12/24 Jesse Update - OT prozac

Status
Not open for further replies.
last post

Wow, it's been a couple months since I've given a Jesse update.
I had a scare on the 21st when I realized that Jesse's tail was dead. Just lifeless. I took him to the vet and X-rays showed lots of poo in his large intestine. He stayed overnight for an enema. He got no shot for the PM and the next AM when I picked him up (it was too late to give the AM). He's on 10 days of Albon (an antibiotic for intestinal issues). His numbers didn't seem to suffer too much until PM on the 22nd when he went into the red. :shock: His tail was also limp again and he hadn't poo'd since coming home. So last night he got 1/8t Miralax and at PM +6 he poo'd!! Oh happy day. :-D This morning's AMPS was 106 and +6 was 64. :o If that's not the surprise of a lifetime! He's been at 2 units since the 19th and not had any green yet. I had probably kept him at 1.75u for too long, but he was showing normal nadir numbers.

OT - I will be moving soon and talked to my vet about putting 3 of my cats on Prozac for spraying (I'm moving to a rental that has carpet). She seemed to think that she would need to compound it (adding to the expense) and suggesting Elavil. I know many here have used Prozac. Can anyone give me more info on it? She said a side effect of Elavil is zombiness but that it has flexibility on dosing. Any advise you can offer would be greatly appreciated since I'm going from owning to renting and really don't want to get evicted :-|

Hope everyone has a happy holiday. Mine aren't much having no family and only a couple of friends. And I had to let my CRF kitty Kiah go yesterday. But you know what I keep saying? It's going to get better. :-D

Bless this board and all of you!
 
Can't comment on the prozac, but consider this a bump.

So glad that miraculous Miralax did the trick! We just had a similar thing with Kitty, who had post-dental bupe. His tail stayed glued down. Applied Miralax. Miralax worked. Tail: Up! :lol:

Good luck with the move. Hope you get some good input on the Prozac issue.
 
we use prozac for one of our civies who will otherwise pee on my fiance while he's sleeping in bed. we've weaned him off of it several times over the years and every time, the pee'ing on fiance comes back. as long as he gets his prozac, fiance stays dry :-)

my vet just calls a prescription for it into walmart. his dose is 1/4 of a tablet once a day. and i think it costs $4 or $6 for them at walmart.

originally when this behavior started the vet put him on elavil (aka: amitryptiline). i don't remember the dose but it made him an absolute zombie. seriously. stoned out of this world. like a wet rag laying there with eyeballs.

we didn't like that personality change in him and told the vet so she switched him to the prozac and he's been on it ever since. and it doesn't seem to effect his personality like the elavil did.
 
I can second Cindy + Mousie's experience. We use prozac for anxiety that causes LB issues. Bailey's dose is also 1/4 of a 10 mg tablet, it is generic and relatively inexpensive. We used elavil first and it worked but it was terrible, it was like having a pet rock. She slept all the time, wouldn't jump on high things, rarely purred. We tried reducing the dose and it was better but not enough, so I finally requested prozac. Stick to your guns and get the prozac ;-)

Sorry to hear about your loss of Kiah :cry: That is always hard and especially this close to Christmas. Sending keep pooing vines to Jesse! :-D
 
No advice here on the meds, never used them, but I wanted to offer my condolences on your loss of sweet Kiah. And kudos to you for your positive attitude! Merry Christmas!
 
WOW...YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL ATTITUDE!

Sending vines for Jesse on the poo issues...

and so terribly sorry to hear about your loss of Kiah....

celi & binks
 
I'm so sorry to hear about your loss.

You might want to share this link on amitriptyline with your vet. In humans, as well as cats, the tricyclic antidepressants, of which amitriptyline is one, can cause cardiac conduction abnormalities. An ECG is recommended prior to this drug being prescribed so heart rhythm problems are not exacerbated. (These can be lethal.) Also, this drug is contraindicated in diabetics.
 
oh carolyn, i'm so sorry to hear about Kiah. :YMHUG:

no experience on the prozac but i hope it will help. whatever transpired with spock? did he get a new home?

cindy - it's not funny if it's you, but that story about your fiance is hysterical. :lol: had to read it to my family. they all think he's pretty great to stick with you through cat pee. ;-)
 
HI! I am sorry about Kiah. I hope the memories are a comfort for you.

Glad all is well with Jesse, despite the tail issues. Poor Jesse!

And can't help with the prozac issues - never had to deal with that. God luck tough on your move.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top