12/23 Ballonee AMPS 169

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpencerLindley

Member Since 2017
Was at a good number this morning for her, in my opinion. I mean it was a number I would have felt comfortable shooting at. She was acting happy and playful, but ate a minimal amount of food. I wasn't concerned she just didn't seem interested in eating at that particular time. Will monitor this of course. Called the vet about the insulin and he said to hold it for now because she didn't eat much and recheck in an hour or two to see her trend. If she is high he suggested giving the insulin. I guess today will just be a lot of monitoring again.

Edit: After more reading I'm kind of regretting not just giving the insulin. My vet told me if she doesn't eat don't give insulin. Is that not correct?
 
Last edited:
How long has it been since your usual shot time? If your schedule is flexible enough to handle a few later-than-usual shots for a few days, you can work your way back to the usual schedule in 15-min increments.

You don't want to skip shots after a DKA if you can possibly help it. Lantus has a late enough onset that as long as she's shown some willingness to eat, you're likely safe to shoot even if she doesn't yet have a full meal "on board"

Of course, that's in typical cases, and Ballonee has already shown that she's not quite typical, but it doesn't sound like she's sick or completely inappetent, so I would have counseled shooting in this situation.
 
Should have added, if it would really mess up your schedule to shoot at this point, it's not the end of the world to skip (especially since she is acting happy and playful this morning), but definitely make sure to get a ketones test or two in today!
 
Yeah I can do that. She's eating now and her blood gluc is 192 so I think I'm going to give her the insulin. Should I consider the 192 her AMPS. She was being lazy laying in bed with me so I just brought the food to the bed and she'll eat it there.. Apparently she requires breakfast in bed. I'm going to give her the insulin now.
 
Last edited:
Hmmm, yeah, that's hard to recover from, schedule-wise.

Since she hit 68 again last night (even with the extra gravy), she could probably use some more depot-draining if you don't have enough flexibility to accommodate that much of a shift.
 
She's acting really great for me right now. I agree, I think I'm just going to keep watching her. Thank you for your help
 
I get very nervous about skipped shots in a post-DKA kitty, but she's doing really well right now so I think she'd be good either way today. :cat: Just make sure to get those ketones tests in!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top