12/23 OSCAR AMPS 12/+5 40/+6 45/+7 131 PMPS 302

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fixed as requested. Should I be putting both Canadian and US numbers down together OR just the US numbers?
In general we just put the US numbers.

Looks like he is bouncing from the lows today. Don't get frustrated, it can take several days to clear the bounce sometimes. Keep posting. We are happy to help. :bighug:
 
Normally you would take an immediate reduction, after getting a number below 40, but since you just reduced four cycles ago, and you took a .5 reduction, I'm incline to recommend that you hold this dose. May I ask why you are taking .5 reductions instead of .25? I know you are not new to this dance.
 
Normally you would take an immediate reduction, after getting a number below 40, but since you just reduced four cycles ago, and you took a .5 reduction, I'm incline to recommend that you hold this dose. May I ask why you are taking .5 reductions instead of .25? I know you are not new to this dance.
See explanation in ... http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-4-4-4-8-10-9-pmps-11-6.170088/#post-1850420
Summary: Oscar was on Caninsulin & switched to Lantus a few days ago. Started 3 days ago at 1, was suggested he should begin at .5. Then in the course of that day he had a reading that said he earned .25. I didn't read that suggestion until after his AMPS this morning but did put him on .25 the evening. Should I continue on.25 or go back to .5? Yes, I am new to using Lantus . :D
 
Last edited:
Normally you would take an immediate reduction, after getting a number below 40, but since you just reduced four cycles ago, and you took a .5 reduction, I'm incline to recommend that you hold this dose. May I ask why you are taking .5 reductions instead of .25? I know you are not new to this dance.
I think he was just taken off of steroids and was told to shoot though the bounce last night and reduce to .25u this morning, but still gave .5u without seeing the info.
 
I think he was just taken off of steroids and was told to shoot though the bounce last night and reduce to .25u this morning, but still gave .5u without seeing the info.
?? Oscar hasn't been on steroids (for skin problems) since 2010. Shortly following that he was diagnosed as a diabetic. I don't know how you came up with Oscar "just taken off of steroids". ??
 
Sheila, did you decide on which protocol SLGS, or TR your going to follow at the moment.
I'm going to start with SLGS. I tend to get overwhelmed with too much detail. SLGS appears to be the most straight forward, though it's already taken many of you to keep me on track (of which I'm grateful).
 
I'm not a veteran but with a 79 yesterday and a 38 today. Given the reduction point is 90 there isn't a reason to hold with slgs.
 
Thanks for the explanation. I'm not sure whether you should take the reduction or not. Let me get some other veterans to chime in. I'm torn because of the depot being possibly still at play.

@Marje and Gracie, @Dyana , what do you think?
He got into green once with the previous insulin at 0.5u and I would suspect that wasn’t the singular time.

It’s possible it could be depot but he’d only been on lantus three cycles when he earned the first reduction and five cycles when he got the 38. Yes, we’ve seen some cats have a fast response but we don’t know if he yet if the dose was just too high from the get go. Thus, I think it’s important to err on the side of caution even if there is any potential a bit of depot might be involved.

I'm not a veteran but with a 79 yesterday and a 38 today. Given the reduction point is 90 there isn't a reason to hold with slgs.
Sometimes there is. You have to take into account whether there is a substantial depot in effect or not. It takes some cats up to six cycles after a reduction before one can see what the new dose is actually doing (my Gracie could often be like that). For most cats, it might be four cycles or so but we don’t have much info on Oscar and lantus. So, in this case, I think it’s wise to be more cautious.

Sheila....he’s likely bouncing so hard because of the carbs. He had to have them with those numbers but the carbs can affect the duration of the insulin that particular cycle; numbers rise quickly and then you throw in a bounce and here we are at 302 at PMPS.

Thanks for starting a new condo and putting US numbers in the subject line.
 
I agree with Marje in being cautious and trying a reduction to 0.25.
Good luck with the new dose ;):D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top