Delia
Member Since 2014
From OLDFDMB:
12/23 Cleo AMPS 121 +23=449 PMPS 473
Post a reply
4 posts • Page 1 of 1
12/23 Cleo AMPS 121 +23=449 PMPS 473
by Delia » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:23 am
Yesterday
As you told me yesterday, today BG is much lower, but unfortunatly I have to skip injection, because I can't monitoring her in the morning.![]()
This will cause high values again?
Last edited by Delia on Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Delia and Cleo
dx: Sept 23rd, 2014
Pancreatitis, icterus and cholangitis, Oct 10th, 2014
Lantus Oct 15th, 2014
Purina DM and Almo Nature chicken
Test with Glucocard MX (Arkray)
Cleo's spreadsheet
Cleo's profile
Delia
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:41 am
Location: Italy
Top
Re: 12/23 Cleo AMPS 121
by Sandy and Black Kitty » Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:42 am
Hi there![]()
Delia wrote:As you told me yesterday, today BG is much lower, but unfortunatly I have to skip injection, because I can't monitoring her in the morning.![]()
This will cause high values again?Don't be sad - safety comes first. The value may go high for a short time but she will come back down again.
You are doing a very good job with Cleo.
Please read about shooting and handling low numbers. There you will find all the information you need to learn and know to be prepared to shoot lower numbers.
When you see a PS number lower than ever before that you are uncomfortable shooting for any reason you have a couple options.
You can stall, don't feed and test BG every 15 minutes to see if values are on the way up and if they are then shoot. Stalling does require that your schedule can accommodate shooting 12 hours later from the stalled shot time so it may not be practical on a work day.
Or you can skip, as you did today.
What Cleos values do following todays skipped shot will be valuable data and help you in the future.
The opportunity to shoot lower numbers will come again...and again.
Right now it's important that you find a dose that you can shoot every 12 hours without skipping.
You may be getting close.![]()
-
Sandy and Black Kitty
FIV+, DKAx2, IAA 84%
Former HIGH dose - required a treatment approach very different from the standard Lantus protocol!
DX Jan 2008, OTJ 10/23/2009 after 21 months
Black Kittys SS
Black Kitty OTJ Party
Sandy and Black Kitty
Posts: 3731
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:21 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Member since: January 29th, 2008
Top
Re: 12/23 Cleo AMPS 121 +23=449
by Delia » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:58 pm
Thank you Sandy, as we expected the bg's value at +23 is quite high (449). Maybe tomorrow morning amps will be blue again and I will try to shoot, because I'm on holiday.
I have read many, many times the sticky "SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS", but I never feel prepared enough for an episode of hypoglycemia. I don't have karo syrup, because here in Italy I don't know where to find it, but I always have fruit jam at home. Do you think it is ok or I have to buy honey, or something else?
I have already shot with blue preshot values, but when the blood sugar has dropped to around 83, I got scared and I gave Cleo some kibbles. Maybe I should wait...
Delia and Cleo
dx: Sept 23rd, 2014
Pancreatitis, icterus and cholangitis, Oct 10th, 2014
Lantus Oct 15th, 2014
Purina DM and Almo Nature chicken
Test with Glucocard MX (Arkray)
Cleo's spreadsheet
Cleo's profile
Delia
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:41 am
Location: Italy
Top
Re: 12/23 Cleo AMPS 121 +23=449 PMPS 473
by julie & punkin (ga) » Wed Dec 24, 2014 1:18 am
Hi Delia,
I'd use honey to bring up low numbers. Maple syrup or pancake syrup would also work well. The idea is you have a sugar syrup because it is so readily absorbed and gets into the bloodstream very quickly. Jam would probably work but cats don't typically eat fruit and i'd be concerned about whether or not she'd eat it.
Maybe it would help you to read about how some others have handled shooting normal numbers. I wrote something recently for someone else about it. Take a peekhere and at some point, take the time to look at the spreadsheets that I've linked that show what happens when you shoot the cat's regular dose into normal numbers.
When you can't be home, it's good to err on the side of caution and reduce or skip the dose until you have enough experience (data) from shooting lower numbers when you are home so that you are confident what Cleo will do in the rest of the cycle.
Punkin's SS
Punkin's Profile & pictures
Punkin & Anya video, Punkin Acupuncture
DX 12/4/10 Lantus, 1/2012 R, 14 lbs, 12.5 yrs old DLH orange male, ACROMEGALY dx 6/2/11
Punkin's SRT Treatment Sept 2011 GA may 20, 2013 age 15
julie & punkin (ga)
Posts: 19752
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: oregon
Member since: February 20th, 2011