12/23 Cobb AMPS 575 +3 565 +6 445 +9 405 PMPS 353 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

So...let's recap last night, shall we?

PMPS: 303
+2: 268
+4.5: 243
+6.5: 255
+8.5: 331
AMPS: 575

Soooo...it looks like Cobb panicked from that stretch of low numbers. :-x

I did go ahead and upped his dose to 6.5u, given the cycles before and since he didn't drop below 200. Hope that was the right decision. Curious to see how quickly this bounce clears!
 
Re: 12/23 Cobb AMPS 575 - LIVER PANICKED!!

You did great :-D Boo to Mr Liver acting like the Grinch! :evil:
Loved seeing those yellows yesterday! Fingers crossed that this bounce takes a hike...and quick like! C'mon Cobb sweetie, work your dosecrease and let's give that sweet mamabean of yours a beautiful Christmas present ;-) :-D
 
Re: 12/23 Cobb AMPS 575 +3 565 +6 445 bounce question

Boing! Little Cobby looks like he's trying to work out of the bounce. Cleared the 500s in the first half of the cycle. At least he's not surfing up there and his little body is bringing those numbers down.

I pretty much anticipated a bounce though...how could you not?

Question though...I'm trying to explain bouncing. I know when the number gets lower than what the body thinks is normal, it pumps in the sugar to avoid it dropping too low. Is it a one time push? How does the body know to stop pushing the extra sugar since the insulin is basically working against it to lower that number? Does that make sense?
 
Well, I certainly won't complain about tonight's number! It looks like Cobb is working quickly to clear this morning's nasty bounce!! Does it look that way to you or am I just overly optimistic? ;-)

Since we got nice yellow numbers last night, I'm hoping to see some blues soon!!

Let me ask...in addition to my question in my last post...

I know ECID...but would you think that since we saw those yellows last night and then the progressive slide today that we're, at least, nearing the optimal dose? The last bounce Cobb had was about 2 weeks ago and we didn't see the nice slide we did today. Would you expect to see some lower numbers on this dose? Just curious what everyone is expecting here (although I'd wager that most of you don't out much stock into your expectations with these extra sweet kitties!).
 
oh YELLOW Cobb! awesome! i'm so glad to see last night's numbers. I did read your responses about the testing last night. you don't need to do anything right now - no worries. just wanted to make sure you knew about it.

New Dose Wonkiness Second post explains bouncing.

regarding your question about last night's yellows - he's bouncing from it today. however, since you've already increased the dose, i'd stay with the 6.5u and unless you see more yellow tomorrow, march on. it's so hard to predict what a cat might do on any given dose. what is helpful is to see how he reacted last time a similar situation happened, and apply that to the next time you see it. The last time he saw the yellow we held, and he bounced and just stayed high. that would make me want to stay on the 4 doses and increase plan. i'm not all-knowing though and my crystal ball on this is fuzzy. :-D

i think i'll recruit some other opinions so we can get the best possible advice for you.
 
Is it a one time push?
Good question, and if I'd have to hazard a guess (which I am), I'd say yes. The way I understand it, as a survival mechanism, the liver releases hormones and glycogen(sugar) when our wild kitties were in the wild and they were in danger of hypoglycemia. Of course our sugarcats liver doesn't realize this, and reacts the same basic way, only in response to numbers it's forgotten are "normal"...I'd think that it's a release that continues until the numbers start to rise high enough that the liver goes "Whew..close one!" and then it slows..but by this point, it's released so much, that it WAY overshoots what's never needed in the first place...so the bounce. I'd guess that it's very much an ECID case though as to how much each cat's liver "panics"...some bounce WAY high (the ones we call "bouncy cats") while others don't go quite so crazy, and again, it's just going to depend on each cat's ability to bring the numbers back down. Some clear them quicker sooner than others, but we always CONSIDER the possibility that there's a bounce going for at least 72 hours until we start to see that they are clearing them faster on a regular basis.

since we saw those yellows last night and then the progressive slide today that we're, at least, nearing the optimal dose?
Maybe
Would you expect to see some lower numbers on this dose?
Possibly
Just curious what everyone is expecting here
You'd have to ask Cobb and I'm betting he's keeping his little fuzzy lips sealed :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top