my concerns and it was confirmed that she had become diabetic. My (old) vet thought that it was brought on by the short course of prednisolone.
Ahh... yes hopefully she will go into remission as I had done the same thing to my cat with a depomedrol injection. Hopefully she will overcome it faster than my Charlotte did.
 
Heading out for a family gathering. Fed dinner 75 minutes early. Mallie is sitting at 74 (4.1) right now. I’ll check her when I’m home later tonight, but I’m confident she will be doing well, just like she has been.

Merry Christmas everyone! Thank you for all your help over the last few weeks as I navigated my way into being a sugarcat mom!
 
Back
Top