12/22 Sooty PMPS 278 +4 251

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Good morning, LL, here's yesterday's condo,

Please see last post below for Q...

Today: AMPS 262 +2 280 +4 282 +6 281 AMPS 278

Quick meds update:
  • Dosecrease again today at AM;
    2nd dose of Amoxi via oral syringe this morning. Sooty doesn't like this at all but he got it all down OK (3.9ml, quite a lot of liquid!). He gets an extra piece of FD Chicken as a reward for this!
WCR: His appetite has returned somewhat (not to previous levels - at least not yet...); he ate 14.5oz yesterday and this morning he was telling us very loudly, after poking procedures were all completed, that he was very hungry! (overnight food was ALL gone this morning!) He's eaten 2 breffis's already and meowing for more, as we speak...

Hope your Wednesday goes well and that all our cats know what to do, to get on that "nice" list..!!
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 262

You can spread out his food by making it soupy ... the water will fill him up.

Also, after the crappy oral meds, you could chase it down with some tuna water.
Just put a can of tuna into a few cups of water and you will have lots of water to give after his meds.

It is always good to hear of a good appetite.
Good luck with the dose increase.
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 262

Glad his appetite is coming back. Hoping them antibiotics have him feeling better quickly.

That is a lot of liquid medicine isn't it. Blech.
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 262

What a mellow yellow kitty!!

Is Sooty getting the Mary Kay pink version of amoxi? When I've had to give it, I usually end up wearing some!
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 262

Good morning guys! Nice yellow to start the day out at .. glad you were able to get his meds down .. We water mochas food down a good bit ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 262

Thanks guys! Sienne, no it''s not the pink stuff, it's white (200mg / 5ml suspension once mixed w/ water), quite a high dose version I think..?

Actually math isn't my strong suit but I just realized that for a dose of 150mg (which the vet prescribed), that would be 3.75ml of the prepared liquid, wouldn't it? (Hmmm... the pharmacy said to give 3.9!)

We have had the pink one once before and he liked that much better, but I don't know if they do that one, at this concentration...
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 262 +2 280 +4 282 +6 281

I have to suspect that these higher (and yet very flat) #s are presumably due to the ABs (Amoxillin)?
Since he'll be on this for 30 days, does anyone suggest increasing the insulin to try and compensate, or try and ignore it, or wait it out?
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty ABs vs dose Q?

I can't answer your question but I have been thinking it may be an idea to hold Sooty's dose a bit longer because when he gets better and the a/b are all finished, you may be looking at a sudden drop in numbers, and with that huge shed, you will be up and feeding HC and not sleeping for a long time.

I got lulled into a routine of counting cycles, increase, counting cycles, increase, until one day ... whoa, look out here!
Ollie was up to 26u and is down to 16.5u now. You need to be on your toes for that drop because Sooty's not going to give you one single warning.

I think it must be like driving down a highway in the Prairies, boring and flat and straight, then all of a sudden there's a curve out of nowhere.

When Shadoe was not well, on a few diff kinds of a/b, her numbers were higher, but once she got better, down they came, so I had to be ready to roll with her numbers.

Keep adding water to his food so he'll be taking in less but being filled from the water.
I hope the a/b continue to do their magic and Sooty decides to give you something that's not yellow on his ss.
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty ABs vs dose Q?

Perry:

Find out if the liquid has any sugar in it. Several of the oral suspensions do have some form of sweetener. You may need to talk to the vet or go through a compounding pharmacy in order to get a version that doesn't have sugar.

It may also be the infection that's elevating numbers. Generally, you can raise the dose in the usual manner to offset the effects of an infection. However, once the infection breaks, numbers can change fast -- at least in a non-acrocat.
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty ABs vs dose Q?

Gayle, Sienne, thanks for the feedback. Got it all and will tread carefully. I'll see if I can find out about the Amoxi liquid, I hadn't thought about it having sugar!
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 278

hey, soots! dey not give u da pink ABs?? every guy like a lil pink in dey meds...

binks
 
Re: 12/22 Sooty AMPS 278

are yu giving clavamox suspension? amoxicillin/clavulanic acid suspension? or is it straight amoxicillin suspension?
 
how big is the bottle? u are to give for 30 days. amoxicillin suspension has a shelf life of about 10 days once mixed. i dont mean to sound like a know it all but want yu to make sure that any bottle of suspension once mixed has a 10 day life then another must be made up.one bottle mixed will not hold yu for 30 days.
 
Yep I think the realistic goal is 150mg/dose/BID (300mg/day) allowing for a little wastage.
Rx is for one bottle to last 14 days with a refill for the rest (Susp. after mixing w/ water is OK for 14 days...)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top