Lindyloo
Member Since 2010
Good morning.
So Boo had her first shot last night. Her PMPS was 383 and I started her on 1 unit bid.
We are not on a routine feeding schedule yet so her AMPS might be a little off. Boo is a dry food (I know) grazer and I will try my hardest to get her to eat wet food 4 times a day.
The good news is that since the diabetes is making her hungrier than usual she ate the grain free wet food I fed her during the night
. I immediately noticed the drop in her glucose. This morning she was crying for her dry food but I am going to try not to give it to her unless she wont eat anything else.
Shot a tiny bit less than 1 unit this morning.
Have a great day everyone!
Yesterday:
Hello!
I am back after a year away. Must say it is bittersweet.
I originally joined because my cat Fluffy was diabetic. He went to the bridge 1/26/11. At least I know how to test, etc.
Today I found out that my Boo is diabetic :-/. She has mild CRF and her water consumption has increased this past week. I took her to the vet tonight expecting to find that her kidneys had gotten worse but was shocked to learn she is now diabetic. :-(. The vet prescribed 2 units of Lantus once a day but I know better than that. Initially I was going to start her off with .5 units bid but ended up shooting 1 unit as her initial dose and intend to stay there for 5-7 days. What do you guys think?
A little about Boo....she is almost 16 and WILL NOT eat wet food. Sigh. She is on a grain-free dry food (update: its not grain free) and I will continue to try to convince her to eat canned.
No ketones. Vet sent her urine to be cultured. Her bloodwork showed her bilirubin to be a little bit above normal.
If there is a spreadsheet attached to this, please disregard. It was Fluffy's. I will make one for Boo tomorrow.
Thanks for listening guys.
So Boo had her first shot last night. Her PMPS was 383 and I started her on 1 unit bid.
We are not on a routine feeding schedule yet so her AMPS might be a little off. Boo is a dry food (I know) grazer and I will try my hardest to get her to eat wet food 4 times a day.
The good news is that since the diabetes is making her hungrier than usual she ate the grain free wet food I fed her during the night
Shot a tiny bit less than 1 unit this morning.
Have a great day everyone!
Yesterday:
Hello!
I am back after a year away. Must say it is bittersweet.
I originally joined because my cat Fluffy was diabetic. He went to the bridge 1/26/11. At least I know how to test, etc.
Today I found out that my Boo is diabetic :-/. She has mild CRF and her water consumption has increased this past week. I took her to the vet tonight expecting to find that her kidneys had gotten worse but was shocked to learn she is now diabetic. :-(. The vet prescribed 2 units of Lantus once a day but I know better than that. Initially I was going to start her off with .5 units bid but ended up shooting 1 unit as her initial dose and intend to stay there for 5-7 days. What do you guys think?
A little about Boo....she is almost 16 and WILL NOT eat wet food. Sigh. She is on a grain-free dry food (update: its not grain free) and I will continue to try to convince her to eat canned.
No ketones. Vet sent her urine to be cultured. Her bloodwork showed her bilirubin to be a little bit above normal.
If there is a spreadsheet attached to this, please disregard. It was Fluffy's. I will make one for Boo tomorrow.
Thanks for listening guys.