? 12/23-Freckles AMPS 205, 198~+3.5, dental information and dosing question

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
previous post

Looks like Freckles is heading back to the blues after my FS screw up yesterday. She's a good little girl for doing that.:)

I called my vet this morning to clarify some questions I had prior to Freckles getting her teeth cleaned in January. I had some good questions thanks to @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and
@Wendy&Neko

Included in the price of the base dental cleaning at my vets is pre-operative blood work and xrays. So that's good and follows along with Sienne's and Wendy's advice. It's so nice to hear from experienced kitty owners and allows others to become more educated and ask the right kinds of questions to our vets. :cat:
 
Woohoo for blue again! :cool:

Did you get any answers on how late you can feed and the shot in the AM?
 
Just read through the great info provided in your previous post, Judy!

@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
What post-dental antibiotic did your vet give/you recommend? I’m also curious, Judy, if your vet mentioned what antibiotic they’ll be giving after Freckles’ dental.

Nothing really useful for you but I thought I’d just share my experiences as a vet assistant. I started working 1.5 years ago and I have only observed 2 dentals of diabetic dogs. And it was the same doctor. The doctor said no insulin in the morning. For one patient, he gave half a dose of insulin after the procedure. For the other, he didn’t give insulin.
 
My dental vet specialist also did clindamycin. I had a choice of liquid or pill. Liquid tastes awful, but was easier for me to give that pills. Especially if any extractions. @Crista & Ming she is on doxycycline now, I image it may continue. My dental vet was very familiar with diabetics, even knew stuff about acromegaly. :woot: Dental vets also have more monitoring so may feel more comfortable with insulin given. Though my regular vet also said half dose in AM. Course, that was days when Neko barely dreamed of green. :rolleyes:
 
Did you get any answers on how late you can feed and the shot in the AM?
No answers today. I took BK (stands for Barn Kitty - who never made it back to the barn after she got fixed - she doesn't even look out the window! lol civie cat) to get her rabies shot (our area is very popular for rabid animals :() and my regular vet wasn't in so I will stop in and speak to him with my list of questions after the holidays. Freckles' appointment is Jan. 10.

I'm suppose to give Freckles doxycycline for 5 days prior to her dental appointment. When I asked the assistant, she said that doxycycline can be crushed and mixed with food. I haven't been able to find any information on the net to verify this yet.

However, I found this on Dr. Lisa's website

"There are 3 forms of antibiotics that can be used:

1) Pills – If using pills, please see my Pilling Cats and Dogs article for reasons why you never want to ‘dry’ pill any animal. Dont make the mistake of assuming that just because your cat swallowed the pill he is safe. Cats usually swallow the pill just fine but then it gets stuck at the end of the esophagus – just before entering the stomach.

NEVER USE clindamycin (Antirobe) or doxycycline tablets. These medications are highly inflammatory and have caused fatal esophageal structures."

Is the cause of the esophageal stricture when the pill gets stuck in the esophagus if a cat is "dry-pilled"?
 
One more question for the night... the current dose has encouraged Freckles to come down into the blues. :DSo, if I'm reading the TR protocol correctly, since she is new to numbers below 200, we should hold the dose for 8-10 cycles before increasing by .25 (given that she just stays hanging around the blue zone for the 8-10 cycles)? I'm confirming in advance since we are coming up to a holiday where the forum may not be very active with experienced members.

Tagging @Bron and Sheba as I see you are on! :)
 
Last edited:
The way I've seen it explained is you hold the dose for 8-10 cycles from the first blue you see.

Something happened to your tag for Bron and it didn't work.
 
Back
Top