12/23, Pookey, AMPS 125, +2 80, +3 66, +4 71, PMPS 95, +2 81, +4 97, +5 94

Tim & Pookey

Very Active Member
Administrator
Good morning,

Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-6-98-pmps-112-3-83-5-86.296814/#post-3230601

Just plugging away today!

I was reading last night on some other platforms and it seems like there’s a camp of people that don’t believe in home testing? That blows my mind and I’m genuinely curious the reasoning. I guess maybe back in the day nobody had a choice so some of that is leaking through, and others probably get lucky.

Have a great day! - Tim
 
Last edited:
Good morning,

Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-6-98-pmps-112-3-83-5-86.296814/#post-3230601

Just plugging away today!

I was reading last night on some other platforms and it seems like there’s a camp of people that don’t believe in home testing? That blows my mind and I’m genuinely curious the reasoning. I guess maybe back in the day nobody had a choice so some of that is leaking through, and others probably get lucky.

Have a great day! - Tim
Hi Tim, beautiful cycle today, go Pookey! :D

I for one can’t fathom not having a clue what’s happening with our kitties and not testing.
The vet that I was dealing with when Ivy was diagnosed told me I didn’t have to test and it just didn’t sit right with me.
That’s when I started doing some research and ended up here.
I just couldn’t sleep at night not knowing what was happening with her and just shooting blindly.

And that vet also instructed me to raise the dose one unit at a time. Nope, it just wasn’t for me. It just didn’t feel right in my gut.
;)
Ps. They are no longer my vet :rolleyes:
 
Hi Tim, beautiful cycle today, go Pookey! :D

I for one can’t fathom not having a clue what’s happening with our kitties and not testing.
The vet that I was dealing with when Ivy was diagnosed told me I didn’t have to test and it just didn’t sit right with me.
That’s when I started doing some research and ended up here.
I just couldn’t sleep at night not knowing what was happening with her and just shooting blindly.

And that vet also instructed me to raise the dose one unit at a time. Nope, it just wasn’t for me. It just didn’t feel right in my gut.
;)
Ps. They are no longer my vet :rolleyes:
Right?? I feel the same way. If Ivy could talk I’m sure she’d be thanking you for trusting your gut.
 
upload_2024-12-23_6-58-13.jpeg


Seriously though, some pets and some parents probably have more issues than others: cost and stress (on cat and owner —we are all different) being two big ones but you can probably think of others. You’ve done an amazing job with Pookey and you both should be proud. Not everyone is you, not every cat Pookey.

I’m not ancient but I did care for my last diabetic cat for three years , long before there were glucometers. The goal was run the cat most of the time around the renal threshold—not as low as possible, risking hypoglycemia because “green is addictive”. That dose is fairly easy to find with a few increases and curves in most cats. The owner then monitors urine periodically looking for trace glucose and negative ketones. Is this ideal? No, not now. But it beats having pet parents euthanize their cats or just stop treating their diabetes. Cats did fine then, not as fine as now because they still had some strain on their kidneys. But slightly high is better than super high. I can just as easily wonder the harm we do each time a cat becomes hypoglycemic

could it be improved by some home testing—yes. Does it have to be eight times a day? No. Once a dose is found that keeps them just below renal threshold but well above hypoglycemia could they then do much less often testing? I’d say yes as long as they watch for signs that sugar is dropping or increasing. This is my wish for Methos, although I’m not certain we will get there

the cats here are getting tested a lot bc this is a self-selected group of people who have cats that cooperate to some degree with testing and who want to closely monitor their cat. I think it’s hard to find many here (besides me) who’d be happy if their cat met AAHA guidelines: no clinical signs, nadir 80-150 (reduce dose for nadir below 80). So there’s risk running a cat as low as people do here and testing is a must.

there are also a lot of people here who rarely leave home. Some are talking about quitting their jobs. I wouldn’t be surprised if there have been arguments among couples. When I treated Erik, back in the day, I gave him a shot, gave him a kiss, and left for work before he was done eating. I slept every night. Not once did I agonize if the cycle was going to bounce or be active.

each cat is different and so is each owner. If not testing works for some parents, and keeps their cats relatively healthy it’s better than cat euthanized or family stressed beyond breaking —and I’m all for it. I imagine some non-testers eventually test and end up here, and some here end up not testing. Hopefully they find support groups like the ones you’ve seen, rather than just give their cat to a shelter to be euthanized.

This is heresy for here but the world is round, and thousands if not millions of cats were treated without a glucometer. Humans too. I don’t like seeing the adequate abandoned in the impossible quest for the ideal.

I’m saying all this for the lurkers here who have reached the end of their rope and just can’t be the ideal —that’s ok. For the majority of folks here, surfing in green, congrats and I’m in awe. But it’s ok if some just can’t get there from here. Maybe they will one day. Or not. Just keep looking for what will work.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-23_6-58-13.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-23_6-58-13.jpeg
    60 KB · Views: 59
View attachment 72005

Seriously though, some pets and some parents probably have more issues than others: cost and stress (on cat and owner —we are all different) being two big ones but you can probably think of others. You’ve done an amazing job with Pookey and you both should be proud. Not everyone is you, not every cat Pookey.

I’m not ancient but I did care for my last diabetic cat for three years , long before there were glucometers. The goal was run the cat most of the time around the renal threshold—not as low as possible, risking hypoglycemia because “green is addictive”. That dose is fairly easy to find with a few increases and curves in most cats. The owner then monitors urine periodically looking for trace glucose and negative ketones. Is this ideal? No, not now. But it beats having pet parents euthanize their cats or just stop treating their diabetes. Cats did fine then, not as fine as now because they still had some strain on their kidneys. But slightly high is better than super high. I can just as easily wonder the harm we do each time a cat becomes hypoglycemic

could it be improved by some home testing—yes. Does it have to be eight times a day? No. Once a dose is found that keeps them just below renal threshold but well above hypoglycemia could they then do much less often testing? I’d say yes as long as they watch for signs that sugar is dropping or increasing. This is my wish for Methos, although I’m not certain we will get there

the cats here are getting tested a lot bc this is a self-selected group of people who have cats that cooperate to some degree with testing and who want to closely monitor their cat. I think it’s hard to find many here (besides me) who’d be happy if their cat met AAHA guidelines: no clinical signs, nadir 80-150 (reduce dose for nadir below 80). So there’s risk running a cat as low as people do here and testing is a must.

there are also a lot of people here who rarely leave home. Some are talking about quitting their jobs. I wouldn’t be surprised if there have been arguments among couples. When I treated Erik, back in the day, I gave him a shot, gave him a kiss, and left for work before he was done eating. I slept every night. Not once did I agonize if the cycle was going to bounce or be active.

each cat is different and so is each owner. If not testing works for some parents, and keeps their cats relatively healthy it’s better than cat euthanized or family stressed beyond breaking —and I’m all for it. I imagine some non-testers eventually test and end up here, and some here end up not testing. Hopefully they find support groups like the ones you’ve seen, rather than just give their cat to a shelter to be euthanized.

This is heresy for here but the world is round, and thousands if not millions of cats were treated without a glucometer. Humans too. I don’t like seeing the adequate abandoned in the impossible quest for the ideal.

I’m saying all this for the lurkers here who have reached the end of their rope and just can’t be the ideal —that’s ok. For the majority of folks here, surfing in green, congrats and I’m in awe. But it’s ok if some just can’t get there from here. Maybe they will one day. Or not. Just keep looking for what will work.
Beautifully said, Colleen. Thank you for this important perspective!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
You’ve probably just saved many cats’ lives. :kiss::kiss:
 
View attachment 72005

Seriously though, some pets and some parents probably have more issues than others: cost and stress (on cat and owner —we are all different) being two big ones but you can probably think of others. You’ve done an amazing job with Pookey and you both should be proud. Not everyone is you, not every cat Pookey.

I’m not ancient but I did care for my last diabetic cat for three years , long before there were glucometers. The goal was run the cat most of the time around the renal threshold—not as low as possible, risking hypoglycemia because “green is addictive”. That dose is fairly easy to find with a few increases and curves in most cats. The owner then monitors urine periodically looking for trace glucose and negative ketones. Is this ideal? No, not now. But it beats having pet parents euthanize their cats or just stop treating their diabetes. Cats did fine then, not as fine as now because they still had some strain on their kidneys. But slightly high is better than super high. I can just as easily wonder the harm we do each time a cat becomes hypoglycemic

could it be improved by some home testing—yes. Does it have to be eight times a day? No. Once a dose is found that keeps them just below renal threshold but well above hypoglycemia could they then do much less often testing? I’d say yes as long as they watch for signs that sugar is dropping or increasing. This is my wish for Methos, although I’m not certain we will get there

the cats here are getting tested a lot bc this is a self-selected group of people who have cats that cooperate to some degree with testing and who want to closely monitor their cat. I think it’s hard to find many here (besides me) who’d be happy if their cat met AAHA guidelines: no clinical signs, nadir 80-150 (reduce dose for nadir below 80). So there’s risk running a cat as low as people do here and testing is a must.

there are also a lot of people here who rarely leave home. Some are talking about quitting their jobs. I wouldn’t be surprised if there have been arguments among couples. When I treated Erik, back in the day, I gave him a shot, gave him a kiss, and left for work before he was done eating. I slept every night. Not once did I agonize if the cycle was going to bounce or be active.

each cat is different and so is each owner. If not testing works for some parents, and keeps their cats relatively healthy it’s better than cat euthanized or family stressed beyond breaking —and I’m all for it. I imagine some non-testers eventually test and end up here, and some here end up not testing. Hopefully they find support groups like the ones you’ve seen, rather than just give their cat to a shelter to be euthanized.

This is heresy for here but the world is round, and thousands if not millions of cats were treated without a glucometer. Humans too. I don’t like seeing the adequate abandoned in the impossible quest for the ideal.

I’m saying all this for the lurkers here who have reached the end of their rope and just can’t be the ideal —that’s ok. For the majority of folks here, surfing in green, congrats and I’m in awe. But it’s ok if some just can’t get there from here. Maybe they will one day. Or not. Just keep looking for what will work.
Some nice points there Colleen! Definitely not trying to judge anyone who can’t test. Life is complicated.
 
Some nice points there Colleen! Definitely not trying to judge anyone who can’t test. Life is complicated.
I’m not immune either. I’d wager most people here have had someone who knows us well use “control freak” or “control issues” in a sentence that includes our names. I’d wager a very high percent of those doing TR. it’s not a bad thing (someone has to take control, and I had that cartoon handy for a reason). And for those who can go the extra mile, like you and Pookey—you reap the rewards (and well deserved).

I used to tell the residents and medical students I supervised that if a patient keeps not doing what you’ve told them to do, you (the MD) are either wrong in your plan, or you didn’t explain why adequately, or you didn’t listen to them as they tried telling you why they can’t do it.

I also taught them a robin wasn’t the first sign of spring, it was a 30 year old sedentary male who slid into second hands first.
 
I'm pretty sure I'm the first person who home tests at my vet's office (I live in rural southeast Alabama). They (the vets) have been kind to work with me, though. One of the vets is even brushing up on his feline diabetic knowledge, and I'm sure this is because Jude is his patient, and he (the vet) sees my commitment and wants to help me help Jude. I'm thankful for that. This vet has often deferred to the knowledge I've brought him from this group. I've a local friend who had a diabetic cat, and my friend was never taught to home test. He's the friend who, when Jude was initially diagnosed with diabetes, told me "if Jude falls out on the floor, just rub a little Karo on his gums, and he'll pop back up." :nailbiting: This is when I was just starting to learn, and I was desperate to avoid a "fall out." I'm so glad I found this group.
 
Last edited:
I'm pretty sure I'm the first person who home tests at my vet's office (I live in rural southeast Alabama). They (the vets) have been kind to work with me, though. One of the vets is even brushing up on his feline diabetic knowledge, and I'm sure this is because Jude is his patient, and he (the vet) sees my commitment and wants to help me help Jude. I'm thankful for that. This vet has often deferred to the knowledge I've brought him from this group. I've a local friend who had a diabetic cat, and my friend was never taught to home test. He's the friend who, when Jude was initially diagnosed with diabetes, told me "if Jude falls out on the floor, just rub a little Karo on his gums, and he'll pop back up." :nailbiting: This is when I was just starting to learn, and I was desperate avoid a "fall out." I'm so glad I found this group.
That’s cool that you and Jude can do that at your vet!

My vet reviewed Pookey’s sheet for the first time today. I think it’s a little more than they’re used to lol. There’s no doubt this group helps a lot of cats.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top