Jan D & Squeaky
Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-20-20-squeaky-9-311-amps-274-6-227-pmps-259-6-359.240287/ This was the last one; I missed two days 2/21/20. and 12/22/20
What does the cat say after making a joke? "Just kitten."
Hi everybody, we arrived safely and it was a real adventure. Squeaky figured out how to get out of the play pen and he was pretty restless in it anyway so I ended up confining him to the carrier. He couldn't tolerate even having the sheet expose me for him to see (because he also saw the highway), so he had to stay covered with no view. He also meowed and rattled the door most of the time; halfway through I gave up on him adapting and gave him some buprenorphine and some gabapentin. He's learned to spit the gabapentin out so I'm not sure how much he got. At the same time he also was hungry and ate a bunch of chicken (he's not supposed to eat chicken but hey, emergencies). I think belly full was actually what put him to sleep. He was mostly (mostly) quiet after that for the rest of the trip.
What a learning experience. On the way back I'll sedate him before we leave. I found it very challenging to hear the cage ratttling and meowing -- I'm a lover of quiet and usually these trips I take alone really restore me. No distractions. I didn't do well with the sounds he made.
Since I didn't post the last several days I'll put his numbers here:
M 12/20 AMPS 338, 4 units +6=336 PMPS 292 4 units +6=213
T 12/20 (day of trip) AMPS 127 Skip PMPS 463 4 units +6=382
He found a great place under a chair to hide in the hotel room. Very safe, dark, and quiet.
Thanks everybody for all the tips and advice, and sharing your experiences. Reading the variety of experiences gave me an idea about all the possibilities I might expect so I was psychologically prepared. He didn't vomit, eat much, pee or poop all day although we stopped and I gave him opportunities. He settled down every time we took a rest stop and stopped the vibration and the noise. (Then he would be quiet and settled for about 20 minutes, then get agitated again and meow and rattle his cage). The playpen sure didn't work out and he does seem to like being confined. After I put him in his small crate.... (he didn't go in by himself), but after I put him in, whenever we stopped he'd come out for a short while and then soon retreat back in.
I hope everyone is doing well, surfing the beach and having a wonderful holiday season. Anyone's cat climbing their holiday tree?
What does the cat say after making a joke? "Just kitten."
Hi everybody, we arrived safely and it was a real adventure. Squeaky figured out how to get out of the play pen and he was pretty restless in it anyway so I ended up confining him to the carrier. He couldn't tolerate even having the sheet expose me for him to see (because he also saw the highway), so he had to stay covered with no view. He also meowed and rattled the door most of the time; halfway through I gave up on him adapting and gave him some buprenorphine and some gabapentin. He's learned to spit the gabapentin out so I'm not sure how much he got. At the same time he also was hungry and ate a bunch of chicken (he's not supposed to eat chicken but hey, emergencies). I think belly full was actually what put him to sleep. He was mostly (mostly) quiet after that for the rest of the trip.
What a learning experience. On the way back I'll sedate him before we leave. I found it very challenging to hear the cage ratttling and meowing -- I'm a lover of quiet and usually these trips I take alone really restore me. No distractions. I didn't do well with the sounds he made.
Since I didn't post the last several days I'll put his numbers here:
M 12/20 AMPS 338, 4 units +6=336 PMPS 292 4 units +6=213
T 12/20 (day of trip) AMPS 127 Skip PMPS 463 4 units +6=382
He found a great place under a chair to hide in the hotel room. Very safe, dark, and quiet.
Thanks everybody for all the tips and advice, and sharing your experiences. Reading the variety of experiences gave me an idea about all the possibilities I might expect so I was psychologically prepared. He didn't vomit, eat much, pee or poop all day although we stopped and I gave him opportunities. He settled down every time we took a rest stop and stopped the vibration and the noise. (Then he would be quiet and settled for about 20 minutes, then get agitated again and meow and rattle his cage). The playpen sure didn't work out and he does seem to like being confined. After I put him in his small crate.... (he didn't go in by himself), but after I put him in, whenever we stopped he'd come out for a short while and then soon retreat back in.
I hope everyone is doing well, surfing the beach and having a wonderful holiday season. Anyone's cat climbing their holiday tree?
Last edited:


