12/23/13 AMPS 191. Portia reducing insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

portiarita

Member Since 2013
Hi all,
Previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109205

Ive been gone for a few weeks because I ve had to travel a lot and not been so regular in monitoring Portia's BG. But Ive been back for a few days now (as you can tell by the increased activity on her SS). If you recall, Ive been trying to introduce a low carb diet (old diet z/d was 34% carbs and the new one is 7% by DMB). Its been very very slow because she can be sensitive to food changes and after more than 2 weeks we are finally at 50/50 of old/new food. I increased her new food intake to 2.4oz yesterday (she gets 2.8oz of her old food as well) and I noticed that her BG has dropped a little since before. Im wondering if I should decrease her insulin a little. She used to be mostly in the yellow before the new food but as you can tell, she has become mostly blue and last night she was a really low blue (close to a green). We've never had such low number so Im not sure how to deal with that. I would appreciate any thoughts

Thanks
Rita and Portia
 
Hi Rita - sounds like the food transition is going well. These are great numbers for Portia. You want her to be under 200 as much as possible as that's probably under renal threshold. I don't think this warrants a dose reduction yet. Since you are doing a slow food transition, this is perfect. If you start to see numbers closer to 50, then you can think about a reduction in dose. But do keep testing, it can take a few days for the food transition to take full effect.
 
Hi Wendy,
Thanks for your response. Ill hold the insulin dose as it is then and watch her closely as I increase her new food. this is great news. I was a little afraid she was going too low. By just following other peoples posts, I know you guys like to keep the BG lower but Im out may times during the day and cant check as frequently. Thats why I was concerned. But it sounds like she's still not near the lower limit so Ill keep her dose as you recommend. Finger's crossed .
Rita
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top