12/24 Doogle PMPS 435+2.5 303+5.5 242

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Sorry I havent posted numbers but things got really hectic with a family member being diagnosed with a brain tumor and hospice and his death (he died Friday night). Then Christmas and grandkids and everything else under the sun. There is something strange going on with Doogle though. This past week, he has acted twitchy and strange. He runs and hides from us, he is nervous and when we pick him up he freaks out and goes ballistic. There is only a few times he isnt this way and its when his numbers get into the 300s. I am getting a new vial of Lantus today and see if that is it (we are near the bottom of the vial). If this doesnt help I may change over the Levimer to see if that helps. I cant get him regulated very well on Lantus no matter what we do. Or should I start over at a lower dose (he is at 2.5 and has been in the 2.5-2.75 for a long time). I am just worried about him. I though at first he got scared at a tarp we put out for the outside cat so he wouldnt get wet (it all started around then), so we took it down yesterday and he is the same. Then we thought maybe he had an ear infection but after a good cleaning, we heard no fluid in his ears. So I put Revolution on him today to help with ear mites and worms (which he may have). He has always had trouble with his ears bothering him and he has been scratching at them (so much he made one bleed). He was on Revolution for the longest time but we stopped back in September when I just couldnt afford to buy it. Anyone have ANY ideas?????? confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat
 
Re: 12/24 Doogle AMPS 287+3 306 Doogle freaking out

It may be that your insulin is toasty.

Have you spoken to your vet? It may be something like hyperthyroid but there's really no way to know without a vet visit.
 
Re: 12/24 Doogle AMPS 287+3 306 Doogle freaking out

(((((Donna))))) I am so sorry about your family member and about Doogle. I'm sorry I don't have any ideas about Doogle. Have you taken him to the vet?
Liz
 
Re: 12/24 Doogle AMPS 287+3 306 Doogle freaking out

We are thinking its the insulin. I spoke with the vet today when I got some Revolution and he didnt have any ideas. But he said if the new insulin doesnt do it to bring him in Wednesday. I am soooooooooooooo sorry I have been bad and not posted regularly. I do keep up his sheet though. Its just hard to do with 2 jobs. I will keep things updated especially after the prescription and shot tonight.
 
Re: 12/24 Doogle AMPS 287+3 306 Doogle freaking out

I don't know either, Donna, but hope it's nothing serious. And I am also very, very sorry about your family member.

If the new insulin doesn't bring him down, I actually think he needs a little bit more on his dose if there is any way you can manage it.

I hope in spite of your loss, your family has a peaceful Christmas.
 
Re: 12/24 Doogle AMPS 287+3 306 Doogle freaking out

Thank you Marjorie! It was hard and sudden. We didnt even know he had it till two weeks ago and they said he had the tumor for almost a year. He was 74 and was a wonderful funny man! We will go up on the dose tomorrow night. I dont want to try and do it on Christmas day with being out and about. We have serve storms moving in with tornadoes so I will be home by 4 no matter what.

I hope you and Gracie have a very Merry Christmas !!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 12/24 Doogle AMPS 287+3 306 Doogle freaking out

OMG...that is so sad!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Good luck when you increase. Thank you....we will have a nice, quiet day.
 
Re: 12/24 Doogle PMPS 435

So we got our new vial and went to my father in law's for Christmas, got home at 8 and checked Doogle. He was 299 and he was ok. Just laying in the window hamock as pretty as you please. Took him out of the window and on the bed where we usually do our testing and he was all good. Then a big jump to 435 for PMPS! I am hoping the new Lantus will do the trick. If not and this continues I may change to Levimer. Lets just wait and see I guess.


Merry Christmas!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top