12/23/20 AMPS 278 +6=109 +7=72 PMPS 112 +3=27 !!

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-20-20-squeaky-9-311-amps-274-6-227-pmps-259-6-359.240287/ This was the last one; I missed two days 2/21/20. and 12/22/20

What does the cat say after making a joke? "Just kitten."

Hi everybody, we arrived safely and it was a real adventure. Squeaky figured out how to get out of the play pen and he was pretty restless in it anyway so I ended up confining him to the carrier. He couldn't tolerate even having the sheet expose me for him to see (because he also saw the highway), so he had to stay covered with no view. He also meowed and rattled the door most of the time; halfway through I gave up on him adapting and gave him some buprenorphine and some gabapentin. He's learned to spit the gabapentin out so I'm not sure how much he got. At the same time he also was hungry and ate a bunch of chicken (he's not supposed to eat chicken but hey, emergencies). I think belly full was actually what put him to sleep. He was mostly (mostly) quiet after that for the rest of the trip.

What a learning experience. On the way back I'll sedate him before we leave. I found it very challenging to hear the cage ratttling and meowing -- I'm a lover of quiet and usually these trips I take alone really restore me. No distractions. I didn't do well with the sounds he made.

Since I didn't post the last several days I'll put his numbers here:

M 12/20 AMPS 338, 4 units +6=336 PMPS 292 4 units +6=213
T 12/20 (day of trip) AMPS 127 Skip PMPS 463 4 units +6=382

He found a great place under a chair to hide in the hotel room. Very safe, dark, and quiet.

Thanks everybody for all the tips and advice, and sharing your experiences. Reading the variety of experiences gave me an idea about all the possibilities I might expect so I was psychologically prepared. He didn't vomit, eat much, pee or poop all day although we stopped and I gave him opportunities. He settled down every time we took a rest stop and stopped the vibration and the noise. (Then he would be quiet and settled for about 20 minutes, then get agitated again and meow and rattle his cage). The playpen sure didn't work out and he does seem to like being confined. After I put him in his small crate.... (he didn't go in by himself), but after I put him in, whenever we stopped he'd come out for a short while and then soon retreat back in.

I hope everyone is doing well, surfing the beach and having a wonderful holiday season. Anyone's cat climbing their holiday tree?
 
Last edited:
Glad you made it and hope you have a good visit :bighug: FWIW, Jax did better on our leg home than our leg to our destination (we had a 5 hour drive each way). I also had to cover his whole crate with blankets. Him seeing me made it worse - I think he was meowing at me to get him out :p
 
Hi Jan was reading your post, I hope your mom feels better and you have a wonderful visit with her. Glad you and Squeaky made it safely.
Wishing you and your mom all the best, and Squeaky too.
Sending prayers ♥:bighug::bighug:
 
Jan! Have been wondering how you've been doing. How's your mom? Glad things went well with transporting Squeaky and that he's found a safe and quiet place to chill out in the hotel. :bighug:
 
Glad to hear that you made it safely :bighug:
happy to hear you made a safe trip.
hope you and your mom get some good time together :bighug:
Glad you made it and hope you have a good visit :bighug: FWIW, Jax did better on our leg home than our leg to our destination (we had a 5 hour drive each way). I also had to cover his whole crate with blankets. Him seeing me made it worse - I think he was meowing at me to get him out :p
Hi Jan was reading your post, I hope your mom feels better and you have a wonderful visit with her. Glad you and Squeaky made it safely.
Wishing you and your mom all the best, and Squeaky too.
Sending prayers ♥:bighug::bighug:
I'm glad you made it safely. I hope Squeaky will be calmer on the way back. I hope your mom is doing better. Sending prayers.
Jan! Have been wondering how you've been doing. How's your mom? Glad things went well with transporting Squeaky and that he's found a safe and quiet place to chill out in the hotel. :bighug:
Sounds like a trip I hope isn’t repeated on your return trip. I hope you have a nice visit with your mom. :bighug:
Glad you made it safely. How the heck did he break out of playpen?

Thanks for all your well wishes, I'll respond to some comments soon. However, HELP. Squeaky just went green and I want to go see my mom. What to do? If I *try* to feed him high carb food, the increase won't last long, right? I said "Try" because he's super finicky and not eating much at the moment. Sigh. My mom thinks I'm crazy.
 
So the playpen has a zippered top, but the bottom just has a round panel attached with velcro. I turned it upside down for the trip thinking it'd be too easy for him to get through the velcro if it was on the floor. However, he loosened up the velcro and climbed out the top (which was supposed to be the bottom). :p

Yes I too hope the return voyage will be easier and will sedate him and just put him in the crate.

Mom is doing better than she sounded on the phone, which is good. However she's still weak.

Now this guy is green. What to do? Sigh, I'm missing having dinner with my mom and she's irritated with me.
 
Last edited:
Did you test him again to see if he's going up? If he is then I'd leave him some food and you can enjoy your dinner with your mom. If not you might have to stick around for another 30 minutes to monitor.
 
Hi Jan - I'm not sure of advice to give. I feel for you in a tough spot - a green number and you need to leave - how long till you leave? Have you fed squeaky anything since the 73?
 
Did you test him again to see if he's going up? If he is then I'd leave him some food and you can enjoy your dinner with your mom. If not you might have to stick around for another 30 minutes to monitor.
Hi Jan - I'm not sure of advice to give. I feel for you in a tough spot - a green number and you need to leave - how long till you leave? Have you fed squeaky anything since the 73?
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko Squeaky gave Jan a 73 and she needs to leave. Do you all have any advice?

Jan - will squeaky eat if you leave out food? Did you bring any honey with you?

Squeaky has only been eating if I hand feed him, lately.

Okay, I just gave him half a small can of instinct rabbit and he ate it. I can't read the label so I don't know how many carbs are in it. However I think that is going to have to be good enough for about 3 hours. Yes there are food and treats out but he hasn't been going over to his dish at all, only eating when I hand feed him.

No I didn't test him again if I test too much he gets neurotic. I think I will trust that the beef he ate at +6 and +7 and now the instinct food will be enough to hold him until he rises......

Yes I have honey.

With the need to limit tests, normally I would just stay and keep feeding and test in 3 hours.
 
Nature's Variety Instinct Rabbit is 3% carbs on Dr. Lisa's chart. You could also give him a drop or two of honey before you leave if you have it. maybe put a drop on a treat? Just to nudge him up a little.
I just saw the tag. I was out.
How’s your mom?

Yikes only 3% carbs. I will have to study that chart sometime. Well, he ate quite a bit so I can only hope it kept his BG steady. Now at PMPS he's 112 so he must have stayed greenish-blue all afternoon! YAY! Not so much sleep for me tonight!!! I didn't get your message about the drop of honey on a treat until later.... good idea I will remember for next time.

Elise, thanks for asking about mom! She sounded terrible on the phone but now that I'm here, she looks better than she sounded. One of the staff members tells me that when a pacemaker is installed, it takes about a month to feel good.... and then one feels much better. So that must be the case, she is still getting used to the pacemaker.

Hey, Squeaky is doing really well tonight, his sugars are low and tonight he is really happy, played a lot with his mouse toy. This may sound far fetched,.... but usually when I come to visit Mom at Christmas, I leave him with others caring for him. This year with the diabetes, he is too complicated!!! I couldn't leave him with anyone, so I brought him here. ..... Well I actually think he is really happy that I brought him along! Despite the car trip. I'm really getting that sense from him. That he's just really happy about it.

I never knew that older cats could be so much fun. He likes going outside, and now despite the car trip, I think he may get adjusted to traveling.... and it's better than younger cats because they can't run fast and get away, easier to keep track of. This is so interesting!

Thank you all for the great cheerleading, support and help. I could never have managed this complication without your coaching and caring. Thank you!
 
Hi Jan, did you shoot? He could very well bounce from here and let you sleep! :)

Whoops I forgot to push the "tab" button.... yes I shot!!!! Well whatever happens is good by me!!! I will try to feed at +1 and +2 and test at +3.

Thanks for the thought!!!! Sending you good wishes!!! For you and Bandit! I just looked at his spreadsheet. He seems to be making steady progress and improvement under your care! :)
 
Back
Top