12/23 Boo PMPS 84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lindyloo

Member Since 2010
Good morning.

So Boo had her first shot last night. Her PMPS was 383 and I started her on 1 unit bid.

We are not on a routine feeding schedule yet so her AMPS might be a little off. Boo is a dry food (I know) grazer and I will try my hardest to get her to eat wet food 4 times a day.

The good news is that since the diabetes is making her hungrier than usual she ate the grain free wet food I fed her during the night :-). I immediately noticed the drop in her glucose. This morning she was crying for her dry food but I am going to try not to give it to her unless she wont eat anything else.

Shot a tiny bit less than 1 unit this morning.

Have a great day everyone!


Yesterday:

Hello!

I am back after a year away. Must say it is bittersweet.

I originally joined because my cat Fluffy was diabetic. He went to the bridge 1/26/11. At least I know how to test, etc.

Today I found out that my Boo is diabetic :-/. She has mild CRF and her water consumption has increased this past week. I took her to the vet tonight expecting to find that her kidneys had gotten worse but was shocked to learn she is now diabetic. :-(. The vet prescribed 2 units of Lantus once a day but I know better than that. Initially I was going to start her off with .5 units bid but ended up shooting 1 unit as her initial dose and intend to stay there for 5-7 days. What do you guys think?

A little about Boo....she is almost 16 and WILL NOT eat wet food. Sigh. She is on a grain-free dry food (update: its not grain free) and I will continue to try to convince her to eat canned.

No ketones. Vet sent her urine to be cultured. Her bloodwork showed her bilirubin to be a little bit above normal.

If there is a spreadsheet attached to this, please disregard. It was Fluffy's. I will make one for Boo tomorrow.

Thanks for listening guys.
 
Re: 12/23 Boo AMPS 215

Hi Linda,

I remember you from your days here with Fluffy, sorry that Boo had to bring you back, at least I'm back by my own choice, after Maxwell went OTJ November 1st 2010, I went and adopted another diabetic from DCIN June of this year...Oh did Maxwell have me spoiled...lol. Musette has been a tough little nut to crack, she is really driving home the ECID as she is nothing like Maxwell.

But at least you are ahead of the game, you know how to test, you know how Lantus works, and sounds like you are starting Boo on a good starting dose...so sounds like your biggest hurdle is going to be to convince Mz. Boo that dry is bad, wet is good. I can feel your pain there couple of my civies I swore would never come off the crack. I finally just get the last to switch over a couple of months ago, but he certainly gave me several more grey hairs before deciding that the menu now consists of only yummy wet food.

Don't know if you have tried this with her or not but the way I finally got Mr. Stubborn to make the switch was I started putting chunks of shredded cooked chicken, turkey, and tuna (depending on the flavor of canned) in his food and stirring it in so he had to taste the canned food in order to find the "treats" hidden in it, once he actually tried it he decided he liked it and I was able to slowly remove the meaty bites and give them just as treats.

Welcome back to the family.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/23 Boo AMPS 215

Wow that is admirable of you to adopt a diabetic kitty. It is definitely expensive.

Thanks for the tips about adding chicken or turkey to the wet food. I hadnt thought of that. Tuna is off limits for her because of her kidneys and the phosphorus content. I also read to add a touch of cat nip. Worth a try.

I cant believe I have another kitty with diabetes. And with renal failure too! Oy vey. She seems to be feeling just fine though. Maybe a little more tired and thirstier.

Happy friday :-)
 
Re: 12/23 Boo AMPS 215

Yeah I just couldn't resist this little girl, she is a blue-cream himalayan and declawed in the front and her original name was Angel...Venita called me on my first diabetic's first year anniversary at the Bridge, in fact she called me at almost the same moment we laid Muse to rest. Muse was also a Himalayan that was front declawed. It was just too much like Muse sending me an "Angel" so I had to say yes to her. The only problem was we already have an Angel so this little girl became Musette in honor of Muse...although Musette purrfurs to be called Cupcake...lol.

She may be small (7lbs) and only a pastel version but she has tortietude in spades, she routinely puts big old Maxwell in his place...she doesn't have claws but she has a mean right cross :roll:

Yeah they are expensive, but when you are feeding 12 canned catfood what is another can to the daily total, but I think we might be single-handly keeping our local feed store in business at least on their Friskies supplies..lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
YAYAYAY!!! She has been a good girl and has been eating the wet grain-free food all day. Wish she would have done this years ago. No shot tonight :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top