View attachment 72005
Seriously though, some pets and some parents probably have more issues than others: cost and stress (on cat and owner —we are all different) being two big ones but you can probably think of others. You’ve done an amazing job with Pookey and you both should be proud. Not everyone is you, not every cat Pookey.
I’m not ancient but I did care for my last diabetic cat for three years , long before there were glucometers. The goal was run the cat most of the time around the renal threshold—not as low as possible, risking hypoglycemia because “green is addictive”. That dose is fairly easy to find with a few increases and curves in most cats. The owner then monitors urine periodically looking for trace glucose and negative ketones. Is this ideal? No, not now. But it beats having pet parents euthanize their cats or just stop treating their diabetes. Cats did fine then, not as fine as now because they still had some strain on their kidneys. But slightly high is better than super high. I can just as easily wonder the harm we do each time a cat becomes hypoglycemic
could it be improved by some home testing—yes. Does it have to be eight times a day? No. Once a dose is found that keeps them just below renal threshold but well above hypoglycemia could they then do much less often testing? I’d say yes as long as they watch for signs that sugar is dropping or increasing. This is my wish for Methos, although I’m not certain we will get there
the cats here are getting tested a lot bc this is a self-selected group of people who have cats that cooperate to some degree with testing and who want to closely monitor their cat. I think it’s hard to find many here (besides me) who’d be happy if their cat met AAHA guidelines: no clinical signs, nadir 80-150 (reduce dose for nadir below 80). So there’s risk running a cat as low as people do here and testing is a must.
there are also a lot of people here who rarely leave home. Some are talking about quitting their jobs. I wouldn’t be surprised if there have been arguments among couples. When I treated Erik, back in the day, I gave him a shot, gave him a kiss, and left for work before he was done eating. I slept every night. Not once did I agonize if the cycle was going to bounce or be active.
each cat is different and so is each owner. If not testing works for some parents, and keeps their cats relatively healthy it’s better than cat euthanized or family stressed beyond breaking —and I’m all for it. I imagine some non-testers eventually test and end up here, and some here end up not testing. Hopefully they find support groups like the ones you’ve seen, rather than just give their cat to a shelter to be euthanized.
This is heresy for here but the world is round, and thousands if not millions of cats were treated without a glucometer. Humans too. I don’t like seeing the adequate abandoned in the impossible quest for the ideal.
I’m saying all this for the lurkers here who have reached the end of their rope and just can’t be the ideal —that’s ok. For the majority of folks here, surfing in green, congrats and I’m in awe. But it’s ok if some just can’t get there from here. Maybe they will one day. Or not. Just keep looking for what will work.