12/23 J.D. +8.5 127, +9.75 130, +11 181, PMPS 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
343 PMPS
114 +7
279 +9
J.D. ate pretty good last night, mainly eating bites here and there, but sometimes eating most of what was served.

I gave him some R at +1.5 this morning to stop the rise. He didn't want to eat at AMPS, and ate most of his 1st Breffis at +1.5 once I put some EVO Dry kibble in his food. At least he's getting LC FF. He just ate a few more bites of a fresh can that I opened and now he's outside again. He's acting pretty normal even when he was so high, and is now coming down, just wish he would be my hungry eater. I wonder if I should give him some more cypro, but he just got some last night and I think it is a once a day drug, and compared to Ginger who is eating just as much as J.D. is, I figure he's okay for right now. He does follow me into the kitchen each time I go in there, like he's going to get something more or different than he already has in his bowls.

I have been sleeping in :-D what a special treat, and I think my cold is finally on it's way out the door..

J.D. just jumped up on the couch for a snooze (I guess). I think I'll offer him his food bowl on the couch :roll:
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. AMPS 485, +1.5 577, +4 241

I hope J.D. is enjoying his b'fast-on-couch. I think when he follows you into the kitchen he's trying to use his cat telepathy to let you know what he REALLY wants. @-)

It's unfortunate that we lowly beans have not yet mastered the art of cat telepathy...

Glad you're feeling better -- just in time for the holidays!

~Josie
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. AMPS 485, +1.5 577, +4 241

Wow, J.D., you are visiting a lot of floors today. We pretty much feed Zener wherever he will eat. :roll:
Liz
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. AMPS 485, +1.5 577, +4 241

Anne & Zener said:
Wow, J.D., you are visiting a lot of floors today. We pretty much feed Zener wherever he will eat. :roll:
Liz
Yeah, well, J.D. started liking FF Roasted Turkey and FF Roasted Chicken which are 10% and 11% a whole bunch and since he was eating it, I was feeding it. He will also eat FF Medleys which are about the same. He will usually eat most of FF Chunky Turkey and FF Chunky Chicken which are only about 5%. I'm trying to get him to eat all the LC flavors he used to eat, but often ending up adding EVO Dry kibbles smooshed into the LC isn't making much progess :roll: .
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. AMPS 485, +1.5 577, +4 241, +5.5 184, +6.5 14

Nice numbers for J.D. today. Hope you both have a great day.
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. AMPS 485, +1.5 577, +4 241, +5.5 184, +6.5 14

Looks like JD is coming down nicely. That's quite a balancing act you must do with all of the BG levels he has.....such a range! Hope he's feeling great and a happy fella today. Glad to hear that you are feeling better too and getting to sleep in....always a bonus! :smile:
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. AMPS 485, +1.5 577, +4 241, +5.5 184, +6.5 14

Nice slide into blue for J.D. I hope he starts eating the LC food for you again.
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. AMPS 485, +1.5 577, +4 241, +5.5 184, +6.5 14

carfurby said:
Nice slide into blue for J.D. I hope he starts eating the LC food for you again.
We just went outside to get a little sunshine, and I gave him some (1 tablespoon?) LC (a third flavor I've opened this "morning"), and he ate a little and Ginger ate the rest. I'd give him some MC to get him to eat, but now it's getting late in the cycle. I'll wait until tonight, and probably give him another cypro.
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. +6.5 141, +7.5 124, +8.5 127, +9.75 130

I guess I did the R right this time. :cool:
 
Re: 12/23 J.D. +6.5 141, +7.5 124, +8.5 127, +9.75 130

Dyana, great numbers on J.D.!!!

Here's wishing you a very Merry Christmas!!! Thank you for all you've done for us...

(((hugs)))
 
So, how do you cook salmon?
The last time we were at the vet; I mentioned giving steak to J.D. and the vet said it was too high in fat, and I should try salmon. I just got back from the grocery store and they had plain old Atlantic Salmon and Norwegian Salmon and I said to the grocer "what's the difference?" and he said the Norwegian salmon tastes better. Well, it better at $3.00 more a pound. I've never cooked salmon. I'm not even sure I've ever even eaten salmon, but one bite once in my life. I think my vet said to just broil it. But, what about the skin? How long do I broil it? I'll ask this again tomorrow, if I don't get any answers, as I won't give it to him until then.

I gave J.D. his Ondansetron and Pepcid and added some Cypro tonight, and I raised his dose a little.
I gave him a regular 1/4 can of LC FF meal for his 1st Dinner and he ate a bit .. Ginger isn't even hungry.
It must be my cooking :cry:
 
I've bought frozen fish before that is already cut up into filets. Once it is thawed out the directions say to bake it at 425 degrees for 9 to 11 minutes. You are supposed to make sure the juices are clear to make sure it is done. Hope this helps some.
 
Hmmm, actually I'm more of a baker than a broiler. I do like your idea better.
There's also the issue of the skin. I asked the grocer, "what do I do with the skin?" and he just kept asking me if I wanted it skinned, and I kept saying no, I'll do it. Finally, he said the salmon should just flake off of the skin. Maybe the skin is good for him? No?

The things we do for our cats :roll:
 
Hi Dyana,

Regarding salmon, I usually cook about 20 minutes at 350 per inch of thickness of the flesh. The flesh should flake easily when it's cooked. If it's a filet, I just cook it skin side down. The skin will come off easily enough after it's cooked. I'm not sure about the skin, but I think that's where more of the fat is. As far as Norwegian vs. Atlantic, a lot of the fish farms use Atlantic salmon, even the ones in Norway. It grows faster and is a more docile fish. The fish farms on our coast most often grow Atlantic too. If it's a wild Norwegian, then it's worth more. But not enough the cat would know the difference. :lol:

Enjoy the salmon J.D., both cats here give it thumbs up!
 
I roast salmon all the time. I'd put a small amount of oil on the bottom of the pan so the skin doesn't stick. It takes about 6 - 10 min. to cook a piece that's about 4 oz. in a 400 degree oven. The fish will be a paler color once it's cooked through. (I have a convection oven and it cooks a bit faster than a conventional oven.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top