12/22 TIFIL PMPS 520, +3.25 405

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo;

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59079

Merhaba Isil,

I have not been around lately and so I am not up to date - why did you drop the Lantus dose so drastically on 12/14?
I see you then started using R again, why is that?

Tifil appears to be very sensitive to R. I would hate to see her stuck on the R Roller Coaster once again, like she was back in late October.

The R Roller Coaster is when you give R because of a high number, kitty is very sensitive to R so BGs fall fast and/or low, triggering a hard bounce.
You then see the high bounce number and shoot more R and the whole cycle repeats itself, on and on.

IMHO unless a kitty is IAA, Acro or throwing ketones, R should not be used.

Merhaba Sandy, wellcome back;
First of all let me start by explaining why I dropped the dose so drastically. Her numbers were so high so I asked help from the health board and everyones opinion was that my dose was so high. That's why I dropped the dose to start from a lower dose but nothing changed. The reason I started R is because she is pron to ketons and had dka story at the past. I was affraid something will happen again and I don't have a emergency vet that is open for 24 hours if she gets dkaed again :(
Before when I used R I was using it without a schedule and I was shooting it without a plan. Now I decided to give her only one drop if her numbers are over 400, and she is not dropping so fast now, but I will love to hear your opinion.
I am really afraid to stop the R because she can be over 500 :(
 
Re: 12/22 TIFIL AMPS 408, +2 347, +6 418

Hi guys .. I don't have any information on using R .. I like that tifil came down into mid pinks for you today .. hoping that +6 is as high as she goes .. hang in there, I know it's hard seeing our kitties so high .. :YMHUG:
 
I think you should increase the Lantus, and not give any R. Remember when you stopped giving the R a while ago, and she started getting some pinks instead of reds? That's what I would try for again. This is just my opinion.
But, I would only increase by 0.25 and wait...hold the dose for the 6 cycles or so, to see how it does.
I am Wishing You The Best Of Luck in getting those numbers back to those greens and blues once again, someday soon.
 
Merhaba Isil,
ISIL&TIFIL said:
First of all let me start by explaining why I dropped the dose so drastically. Her numbers were so high so I asked help from the health board and everyones opinion was that my dose was so high.
What I see is that the decrease you took on 12/07, from 3.25u to 3.0u, didn't hold. When a decrease doesn't hold, it's important to go back up to the last good dose.
After 5 days you did increase, on 12/12/pm cycle, and after only 3 cycles you changed your strategy.

ISIL&TIFIL said:
The reason I started R is because she is pron to ketons and had dka story at the past. I was affraid something will happen again and I don't have a emergency vet that is open for 24 hours if she gets dkaed again :(

It's very important to remember the recipe for DKA:
not enough calories + not enough insulin + infection

With Tifil being prone to ketones, lowering the dose may actually make things worse.
IMHO anyone with a kitty that had positive ketones or DKA within the past 12 months should think very carefully before decreasing insulin.
ISIL&TIFIL said:
I am really afraid to stop the R because she can be over 500 :(

I agree with Dyana - stop the R and increase the Lantus by .25u , give it at least 6 cycles and then re-evauate.
 
Hello everybody,
Ok I will stop giving R. This morning I gave it wihout reading the board. For now on no more R.
I shot her 2.0 iu, increased it 0.25 unites. I hope lantus will do the best and she will come down as soon as possible. I will prepare a new condo after couple of hours..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top