12/23: Jude: AMPS 362; +4.5 216; +8 182; +10 200; PMPS 281; 2.5 187; +7 193

Jude has slowly slid down this cycle. I'm not sure what that means, but at least he's not in the 400/500s like he was this time yesterday. This is looking very much like the 12/17 cycle, where he dropped down fairly low at the PMPS. We'll see what he does this time in a few hours.
 
upload_2024-12-23_17-21-35.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-23_17-21-35.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-23_17-21-35.jpeg
    45.9 KB · Views: 109
His sheet is a bit of a rainbow. Yes that is perplexing. My first thought was food inconsistency or not LC as a guess but I see the FF pates in his signature … same as minner, good LC stuff. I’m totally speculating when I say this … but assuming a fairly consistent routine and diet, could his pancreas be turning on and off, sometimes pumping out his own insulin and sometimes not? My vet told me this is the wild card. And given that he went OTJ once, that seems like a sign that his pancreas worked fine and then didn’t. I think the protocols here are our best shot and he is so lucky to have a doting cat mom! Here’s to hoping for some good numbers tonight!
 
His sheet is a bit of a rainbow. Yes that is perplexing. My first thought was food inconsistency or not LC as a guess but I see the FF pates in his signature … same as minner, good LC stuff. I’m totally speculating when I say this … but assuming a fairly consistent routine and diet, could his pancreas be turning on and off, sometimes pumping out his own insulin and sometimes not? My vet told me this is the wild card. And given that he went OTJ once, that seems like a sign that his pancreas worked fine and then didn’t. I think the protocols here are our best shot and he is so lucky to have a doting cat mom! Here’s to hoping for some good numbers tonight!

Yes, I've heard it referred to as a "sputtering pancreas." I'm not sure if that is the case, and I don't know how we'd be able to tell. Jude went into remission so quickly and effortlessly when he was initially diagnosed (basically once I changed his food, he turned the corner). And when he was diagnosed, he had a UTI which was treated with an AB and a steroid shot. After receiving the shot, Jude became terribly sick, and was diagnosed. The vet thought it was steroid-induced diabetes, and that the steroid spiked his numbers, but given that Jude went back into diabetes (again, a UTI spiked his numbers) and has remained there seems to suggest that he doesn't simply have steroid-induced diabetes. Whatever is going on, I sure wish I could get him regulated.

I probably need to get more organized on the food front, in terms of spreading his food out over the day, but it's complicated because 1) I work and 2) there is another cat eating from the same food bowl, and if I put out an automatic/timed feeder, I'm worried that one of them will scarf down the food, leaving the other one without.
 
2) there is another cat eating from the same food bowl, and if I put out an automatic/timed feeder, I'm worried that one of them will scarf down the food, leaving the other one without.
Some years ago I bought a feeder that only opened based on signal from a collar. It was intended to restrict food to a single pet wearing the collar that would open the hatch to access the food. We need a device that performs that function in tandem w/ timed feeding so that it’s still restricted to the cat wearing the collar while also giving access to the portion of food allotted for the given time. Maybe that exists, will need to look.
 
Back
Top