12/24/2011 Marilyn AMPS:176 Thanks Marje & Carl

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Marilyn's Yesterday 12/23/2011: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59263

Marilyn's Yesterday 12/23/2011 "Dive":

AMPS:241
2.0u Lantus (0.25 dose decrease from 12/22/11...which she didn't "earn") + 1/2 Can Friskies Pate Salmon
AM+2 = 275

PMPS = 368
2.0 u Lantis + 1/2 Can Friskies Pate Salmon (decreased appetite; had to coax her to eat...which is not usual)
PM+1 = 332
PM+4 = 167 (edit to add 3:38 AM 12/25: 1/4 Can Friskies Pate Salmon = Regular Feeding; coaxed her to eat)
PM+5 = 85
PM+5.25 = 76 + 1/2 Can ( =1.5 oz) FF HC Grilled Turkey in Gravy
PM+5.75 = 50 + 0.5 mL Karo
PM+6 = 46
PM+6.25 = 49 + 1/4 Can ( = 0.75 oz.) FF HC Grilled Turkey in Gravy
PM+6.75 = 65
PM+7 = 54
PM+7.25 = 74
PM+7.5 = 65
PM+7.75 = 77
PM+8 = 87
PM+9 = 128
PM+10 = 132
PM+11 = 142

Marilyn's Today 12/24/2011:

AMPS = 176
1.0u Lantus (not the 1.75u, suggested reduced 0.25u dose, from 2.0u)
AM+2 = 352
AM+3 = 390
 
Marje and Carl are ANGELS! Wonderful job last night all of you. Marilyn's keeping all of you busy lately.

Marilyn, the diving board's closed for a while. Just swim, OK?

Hugs tired bean...
 
Morning Deb and Marilyn!! Hope you two are getting some rest.

And you're welcome but no thanks needed.....we all pay it forward and one day you will help someone so that is plenty thanks :-D

So little Miss Marilyn decided to be a drama queen and bounce....I was afraid that would happen but it's ok. You did fine and she'll get back on track.

I want to spend a little time looking at her SS and checking on something for you before you shoot again. I notice that you say she did not "earn" the reduction to 2u and you are correct. However, the numbers
she gave you last night would not have been influenced by 2.25u given on pm cycle 12/21 especially since you drained the shed a little with that 1u shot on a.m. cycle 12/22. My tendency is still to have you
shoot 1.75u tonight but I just want to check and get back to you.

One thing I mentioned yesterday and want to just throw out there is management of the curve with food. I know you have alot going on with lots of sweet babies and it may be difficult to feed one cat differently than
the others but food management does make a difference in the curve and also in helping the pancreas. For diabetic kitties, it is much better to feed them multiple small meals than to feed them their portions in one
or two large meals. Many lantus kitties get their allotted food portioned out at PS, +1, +2, +3; several are front-loaded at PS and +1 to minimize dives.

The thing about food management is it does take experimentation and adjustment. Marilyn does not appear to be an early diver so it might be fine to evenly proportion her food over four hours but from looking at her SS (and you have lots of great data but she hasn't gone low that much yet so this is just a thought), perhaps she might like to have PS, +1, +3, +4 as both low cycles she dropped more between +4 and +5. It's too soon to tell if that will be a pattern with her but
you gotta start somewhere and then adjust and then she might change and you have to readjust :-D

One of the most important things Jill has taught me is:

Manage the curve with food----> flatten the curve------> adjust the dose accordingly

I hope this provides you with some good info to consider. Kitties who are OTJ also receive many small meals throughout the day to keep their pancreas working properly. Pls let me know if you have questions :-D
 
Thanks everyone! And another BIG thanks to the Angels (as stated by Squeaky & KT), Carl & Marje!

Not that it makes much difference now, but I did edit her run-down of events; I was missing a 1/4 can of Friskies Pate "regular feeding" @ PM+4 on 12/23/11.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I notice that you say she did not "earn" the reduction to 2u and you are correct. However, the numbers she gave you last night would not have been influenced by 2.25u given on pm cycle 12/21 especially since you drained the shed a little with that 1u shot on a.m. cycle 12/22.
Hi Marje, I'm just keeping track of the details. I need to "see" all of it so I can wrap my head around it. I do realize that the 12/23 dive would not have been influenced by shooting 2.25u on 12/21...but she was already 3 cycles in, on the 2.0u "unearned" decreased dose (4 cycles, if you count the 1.0u "BCS" dose), when she took her 12/23 dive. I kept asking questions about "real" numbers a while ago. They are mixed-in on various past condos...too hard to locate. Here is a quote by me, when I explained it to Sienne when she PM'd me a few days back, "This is why I was questioning "real" low numbers regarding any particular dose. If all low numbers are "real" to a dose, then Marilyn showed a "real" 116 on 1.5 units. This is why I ask questions like this. Otherwise, her data is useless to me...just a series of bounces, dose increases, and more bounces. Those "real" numbers mean something to me."

I apparently have a tendency to go against advice. I based my decision to decrease her 2.25u, back to 2.0u, on that 116 on 1.5u from 12/10/11. The increase to 2.25u, on 12/20, went against my gut feeling...however, I realize that the decisions are mine to make, and I ultimately went ahead with the increase to 2.25u. Anyway, it's hard to understand the data when typing it like this...it probably reads as blah, blah, blabity, blah.

I guess my point is, after Marilyn's two closely spaced "dives", I'm realizing that I'm not following TR Protocol. I first realized it when my decision to decrease her from 2.25u, back to 2.0u, was described as her "not earning" the decrease, I suppose because I didn't let her drop to lower numbers, before feeding carbs. It all looks nice and regimented on the stickies. I like specific "rules & procedures"...when "A" happens, do "B", and your result should equal "C". In reality, it appears, when push comes to shove, the stickies are the furthest thing from my mind, in regards to dosing, and feeding carbs during dives. This is how I look at things...I wanted to give Karo a half-hour earlier on 12/23. Now I wonder if I had given it sooner...and had kept her away from 50, and below, if she wouldn't have bounced quite so high on 12/24. However, had I kept her away from 50 & below...she wouldn't have earned a dose decrease...right? Not saying I wouldn't have given one...but she wouldn't have earned one. This is the type of thing that makes me realize she may not be a TR kitty, or actually, her "Mom" may not be a TR person.

I don't know that I'll ever be comfortable with her hanging around 50; only time will tell. It looks like I started going "rogue" on 12/22/11...and I don't want you folks to feel like your time, and advice, is wasted on me.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I know you have alot going on with lots of sweet babies and it may be difficult to feed one cat differently than the others but food management does make a difference in the curve and also in helping the pancreas. For diabetic kitties, it is much better to feed them multiple small meals than to feed them their portions in one or two large meals. Many lantus kitties get their allotted food portioned out at PS, +1, +2, +3; several are front-loaded at PS and +1 to minimize dives.
Some of the "babies"...aren't so sweet...but I digress. Right now, it looks like Marilyn falls between 8 small meals, and 4 "front-loaded" meals. The difficulty with feeding Marilyn 8 meals per day, doesn't pertain to feeding her differently from the others. She is already fed differently from the others. It pertains more to how much care I am physically able to handle.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Marilyn does not appear to be an early diver so it might be fine to evenly proportion her food over four hours but from looking at her SS (and you have lots of great data but she hasn't gone low that much yet so this is just a thought), perhaps she might like to have PS, +1, +3, +4 as both low cycles she dropped more between +4 and +5.
Your assessment might be right on target. But...and I hate to keep thinking this way, especially since she is finally making some progress on Lantus...but, would an insulin like ProZinc, require this much food management? I honestly can't handle 8 mini-meals, and 2 snacks, per day...I think I discussed this with you early on. Right now, Marilyn receives 4 canned meals per day, with a token offering of DM dry for "overnights" in her AM cycle. She doesn't always eat/finish the DM dry...it's just there if she "needs" it...otherwise, I couldn't sleep at all.

Marilyn takes her time with meals. She's been caged for 7 years during feedings. Otherwise, the others in her "group" would've eaten everything before she even had a chance. This made is easy to switch her to canned food post-FD dx. I'll see what I can do to tweek her meals...but I would prefer to find a dose, that isn't so food driven, that she will dive without many small meals. Maybe such a dose doesn't exist with Lantus?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Kitties who are OTJ also receive many small meals throughout the day to keep their pancreas working properly.
Clarky receives 1/2 can Friskies Pate TID...with a token offering of DM Dry for "overnights" in his AM cycle...well, it's not really a "cycle" since he's been OTJ. Hopefully, I'm not doing the wrong thing with him, but again, I can't fit in many more special feedings with these two kitties...they are only 2 of 12. I wish I could do more. I wish I were younger, I wish I were healthier...heck, as long as I'm wishin'...I wish I was taller and better lookin'. :-D

Thanks for taking all of this time Marje. I do take it all in...digest it & try to wrap my head around it...and go from there.

Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to All.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top