12/24/20 - Squeaky! AMPS 141 +.5=125 +8=329 PMPS=534

Next time you get a number like that, test again immediately to see if the strip was bad.

So +3 was 27 and 15 mins later was 115? That was how long after the honey and food?

I will give you the exact times from the meter. Of course as soon as I saw the 27 I jumped on the honey and chicken. He wouldn't eat them so I grabbed the ziwi lamb and smeared it around the honey and chicken.

Meter says:

112 at 9:19 pm
27 at 12:43 am
115 at 1:08 am
 
Hmmmm.... 25 mins between tests... So say 15-20 minutes after the honey and food.

Let's see what the others say. I'm still inclined to think it was a bad strip.
 
Next time you get a number like that, test again immediately to see if the strip was bad.

So +3 was 27 and 15 mins later was 115? That was how long after the honey and food?

Should I keep feeding him? Am I done with honey?

He ate 6 pieces of chicken with some honey smeared in between like 3 little sandwiches, surrounded with ziwi lamb food. Also ate some extra ziwi lamb food. I can't read the label on the ziwi lamb, maybe I have a magnifying glass.

Found the magnifying glass. Label says 90% crude protein.
 
No more honey or HC. Let him eat his usual meal if he wants to.

Okay there is something strange on the meter. I am using Contour Next. All the other readings have thick (darker) numbers and a check mark in the upper left hand corner. They also all say "fasting" (because that is the button I push).

On the 27, the numbers are thin (lighter) and in the upper left hand corner it says "control test." Also it does not say fasting.

So that one is very different..... Maybe I pushed a wrong button?

Hmmm, I would really like to go to sleep now.
 
I think it's nearly an hour since the 27? Get another test and let's see where he's at?

Sorry, not familiar with the meter. Let's wait for the others to get back on that?
 
Last edited:
I think it's nearly an hour since the 27? Get another one and let's see where he's at?

Sorry, not familiar with the meter. Let's wait for the others to get back on that?
Jan, did you get another test?

Hi Bhooma, I decided to wait the 20 minutes before testing again. It came in at 127 so he's rising. At 2:19 am.

I didn't see any buttons that would indicate "control test." Just fasting, before meal and after meal. That whole thing was odd.
 
What an adventure (I read yesterday's post too!)...and a crazy low number too. For some odd reason Luci will have very low numbers after getting home from visiting the vet - just a trend I've noticed...not usually too low on the road, but it did happen once.

I hope Squeaky can relax and enjoy the hotel room and that you'll have a nice visit with your mom!

Congratulations on the reduction - although it was a crazy way to earn it! At least you were prepared!! Good job!

Have an enjoyable day and Merry Christmas Eve!
 
I'd take the reduction just to be safe. It's possible the honey raised his numbers that fast. I'm glad your mom seems to be doing better. Sending prayers.
 
I was just thinking that being away although not the best choice according to most, I would have chosen a lower dose closer to a vacation dose until home. The depot will be in play. I’m going to look at your ss. Be back.
 
Ollie had lower readings when she was at motel.

Interesting! I noticed with Squeaky's asthma..... one night he had a strong episode and I needed to take him to the emergency vet. Well as soon as he got in the carrier he stopped coughing... and I couldn't make him cough at the vet! I think the stress activated adrenaline and somehow, it improves the health condition temporarily.
 
Back
Top