12/24 Buster AMPS 78 +5 72

Kim & Buster

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-29-buster-88-2-98.284077/

checking in with ol Buster! He’s currently on antibiotics for a UTI, and giving him the pills have been a pain. We finally figured out he’ll eat them when we sneak it into a tiny square of cheese. Not the best for diabetics I know, but ya win some you lose some I guess. His numbers went a little high and dipped into the blues but we seem back to normal today. He may have gone under 40 last night but I accidentally fell asleep :facepalm:

We got lab work done last week and his hyperthyroidism is still uncontrolled. Ugh. But the vet said there was NO glucose in his urine which is a great sign!! The vet wants to take him off insulin now, but I know we should keep following TR and reducing his dose. I just hate having to tell the vet we’re not following orders, lol, but I definitely wanna give him the best shot at a good remission, so we’re sticking with it.

Happy Holidays to everyone!!
 
I would suggest you try a reduction to 1.25u. You’ve held this dose longer than 7 days and with only a couple barely blues. With TR, one of the ways to earn a reduction is when a cat regularly has its BG values in the normal range (50-80 mg/dl) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
 
I would suggest you try a reduction to 1.25u. You’ve held this dose longer than 7 days and with only a couple barely blues. With TR, one of the ways to earn a reduction is when a cat regularly has its BG values in the normal range (50-80 mg/dl) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.

I’ve been thinking about that too! I didn’t know if the little dips in the 100s “disqualified” him from that rule.

One thing is - he may have to miss a dose or two between today and tomorrow with the holidays. Would it be better to start the reduced dose now or after the next few days?
 
Ah adding a last minute variable into the mix :p. Might be worth holding the dose then, especially if the missed shots are coming up this evening and tomorrow, and you’re not sure whether there may be one or a few missed shots which can disrupt the depot. Then see how the BG values are when the Christmas festivities dust settles. Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) has some additional thoughts.
 
Buster's spreadsheet is gorgeous!!

I'm going to vacillate. I'd see what Buster's numbers tell you today. If he keeps dropping into the 40s, I'd probably reduce. If he sticks to what his numbers generally look like, I'd see how he does with the missed shots. Keep in mind that the cycle count starts over if you skip a shot.
 
Back
Top