12/24 Ares AMPS 381 Lantus from Vetsulin (help 1st dose)

Ashleigh & Ares

Very Active Member
Good morning, Merry Christmas eve!

I am getting some Lantus today! yay!
I have questions on dosing since I am currently on Vetsulin

I have read a ton of the required readings in here. I think I have a pretty good start on info.

I need advice on dosing:
Currently giving Ares a 3Fat unit on U40's (withOUT half markings)...eyeballing what i would estimate between 3.1U and 3.2U
I am thinking that means 8U of Lantus on the U100's, but I dont know how it will work in his body

Asking for advice!
Thanks everyone!

@Diane Tyler's Mom
@FrostD

previous thread
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/trying-to-decrease-nadir-149.256904/#post-2892346
 
When switching from Vetsulin to Lantus, you would switch at a slightly lower dose to provide for any strong initial reaction to Lantus.

Since you are on a fat 3U of Vetsulin, you could switch at 2.5U of Lantus.

Tagging @tiffmaxee for confirmation.

BTW, what is 8U???:eek:
.
I believe she was converting using U40 insulin in U100 syringes, so multiplying by 2.5.

@Ashleigh & Ares that 2.5 conversion is only when using U40 insulin in U100 syringes to be able to dose better. Vetsulin has 40 units of insulin per mL, U100 obviously has 100 units. So to convert you multiply by 2.5 (40*2.5=100) As a related FYI you cannot use U100 insulin like Lantus in U40 syringes, it is dangerous.

The U100 syringes are already intended for U100 insulin so no conversion necessary. We start with around the same number of units to start when switching. So if you are going to give 2.5U of Lantus, just draw it to 2.5 line on the U100 syringe
 
Last edited:
I think that Kay is sending me some in the package (i asked her)
usps updated to delivery in 5 hours from now.
If i do not have the 100's, i will continue Vetsulin tonight and tomorrow and go see if walmart has any on sunday when they open back up.
And i will update here

Do i begin a new post daily here in this forum every day i have Q's?

PS, Ares is eating very well today so far! he will probably get his full 285 cal today! A Christmas miracle...

Thanks ladies :)
 
Do i begin a new post daily here in this forum every day i have Q's?
Yup! We request members to post a new thread every day. This ensures that the thread doesn't get too long to read. Especially in time-critical situations like low numbers or a member stalling a shot.

The thread title nomenclature is:
<Date> - <Kitty's Name> - <AMPS/PMPS number and any other BG numbers you may have for the day> - <Question, if any>

We also ask that you link your previous post to the current post - just paste the URL of your previous post in the body of your current post saying "Previous Post". Helps us look through history easily.
 
Hi Ashleigh, glad the lantus is coming today. Yes wait until you get the U-100 syringes. You can always go to Walmart again and get them. On your SS we create a new tab for 2022, we don't continue the new year after 2021. I'll give you the instructions on how to do it, if you can't @Bandit's Mom Bhooma can do it for you.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2022-spreadsheetsplease-read-and-keep-bumped.256121/

So delete the 2022 dates then when you start lantus add that to your spreadsheet and the date
 
Last edited:
We consider how kitty is doing on the current insulin dose when considering a starting dose for Lantus (or Levemir) from a non depot insulin. We don't put in a buffer for a strong reaction - that's only going from Lantus to Levemir. Going from an in and out insulin to Lantus, you have to wait for the depot to build. Ares is getting some nadirs in the 100's on a fat 3.0 units of Vetsulin. I think you could go to 3.0 units.

This is me speaking as someone who switched from Caninsulin to Lantus on too low a dose and had to keep increasing above and beyond the highest Caninsulin/Vetsulin dose. You could go back to 2.5 units if you want or can't monitor so well the next couple days.
 
Hi Ashleigh, glad the lantus is coming today. Yes wait until you get the U-100 syringes. You can always go to Walmart again and get them. On your SS we create a new tab for 2022, we don't continue the new year after 2021. I'll give you the instructions on how to do it, if you can't @Bandit's Mom Bhooma can do it for you.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2022-spreadsheetsplease-read-and-keep-bumped.256121/

So delete the 2022 dates then when you start lantus add that to your spreadsheet and the date


Bhooma is actually the one who deleted my year 2022 tab and combined it with 2021 heeheee:D
I have prepped the SS for changing to lantus, i can just move that row around to which date i begin (likely Sunday.)
Thanks Diane!

We consider how kitty is doing on the current insulin dose when considering a starting dose for Lantus (or Levemir) from a non depot insulin. We don't put in a buffer for a strong reaction - that's only going from Lantus to Levemir. Going from an in and out insulin to Lantus, you have to wait for the depot to build. Ares is getting some nadirs in the 100's on a fat 3.0 units of Vetsulin. I think you could go to 3.0 units.

This is me speaking as someone who switched from Caninsulin to Lantus on too low a dose and had to keep increasing above and beyond the highest Caninsulin/Vetsulin dose. You could go back to 2.5 units if you want or can't monitor so well the next couple days.

I will try the skinny 3 first looks like it wont be until Sunday night beginning because turns out I have alot to do Sunday morning. Even if I got the U100s tonight, I wouldnt begin until Sunday because I have alot to do tomorrow too! Christmas and all. So looks like Sunday night is my start date as long as i get the needles.
Thanks Wendy!

So Ladies,

Have a merry merry Christmas.:cat:
I am off to church in a couple hours and hopefully I and others will not have any emergencies and we can all get some needed rest and family time!
I appreciate you all!
 
Bhooma is actually the one who deleted my year 2022 tab and combined it with 2021 heeheee:D
I have prepped the SS for changing to lantus, i can just move that row around to which date i begin (likely Sunday.)
Thanks Diane!
I guess @Bandit's Mom did it that way because you didn't have that much data for 2021 Bhooma is that why you did it that way? Thanks Bhooma:cat:

I would take Wendy's advice and either start on 3 units or 2.5 if you can't monitor so well the next couple of days. Forget about the skinny and fat doses since it's easier to start on a line when you are doing 0.25 changes .I agree with Wendy :cat:

@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Hello ladies. Looks like i will begin tuesday morning. Walmart had syringes i needed (with half marks!) I received 4 Lantus pens from Kay. Currently in a large cup middle shelf of fridge.
I have a ton going on today and tomorrow, so Tuesday will begin so i can monitor and take BGs.
I will make a new post that morning...this is just a quick FYI to let you guys know what my plan is. 3U Lantus Tuesday morning. I have watched videos on the pen, and i will test drawing some up into syringe .
Hope all of you had a great Christmas!
 
Hello ladies. Looks like i will begin tuesday morning. Walmart had syringes i needed (with half marks!) I received 4 Lantus pens from Kay. Currently in a large cup middle shelf of fridge.
I have a ton going on today and tomorrow, so Tuesday will begin so i can monitor and take BGs.
I will make a new post that morning...this is just a quick FYI to let you guys know what my plan is. 3U Lantus Tuesday morning. I have watched videos on the pen, and i will test drawing some up into syringe .
Hope all of you had a great Christmas!
Great , will be looking forward to see how he will do in the next coming weeks on lantus :bighug::cat: I would still try and get a couple of tests in before switching over to lantus
The more data the better
 
Back
Top