12/23 Blackie pmps 246 +4 297 He ate!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
I hope everyone will stay safe and warm over these Holidays. We are not traveling and my stacation starts tomorrow. :-D

Blackie's appetite seemed a little off this morning, so I gave him a 1/4 pepcid and he ate a little more before I left. I don't know if the pink is a delayed bounce or what, but I hope he'll come down slowly today.

WCR: Other than his appetite, Blackie seems fine. He was purring a lot this morning, he got more lap time last night and all P's are in place.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32701
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330

hope Blackie comes down from the bounce safely but soon and his appetite returns to normal.

Enjoy your stacation!
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330

Crossing fingers for normal appetite and slow drop too!
Hope you and yours have a good safe holiday as well!
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330

Good mornin' Ele...I hope Blackie comes down off the pink floor soon and eats soon. Yay for you....one more day and staycation...aren't we all lucky!! I'm glad to be staying home...not a big fan of the airport on holidays...neither is Mike but he has no choice :lol: :lol: Have a lovely last day at TBP before staycation day!!
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330

Ah Blackie - the pink floor?? Well you have company - Mannie decided to come and join you. maybe the two of you can find the lower floors together...

Happy Holidays - and congrats on securing a staycation - sounds so nice!
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330

Come on back down Blackie, mom will be home and you two can settle into some good numbers. Have a restful stacation, Ele.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330

hope Blackie feels better soon and that he starts eating better!

Blackie...come down and play with me! we can hang out!
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330 +5 242 +6 213

I asked my DMIL to go over to the house and make sure Blackie ate at +4. He refused all food! She left me a voicemail cuz I was in a meeting. Naturally, I panicked and ran home at +5. He still wouldn't eat the food in his autofeeder, so I opened a can of Wellness Turkey & Salmon with no supplements in it and he ate it. :-D Then I mixed some up with his phos binder and he ate that too. :-D I don't know if it was the supplements this morning that he didn't like or what, but at least he's eating. I was really worried and I'm still a little worried, but I feel better. DH said he was eating at +6 too, so I think we'll be okay. He didn't get anything different this morning, so I really don't know what was up. But I'll be careful what I feed him tonight.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 +2 330 +5 242 +6 213

hi, ele!

hooray for time off...and hooray for not traveling!

blackie...come down with a nice, slow parachute, guy!

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

I got home early and tested Blackie at +11 and he was at 210. I gave him a fd chicken treat and he didn't want it. He jumped down and vomited the food he had eaten earlier. And it looked like he vomited earlier - there was a big wet spot on the carpet which usually means that the droolers cleaned up somebody's vomit. I don't know if I should shoot his normal dose. I have all kinds of food here and baby food. I'm going to give him another pepcid too. Naturally my vet is closed until Monday. Any other ideas that will help? Should I give him more fluids? He got his usual 100ml this morning.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

I wouldn't give him more fluids unless you are sure he needs them. Too much fluids can cause other issues.

How long after he had eaten did he vomit the food up?

Not sure about the shot, sorry. Bump.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

last time Mannie was vomiting and wouldn't eat I shot a half dose... not too sure if you want to do that or not...

at any rate: bump!
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

Give the Pepsid and wait 30 min. See if Blackie will eat a treat. If he turns up his nose at something he likes, you'll know that he's feeling pretty lousy. Do you have any baby food? It's probably easier for him to digest than regular cat food. It's what my vet has suggested I feed Gabby when her tummy is off.

Let's see what happens post-Pepsid.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

I gave the pepcid at +11.75 and tried to get him to eat Chicken baby food at +12. He wouldn't eat it, but I did syringe almost 1 Tb. I'll wait until +12.25 and try again.

(eta) I forgot to answer Karrie's question. He ate at about +6.25 and that's what he vomited at +11.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

He vomited five hours after eating. Is he pooping okay? Any history of stomach motility issues? His stomach should have been empty of food by the five hour mark.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

Its been about 40 minutes since I gave the pepcid, and he still won't eat. He sniffed the FD chicken (I opened a fresh jar of Halo), but he wouldn't eat it. I can syringe feed, but he won't get nearly as much as when he eats on his own. Should I shoot a half dose?

I think I can find a vet that's open in the morning. If not, I'll do the ER.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

I don't know that I'm comfortable with 2.0u. I'd opt for a token dose -- maybe 1.0u. I've had to deal with a cat that wouldn't eat on her full dose of Lantus and it was an ordeal. I'm concerned that even if you syringe feed, Blackie may vomit the food back up.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

Thank you, Sienne! I've dealt with him not eating on a full dose before in June and it wasn't fun. I'll give the 1 unit. I really hope he's better soon.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

c'mon, blackie! feel better, buddy!

sorry he's not feeling well, ele...it's so stressful when they're sick.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336...+6 213 +7 196 +11 210 He's Sick

I decided to give him 1.5 units. I syringed 1 tsp food amid growls and protests. I don't know if more fluids will help. I think I'll wait and see how Blackie is in the morning.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

Blackie, sweetie, we are thinking good thoughts for you. Your Ma is really worried so get better soon! Love Lanky & Susan
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

Blackie, I hope you feel lots better in the morning.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

Feel Better Blackie - so sorry you are sick.

Blackie - you OK? You want the KTSS to bring you some chicken soup? It helps sick kitties feel better... We can come right away, we don't mind... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

if i were you i'd wait until tomorrow to give a lil more fluids than what you normally give...this way it prevents him from getting dehydrated from the vomiting tonight....if you are syringe feeding you are obviously giving more liquid so this also counts as liquid....the pepcid does take time to kick in....

now i wonder....did he throw it up as well? had you given the pepcid when he threw up?

do you give pepcid on a regular basis?
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

I'm sorry to see Blackie isn't feeling well. I wonder if you hydrated a piece of the chicken if it would enhance the scent and make it more appealing (or I guess it could have the opposite effect if he's nauseous). I sure hope this passes quickly. Hugs to you and scritches to Blackie.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

Oh Ele....sending healing vines to Blackie. He's been doing so well and feeling good. I hope he will be back to his normal self in no time. Pls keep us posted.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

come on, Blackie, eat something... Is there any people food he can be tempted with? Hopefully the Pepcid will help settle his tummy, otherwise I would find a vet in the morning.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

I am wishing that he gets right back to normal for you tomorrow.

I am a bit curious why he vomited so long after eating. When Maverick had FHL he also had stomach motility issues after his PEG tube was placed. A sign of motility issues is vomiting undigested food many hours after eating it. Since Maverick had his PEG tube, (and he was put on medication to improve stomach motility) we could aspirate the PEG tube to see if his stomach was emptying. His stomach was always empty when we checked two hours after feeding. So it emptied earlier than 2 hours after feeding. So if he continues to vomit, I would mention how long after he eats food, that he is vomiting up food. Constipation can cause this too but you noted all five Ps in place. Maybe its just a one off, odd thing.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

i'm sorry blackie isn't feeling well. warmed food sprinkled with parmesan cheese or kibble dust sometimes works with alex. i've also learned to stay away from the foods she previously vomited when i'm trying to get her to eat.

hope he can keep his food down tonight.
feel better, blackie...
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

I've tried several different foods and he just ignores them, but he doesn't turn away either. He seems to be comfortable, just sleeping on the couch in a down throw, but he's not eating or drinking and he usually is hungry at this time and drinks a lot. On the good side, he's kept the food down that I've given him. I hadn't thought of the parm cheese, so I'll try that next.

FYI - I don't regularly give pepcid, but I did this morning after he wasn't eating as well as usual and again tonight. He also had normal poo today.

I suspect more kidney issues, but I'll find out tomorrow. Thank you for the healing vines. Blackie's beans are really worried.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

Karrie and Maverick said:
I am a bit curious why he vomited so long after eating.
aluminium hydroxide (phos binder) may alter GI transit time.

i hope he feels better by morning, Ele.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie amps 336 pmps 246 He's Sick

thinking healing thoughts here for blackie...
so hoping that he feels better tonight, ele.
 
Re: 12/23 Blackie pmps 246 +3.5 297 He ate!

At +3.5, I offered Blackie some Wellness Turkey & Salmon (not his normal food) and he ate almost 1/3 of a 3 oz can. Then he drank some water and went to the LB. I am feeling a little relief. I really hope he's better, but I'll be keeping an eye on him tonight and I still plan on taking him to the vet in the morning. Thank you for the good thoughts and prayers.
 
I'm glad to hear Blackie ate. Now, let's hope the Pepsid did it's job and he's feeling even better in the AM. Maybe Jill's point about not offering foods that he was having a previously pukus reaction to helped to get him interested.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top