12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209+4~45+4.30~58+5~49

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Good Morning,,


today I reduced the dose to 1 unit as shes still not eating . and syringe feeding is the only way to get her to eat ..

she took few licks of tuna water again.. thats all



I was recommend to use anti-nausea in the yahoo feeding group that I join yesterday, I called the vet, still no reply, so do you know if I can get these in human pharmacies cuz I'm not sure our vet have all the stuff ?
http://f1.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/EMjWUB... Vomiting - Signs, Causes & Treatment Options


she still drinking a lot !!!!



Previous condo

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=85468
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266 Dose decrease

Hi Aseel, I just read the rest of your yesterday's condo.

It sounds like she needs more food in her than she was getting. Are you able to give her more food now?
I'm sure they will help you a lot on the FAF site.

My vet thinks nausea means vomiting, too. I don't know why some vets think nausea = vomiting. J.D. takes Ondansetron for nausea and he rarely vomits, but he won't eat if he feels nauseous. He'll go to the food, sniff it and walk away.
I bought a baby scale through Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Salter-Electronic-Baby-Toddler-Scale/dp/B00009KX5U/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
I'm glad you joined the FAF group. They will be able to help you a lot with the assist feeding.

Good luck with the dosecrease and good luck getting her to eat more.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266 Dose decrease

Hi Dyana,

I'm trying to feed her more now, I will check the scale, the problem is amazon might take 3 weeks to arrive :( its a waste of time, I will try to find something here.

about he med. may I ask which type of, called the pharmacy she said Zofran is 210 $ ! and not available everywhere, the alternative is Onda ?? which the same concentration available in tablets and ampoules too ?


what do you think?
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232

That's a decent +2 for Noni. No diving, Noni. Nice and slow, good girl.

Ondansetron is also known as Zofran, and I found big differences in prices, that's why I made the long drive yesterday to go buy it. Last weekend I drove there and they were out, so I had to make the long drive again, yesterday.
My local grocery store pharmacy sells it of $3.33 a pill, and I can get it for $0.33 a pill at a superstore pharmacy called Costco. When I first bought it at my local grocery store, it costs $33 for 10 pills, and I just bought 90 pills for $30 at Costco. I would call around. But, I would discuss it with your vet, to make sure it's safe to give her.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266 Dose decrease

asoolty said:
about he med. may I ask which type of, called the pharmacy she said Zofran is 210 $ ! and not available everywhere, the alternative is Onda ?? which the same concentration available in tablets and ampoules too ?


what do you think?
I would ask on the FAF group about the Onda ?? You'll need to know the correct dosage for her too, so I would consult with them, and your vet.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232

Tiggy has had nausea a few times and never vomited. He would walk up to food, sniff it. sometimes smack his lips, and walk off. No vomiting...
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232

Hello Aseel. It's nice to see Noni with some fairly nice numbers all things considered. It's also good that she is still drinking. Have you had any luck getting her to eat a bit more yogurt? I hope between FDMB, FAF and your vet you will be able to find a medication that helps Noni get rid of her diarrhea and start eating.

You're doing a wonderful job of taking care of Noni and I'm sure she appreciates it and loves you all the more for it.

Have a good day and we're keeping you and Noni in our Prayers.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232

Hi again,


just came back from the vet, I wanted to ask him about the onda, he said no !!!It was like no no no!! Noni is too weak for it, so he gave her ! Metoclopramide instead , 10 mg - ( 1/4 tablet , 2 times a day)

what do you think?

before that he gave Periactin tablets but didn't work at all.

I went to the pet shop too, got her the Ziwi Peak cans, had also some kind of dry food same brand like slices. got her kitten milk as well m and some kitten food Natures:menu.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184

I'm glad you got some more food for her to try. I hope she likes some of it.

I don't know anything about Metoclopramide (Reglan), but did a Google search, and then I did a search on the FDMB board for Metoclopramide and found this recent post by Sienne http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=83319&p=896027&hilit=Metoclopramide#p896027 Please click on the blue word Reglan at the bottom of her post for more information on the drug. I hope it works well for Noni.

Asking about this question on the FAF group might get you more answers as they probably know a lot more about the drug.

Is she eating more? Her numbers are not diving, and I am glad they aren't. They look more like a "normal" curve. Let's see if she starts coming up now.

Once she gets to eating more, you may have to go back to your regular dose. Right now, we're just trying to keep her safe.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184

Thank you so much Dyana,

I checked the link and also had a good reply from FAF let me copy it for you:

> Will try to cover several of your questions starting with Metoclopramide.
>
> As was stated in the file on Nausea and Vomiting it is not the best selection
for cats. It does work for dogs. Many vets just do not understand the
difference. Here is what that files says
>
> "Many vets prescribe Reglan (metoclopramide) for more general nausea.
However, in cats, Reglan is not a very effective anti-nausea medication because
it works on the dopamine receptors in the brain. Cats have very few dopamine
receptors, and more serotonin receptors. It may work for some cats so it might
be worth trying, especially if it is the only option available."
>
> If Noni has a problem with stomach mobility it might help but you haven't
written that was an issue.
>
> Definitely get the Onda which is the generic for Zofran. Helen has post
already that the recommended dose is 1 mg 2-3 times per day.
>
> Glad you found the canned food Helen recommended. Try blending the dickens
out of it with a small amount of water so it is the consistency of a milk shake.
And do try adding a soft boiled egg to the mix to increase the calories.
>
> My sweet Albert had advance CRF and severe HCM (heart disease). He needed sub
q fluids for his kidneys. And he needed the lasix to prevent fluid build up.
It is a fine balancing act. I would give him 50 ml of fluids 2 times per day
and lasix 2 times per day. There is no cure but you can help Noni feel better.
>
> You do not want to limit her access to water. Can you start the lasix again
using the dose recommended by your vet? Is this the only vet available to you.
Perhaps another vet would have a better understanding about cats.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184

I didn't know you stopped the Lasix. I thought that was to help with the fluid in her lungs. Is there a reason why you stopped it?

I'm glad you're getting information from the group that knows so much about helping with eating issues.
I hope the Reglan helps Noni to feel better. You might have to give it a try to apease your vet.

I can't say I know much or anything about the caloric needs of cats and at what weight they need what.
I think there is some information on that somewhere on this board, if you do a search on calories needed or something like that.
I would question how many mls Noni needs per day, as the post you copied said 50ml twice a day, and Karrie yesterday said she was giving Maverick 300mls a day.
Maverick was eating 300cc's of food a day when he was recovering. Most cats can handle 20-40 cc's of food per feeding, and you can feed ever 2.5 to 3 hours. You want at least to get in a 5.5oz can of food a day as a starting point.

Here's the link to yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=85468 I had to go find it. Can you please put your link to yesterday's condo in between the and the by using the URL button at the top of the box? :smile:
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184

the same vet asked me to stop it , also today told me not to use Noda .. he was worried of dehydration with lasix though.

at the FAF recommended me to feed 200cc to start with every 1- 2 hrs or 240cc every 4-6 hrs.

40cc is way to little

sorry about the previous condo again, I was using my smartphone .. its not too clear sometimes ;-)
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184

So that will be a lot more food than she was getting, correct?
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209

yes ..way more .. !

I will start gradually though .. started to feed some kitten food mixed with Ziwi and one boiled eggs in the mixer ! hope it doesn't bring her any more diarrhea :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209

It might in the beginning. I've heard new foods will sometimes, at first. I'm glad she's eating more.
I think I read that the Reglan is to be given a little bit (15 minutes?) before feeding. Did you see that anywhere?
I hope the Reglan helps her. Fingers and Paws crossed.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209

I'm not really sure about using the Reglan ;( I don't want to give more useless things ! she've been through a lot,
FAF are suggesting me getting the Onda and try it myself if I want or take it to another vet to check again ! the problem is her other doctor is out of the country now for 2 weeks for X-mass holiday .. !


anyhow, I gtg sleep i'm really tired today ! will set an alarm on +4 to test and feed.


Goodnight from here
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209+4~45+4.30~58+

+4~45
feed

+4.30~58
+5~49
give some honey to bring her up a little.
+5.30~49
feed honey again
+6~58
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209+4~45+4.30~58+

Aseel

I'm sorry that Noni is still so sick. I'm keeping her in my prayers.

Did you get her up to stay on her BG tonight or are you still using honey to keep her up? Did she take her syringe feeding ok?
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209+4~45+4.30~58+

Good morning Marje ,


I syringe fed before going to bed 40cc mixed with some HC FF


I will test in few +10
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209+4~45+4.30~58+

Morning Aseel. Was she higher than 49 when you went to bed last night?

I'm getting ready to go to bed here but I'll be up for a bit longer so I'll check back in with you. I hope you got some rest.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209+4~45+4.30~58+

Aseel...tried to wait up but looks like I will be up with Gracie so I need to catch a nap while I can. I hope she is better today.
 
Re: 12/23 Noni AMPS~ 266+2~232+8~184/ PMPS~209+4~45+4.30~58+

I'm sorry Marje I had to take my car to the garage, the keys are out of battery

she was 58@+6 when and I fed 40 cc then go to bed, couldn't add it to the subject line as it's full already, I updated the Ss but it wasn't there when I re checked now , so I had to add it again !


sorry to keep you waiting, I really didn't know ;( sorry again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top