12/23 Blaze amps 398 +3.5 200 +8 99 +9.5 70 +11.5 66 PMPS 72 +3 266

That's a pretty nice drop from AMPS Blaze! Hope he can slide down just a bit more and make it to the beach - maybe he's following Luci - she went right on out to the lagoon - sometimes I worry about her - no brakes once she starts to plummet...I have to give her a little MC on her LC offering to slow things down...otherwise I swear she's looking for the shark to chase! Silly cats...

Have a great day Sarah!
 
I had to leave the house after that +3.5 to do my last minute Christmas shopping! :facepalm: Hoping to come home to some blues! Should be home in about an hour so we will see!
 
That's a pretty nice drop from AMPS Blaze! Hope he can slide down just a bit more and make it to the beach - maybe he's following Luci - she went right on out to the lagoon - sometimes I worry about her - no brakes once she starts to plummet...I have to give her a little MC on her LC offering to slow things down...otherwise I swear she's looking for the shark to chase! Silly cats...

Have a great day Sarah!
Hopefully he follows in Luci’s footsteps! But not too quickly! These kitties sure do like to dive, don’t they?:woot:

Have a great day Sue!
 
If he’s lower at PMPS, I’m wondering if I should skip the shot or shoot the 1.75U? He seems to be dropping all day so far.
 
Keep testing...see if you can steer him up a little with food. What is typically his duration (how long does his insulin usually seem to be effective)?
 
Keep testing...see if you can steer him up a little with food. What is typically his duration (how long does his insulin usually seem to be effective)?
I thought we weren’t supposed to feed two hours before shot? I gave him some 13% at +9.5 and had to leave the house, heading home now but his PMPS is only an hour away.
As for duration, I have no idea. I havent been able to really see any kind of duration pattern because he always seems all over the place with his numbers :(
 
I thought we weren’t supposed to feed two hours before shot? I gave him some 13% at +9.5 and had to leave the house, heading home now but his PMPS is only an hour away.
As for duration, I have no idea. I havent been able to really see any kind of duration pattern because he always seems all over the place with his numbers :(
You are correct! I didn't realize you were already within that window of time...apologies.

Can you test as soon as you get home? It will be good to know if his numbers are on the rise or on the way down...a pre - preshot test will help you know which direction he's headed...or hopefully it will help!
 
You are correct! I didn't realize you were already within that window of time...apologies.

Can you test as soon as you get home? It will be good to know if his numbers are on the rise or on the way down...a pre - preshot test will help you know which direction he's headed...or hopefully it will help!
No apologies needed! I could have left him a little more 13% in the auto feeder for +10, but didn’t want to push it since he was so close to that two hours before PMPS.
And yes! I should be home in a few minutes and will grab a pre-pre shot test to see which way he gone and will post here shortly. Thank you Sue!
 
Okay it’s about thirty minutes until PMPS and he’s at 66. I’m not sure I want to shoot tonight, if he hasn’t come up in 30 minutes. The lowest I’ve shot is 78, but it seems like he’s been dropping a lot since Amps this morning. I’m a little afraid to shoot if he’s lower at PMPS :nailbiting:
 
I would be reluctant as well...I remember what he put you through not too long ago...and it looks like he's going down! I wouldn't shoot at a lower PMPS either...

No food...test again at PMPS...if he's still going down...I'd skip too...could be the depot is full?
 
I would be reluctant as well...I remember what he put you through not too long ago...and it looks like he's going down! I wouldn't shoot at a lower PMPS either...

No food...test again at PMPS...if he's still going down...I'd skip too...could be the depot is full?
Yes, I have shot before in situations like this and it just ended up with him dropping dropping dropping and me feeding to keep him up. I can stay up tonight but I don’t want to shoot a number that’s lower at PMPS and he gets into dangerous numbers. He’s a little close to the no shoot # of 50 right now anyways so I might be skipping tonight. We’ll see where he’s at in 25 minutes with PMPS.
This would be the 4th cycle at 1.75U if I shoot tonight, maybe Depot is full?
 
PMPS is 72. I’m not sure if I should skip the shot and drain the depot tonight? Blaze’s numbers have been on a downward trend and I’m a little afraid that giving the 1.75U tonight will bring him way down. I’m leaning towards skipping tonight and getting back on track tomorrow morning with the 1.75U.
 
PMPS is 72. I’m not sure if I should skip the shot and drain the depot tonight? Blaze’s numbers have been on a downward trend and I’m a little afraid that giving the 1.75U tonight will bring him way down. I’m leaning towards skipping tonight and getting back on track tomorrow morning with the 1.75U.

Memory serves me that unless you want to be working on pulling him up from the depths for the night, I'd skip too. Someone else may come along later or in the morning - and with hindsight being 20/20 - have a better picture of what could have been - but as of this time, with what we think might happen, I'm agreeing with you. Skip the shot tonight...

I for one just would not want to deal with a hypo on the night before Christmas eve...unless you know for certain that you've got the wherewithall to stay up late, monitor and if he gets into trouble, that the ER is open.
 
Memory serves me that unless you want to be working on pulling him up from the depths for the night, I'd skip too. Someone else may come along later or in the morning - and with hindsight being 20/20 - have a better picture of what could have been - but as of this time, with what we think might happen, I'm agreeing with you. Skip the shot tonight...

I for one just would not want to deal with a hypo on the night before Christmas eve...unless you know for certain that you've got the wherewithall to stay up late, monitor and if he gets into trouble, that the ER is open.
I’m with you on this. I know these are good numbers and we shoot low to stay low, BUT with Blaze’s downward trend today, I’m afraid if I did shoot, I would be working very hard all night to keep him in safe numbers and I do not want a hypo event ever, but definitely not on the night before Christmas Eve, especially because I’m not sure if the ER vet will be open. We only have one in my area. I’m going to take the safe route and skip
the shot tonight. We will get back on track in the morning.
I appreciate your help and input so much Sue! I know it’s getting late for you and you’re probably heading off to bed soon. Thank you so much and have a good nights sleep!:)
 
You and Sue have this handled !!! Blaze, you little turkey :woot: He reminds me too much of Elmo !!! Hang in there , Sarah :bighug:
Thank you Beth! I’m being cautious and skipping the shot tonight. I can stay up to monitor, but with Blaze’s numbers continuously dropping today, I’m afraid he will do the same tonight and he doesn’t have much room to keep dropping and not get into trouble so we’re skipping the shot!:facepalm:
 
Back
Top