12/23 Chanel AMPS 306 PMPS 69 +3 102 AT2 Pet Meter

You might want to re-read the SLGS sticky, it gives a good run down of what to do if you see a preshot number that is lower than usual, for the future. Keep in mind they are just general guidelines, SLGS can be modified when a caregiver gets a better understanding of how their kitty responds to insulin and when you gather enough data :) as it says in the sticky, let your own personal experience with your cat be your guide.
My understanding was that below 150, no insulin. However, I am still testing because I need to make sure it is not a false alarm and she is bouncing in reverse. I will be testing late in the night so I can have enough data for the morning. At worst, I can go back to 1.25U and test tomorrow every two hours.
 
Blaze too...see @Sarah and Blaze - another one that may not get his PM shot - he has a history of going low and then lower, lower, lower...likes to give him mama a run for her money late at night... I think she too is going to pass this evening...

Ya'll can commiserate ...as I'm going to be heading off to bed shortly. Glad to see @Christie & Maverick are here to help ya'll through the rest of the evening...
Your Luci seems to be a nice girl, yellows in AMPS and PMPS, greens in the middle. She loves her mama, it is her way to say: look, I am lemony, you go sleep...it is OK :)
 
At worst, I can go back to 1.25U

As per Christie's comment - on SLGS you've already gotten a number below 90 - that's your reduction number on SLGS - so you must reduce to 1.25 - it's not an option now.... it's a requirement. So reset your calipers tonight so you don't forget tomorrow morning.
 
As per Christie's comment - on SLGS you've already gotten a number below 90 - that's your reduction number on SLGS - so you must reduce to 1.25 - it's not an option now.... it's a requirement. So reset your calipers tonight so you don't forget tomorrow morning.
Yup, and I am sure Chanel will reset to pink:) She has a way of being unexpected. But it is OK, I can be unexpected too: I WILL TAKE THE DRY FOOD AWAY FOR EVER!!!:)
 
Your Luci seems to be a nice girl, yellows in AMPS and PMPS, greens in the middle. She loves her mama, it is her way to say: look, I am lemony, you go sleep...it is OK :)

Well...I don't think Luci is exactly being nice to her mama...she's just a too far gone diabetic kitty...she's most likely never going to go into remission - and needs her insulin twice a day - that's most likely her message - she wants to teach me everything there is to know about FD...and we're going to have a lifetime to learn about it - so I can help other kitties like Beautiful Chanel - who still have a chance to reach the Falls...keep working the program Laura...you guys have a good chance at it. Luci's chances aren't quite that good...but one never knows...there's always hope.
 
Well...I don't think Luci is exactly being nice to her mama...she's just a too far gone diabetic kitty...she's most likely never going to go into remission - and needs her insulin twice a day - that's most likely her message - she wants to teach me everything there is to know about FD...and we're going to have a lifetime to learn about it - so I can help other kitties like Beautiful Chanel - who still have a chance to reach the Falls...keep working the program Laura...you guys have a good chance at it. Luci's chances aren't quite that good...but one never knows...there's always hope.
We have to keep the hope alive and pray for it every day. When the vet told me she will have diabetes for the rest of her life, I did not know cats can go into remission. I thought she will die of it especially that after reading a vet article where it said that life expectancy after diabetes diagnosis is 13-29 months, I said to myself: this is it, let's make it the best day every day.
Then I found this website and realized that maybe, just maybe she can live longer than that. We do what it is the right thing to do, the rest is up to them. You will never know when your baby will just make up her mind and decide that she had enough of being a suga' baby :) Keep the faith in your baby, she has her own plans and she enjoys herself being catly. Besides, do not forget that she is experiencing some stress because of the cast. Even if she seems OK with it, the stress is there to give her some lemons. Let's see how she is after January 6 :bighug:
 
Blaze too...see @Sarah and Blaze - another one that may not get his PM shot - he has a history of going low and then lower, lower, lower...likes to give him mama a run for her money late at night... I think she too is going to pass this evening...

Ya'll can commiserate ...as I'm going to be heading off to bed shortly. Glad to see @Christie & Maverick are here to help ya'll through the rest of the evening...
Yes! I’m in the same boat tonight. I decided to skip. Blaze started out his Amps at 398 and then just kept dropping all day. He was at 66 thirty minutes before his PMPS and then PMPS was 72 so I skipped tonight. I don’t want him to continue to drop and get into dangerous numbers. If you do skip tonight, don’t worry, Chanel will get back on track!
 
Yes! I’m in the same boat tonight. I decided to skip. Blaze started out his Amps at 398 and then just kept dropping all day. He was at 66 thirty minutes before his PMPS and then PMPS was 72 so I just slipped tonight. I don’t want him to continue to drop and get into dangerous numbers. If you do skip tonight, don’t worry, Chanel will get back on track!
Thank you Sarah. I cannot say I want her back in her pinkies but I am a little upset with myself that I was at work today and who know what BG values she had. I thought the morning 306 would be a safe one, but I should have thought of all the blues she was singing to me yesterday on the curve day :)
Now, I just checked her +3 102. She is driving me WALNUTS!!!
 
Thank you Sarah. I cannot say I want her back in her pinkies but I am a little upset with myself that I was at work today and who know what BG values she had. I thought the morning 306 would be a safe one, but I should have thought of all the blues she was singing to me yesterday on the curve day :)
Now, I just checked her +3 102. She is driving me WALNUTS!!!
I know how that is. I work full time during the week and am gone all day so I miss a lot too. I have no idea what numbers Blaze is getting into when I’m gone. But don’t worry about it, we have to work and we do our best! That’s why test more when we’re home. We try to fill in the pieces that are missing in our kitties puzzle. But I know it sucks to see them in those higher numbers though. I will be waking up to a high number I’m sure, but I know it was a good idea to skip the shot tonight to keep
Blaze safe. We don’t want any hypo events. Like they say, any day too high is safer than a minute too low. I know our kitties will get back on track after their skipper shots. But I hear you about these kitties driving us nuts!:woot:
 
I know how that is. I work full time during the week and am gone all day so I miss a lot too. I have no idea what numbers Blaze is getting into when I’m gone. But don’t worry about it, we have to work and we do our best! That’s why test more when we’re home. We try to fill in the pieces that are missing in our kitties puzzle. But I know it sucks to see them in those higher numbers though. I will be waking up to a high number I’m sure, but I know it was a good idea to skip the shot tonight to keep
Blaze safe. We don’t want any hypo events. Like they say, any day too high is safer than a minute too low. I know our kitties will get back on track after their skipper shots. But I hear you about these kitties driving us nuts!:woot:
I am OK with her getting higher in the morning. Such is life! Maybe her dose is 1.25. Looking at the values, I think I should not be that worried. Most here aim for greens and that is the goal. Chanel is a blues kind of girl for now, I should be happy about it even if she decided to get a dose decrease after getting a dose increase. I suppose she is indecisive :)
 
I am OK with her getting higher in the morning. Such is life! Maybe her dose is 1.25. Looking at the values, I think I should not be that worried. Most here aim for greens and that is the goal. Chanel is a blues kind of girl for now, I should be happy about it even if she decided to get a dose decrease after getting a dose increase. I suppose she is indecisive :)
Most of these dang kitties are indecisive. Seems like we go up in dosage, then down, then maybe back up. We do what the kitties want!:cat:
 
She is looking for the dry food and I had to give her some wet food to make her forget...for a while. She will not let me have an easy night, I am sure of it LOL, BG or food...or both :)
I got so lucky. My cats though wet food was such a treat so when Blaze is as diagnosed with diabetes, it was such an easy transition to wet food for all three of my cats. They have totally forgotten about dry food and beg for wet food.
Since you skipped her shot, you’re okay to go to bed whenever! She’s in great, but very safe numbers and she doesn’t have insulin on board to bring her BG down. She’s looking great! Blaze, on the other hand is at 266 at +3 after the skipped shot tonight. I’m heading to bed. Back on track tomorrow for Blaze and Chanel!
 
Back
Top