12/23 Quintus AMPS=247 +8.5=373 +10.75=437 PMPS@11.5=490 +1=439

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph & Quintus & L & O

Member Since 2017
condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...6-back-home-pmps-2-dose-timing-advice.188435/

So I finally shot "on time" = 12h after last shot (8.30). I made another step in his food transition. He's been generally much better these days!

Yesterday he had an itchy eye (hadn't happened in a bit, he tends to have eye issues) and this morning he rubbed the other one so hard he managed to pull his third lid out of place -- I hate when that happens! Only happened to him a couple of times. I pushed it back in and put some more physiological eye drops in, but he doesn't seem very happy with it. Might mean a trip to the vet *sigh* (he's an easy patient, it's just me being weary, I have so much other stuff to do today, including rest all day -- incompatible with the rest).

Thanks for all your help, I wanted to say! I feel much much less stressed out than the first week-end I arrived here. Was it two weeks ago? It feels like a year.
 
PMPS 247, +1 254, +3 218... looks like we're having a flattish morning in the yellows.

Won't be able to get a +5 as we're going to the on-duty vet given Sir Quintus has decided now was a good time to develop an eye ulcer (I have fluorescein strips at home, I checked). Oh well!
 
Vetty vines. I hope it is easily treated and he isn't in any pain (I have no knowledge of eye ulcers) and he is on the mend soon.

Quintus has a subscription. He actually almost lost an eye a few years ago (I like to say he has a CHF-1500 eye -- a bit of a waste now that he's blind, if you ask me... ;-))

I spot them pretty fast, that's why my vet gave me the test strips so I could check directly. A few eye drops and all will be fine (if this were not the week-end I could probably just have dropped in at my vet's to pick up the eye drops).
 
+8.5 373

Am I seeing this "high" value because we moved everything by two hours?

For tonight, I should probably dial back by half an hour (I can take a few checks tonight, had a good night of sleep last night).
 
I hope Quintus can get his drops soon. Generally an early shot acts like a small increase while a late shot acts like a small decrease. The guidelines say it is fine to change the shot time by 30 minutes once a day or 15minutes twice a day. Your plan sounds good as long as the numbers support it. Feel free to post again before shot time and one of us can give some guidance.

Regarding the 373 at +8, it could be a bounce from the green the night before, but with the mid-cycle blue I'm not sure. Could he have found some contraband around the house or snuck in some extra kibble somehow?

Don't stress too much about one test, the overall trend is more important and it is nice to see more blue and green on the SS then those ugly reds and blacks.

I think we all were a bit lost when we first got here, then it is information overload while getting up to speed on learning about feline diabetes:bighug:. It gets easier with time, and soon enough you get used to the patterns and are more comfortable knowing how your cat will respond.
 
Could he have found some contraband around the house or snuck in some extra kibble somehow?

Thanks for your kind message! No way he could have got contraband. He actually ate a little less today (but last night he was starving as I was two hours late and wolfed down everything). His eye ulcer is bothering him, and we had a trip to the vet. I'm guessing the "higher" number is due to the "decreased dose effect" of shooting two hours late.
 
Infection and pain can also raise their BG. I'm not sure about the numbers today. The first half of the cycle was great, a nice gentle slide down into the blues. Where that 373 came from, I'm not sure. It could be the late shot last night, but I don't have enough experience in how late shots affect the next cycle. It could also be a bounce starting. The next test will help in seeing where he is headed.
 
I would test now, an hour before shot time will give Quintus a little extra time to decide where he is headed between tests as you get closer to the shot. 30 minutes won't give as much time between tests to see a trend. The extra test can help tell if he is headed up or down as you get closer to shot time in an hour. More data on the SS never hurts.
 
Sorry about the reds, but now when you do the preshot test you can see better if he is still rising, staying flat or dropping a bit. That extra info can help. With the icky reds, I don't think there will be any issue shooting 30 min early. One thing to potentially watch out for is when they start clearing a bounce. They can build up some momentum and drop lower then you might think until you get some experience with how your cat responds.
 
Sorry about the reds, but now when you do the preshot test you can see better if he is still rising, staying flat or dropping a bit. That extra info can help. With the icky reds, I don't think there will be any issue shooting 30 min early. One thing to potentially watch out for is when they start clearing a bounce. They can build up some momentum and drop lower then you might think until you get some experience with how your cat responds.

Yeah, it looks like it might be a bounce, and not just because I shot late last night. My experience is that when Quintus's BG starts to drop (lower than he's used to) he becomes quite active and hungry and goes for his food (not sure if this is usual, my vet seems to say a cat dropping will want to eat). I leave extra kibble out during the night just in case (he prefers the DM, so he'll only eat the kibble if he's finished the rest!)
 
I don't see any reason not too. A few tests tonight to watch for the bounce clearing would be a good idea. I'm not sure how fast he clears bounces
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top