12/23 Simon PMPS 72 +89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Everything is good here with all P's in place.

Question: Tomorrow night I have to be at a Christmas Eve service that is going to take place the same time I need to give Simon his insulin shot. I can't find anyone to come over to give him his shot because of the holiday. I can't skip the service because I am playing music during the service and so is my DH. Simon is receiving .25 insulin 2x/day. How bad would it be to skip the one dose? Will that mess up everything good that is happening with Simon and his bg? I am feeling very stressed about this whole thing. I know I can't give him the shot late (it would be about 2 hours later than his usual shot time by the time I get home). I can't give him the shot before I leave because that will be 2 hours before his shot is due. Help!!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32686
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

There are times when I am not home exactly at 6 pm when Spot gets his shot. Sometimes I have to leave and go to work or sometimes mom has plans and needs to get out of the house by 5:15 pm. I have given Spot his shot up to an hour early or an hour later with no ill effects. You can skip his dose if that is the only option, but I was wondering if you would be able to adjust your shooting schedule for a few days afterwards? For example, if your regular shot time is 6:00, you can shoot at 8:00 pm, his next shot could be at 7:45 am, then 7:30 pm, then 7:15 am, then 7:00 pm...you know adjust it by 15 minutes per shot until you are back at your regular shooting time.
Next time, if you need to adjust your schedule and know in advance, you can just adjust your shot times ahead of time also. That way there won't be such a big gap.
I hope you can understand what I'm trying to explain....I haven't had my full cup of coffee yet!
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

Your cats is doing so well on a low .25 dose.
I wouldnt stress about missing the one dose. If he has a little set back, you will get back on track.
He will be fine and thats all that matters.
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

Relax. Everything will be okay.
I just looked at his ss and I think skipping a shot may or may not put him off a little, but you'll get right back on track.
Let's see what others have to say.

For now, Breath, and Enjoy your day.

ETA: it must have taken me a long time to write this, because two others have posted before me. I also agree with the suggestion that Deb has. Can you adjust back from a late shot, gradually?
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

Good morning guys! Simon is looking good in green this morning .. I hope you can figure out what to do as far as giving him his shot tomorrow .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

I can adjust somewhat but I should have started adjusting a day or so ago (I just wasn't thinking ahead!). If I give him his insulin 1/2 hour later this evening and then adjust a 1/2 hour later tomorrow morning, I will still be giving him his insulin at least an hour later than it should be by the evening. In other words, if I shoot at 6:30 tonight instead of 6:00, and then shoot at 7:00 tomorrow morning, I can't shoot much later than 7:30 tomorrow evening, right? I won't be home until about 8:30 tomorrow evening.
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

Adjusting the shot time is a good suggestion. Let me see if I can pm a few "smart" people and see what they think about skipping. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

You could adjust your shot time like you noted. In the grand scheme of things, it may just be easier to consider it a "fur shot" and not stress over it. I suspect there's no way to assure you won't be delayed tomorrow night. It's your choice. Which ever choice you make, Simon will get back on schedule without a problem.
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

As Sienne said, it's probably easier in the grand scheme of things to just skip the shot. Remember that you will need to move the schedule back 15 minutes per shot or a maximum of 30 minutes per day after you give the late shot. How much of a problem is it going to be for you to be so far off schedule?
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

I think it might cause more problems to try and adjust and get back on schedule than to just skip the shot. I just don't want to skip the shot and regret it if Simon goes way up. Of course, like everyone said, he is doing really well so hopefully, it won't be too hard to get him back to where he is right now. Thanks for reducing my stress a little -- I just don't want to be a neglectful mom!
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

You've been having lots of greens (I'm envious!)

If you skip the shot, you'll be able to see how he handles it when you return and are able to test. Think of it as a preliminary trial for OTJ.
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 question about skipping dose

great AMPS for Simon! you've been giving great advise on the dose....good luck with your decision....

he is doing soooo great!!! and you two as well!!!!
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 +2 86 +6 59

simon is so tightly regulated and on such a small dose, i seriously doubt he'll notice a single skipped shot.
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 +2 86 +6 59

Thanks for all your quick replies to my question. I feel so much better after hearing from everyone and I have decided that I am not going to stress out over skipping his shot. I am going to enjoy my Christmas Eve without worrying and after hearing from you, am hopeful the skipped shot will not be a big deal. I have been definitely more worried than Simon is -- right now he is relaxed and soaking up the sun rays coming in through the window.
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 +2 86 +6 59

Morning! Wonderful numbers - and FWIW - I'd skip the shot too - I think he will recover soon enough. Good luck - and happy holidays! Enjoy your Christmas eve!
 
Re: 12/23 Simon AMPS 87 +2 86 +6 59

sounds like you've got it covered...
so enjoy...and may you and your DH play beautifully!

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top