? 12-22 Panzer HAS UTI NEED GUIDANCE AMPS 141/165@+2.5/226@+5.5/243@+7/PMPS 265/354@+3/344@+4/371@+6

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-5-330-6-increased-today-possible-uti.272070

I took in a sample that I was able to get from Panzer last night. I tried to get a sample twice this morning & he was not holder himself up to pee. I don't know if it's because he is positive for a UTI or that he doesn't want me sticking a measuring cup under him again. Anyway they gave him 100mg doxycycline take 2xs a day? I found the bottle from his last UTI & he was taking 75mg once a day? I also had to give him Ondansetron when he was on this because it made him puke. Should I give him Ondansetron at PMPS? As I am writing this we are at + 7.5 AMPS. So the next feeding is PMPS shot time, they then eat again @+6 PMPS should I give him the doxycycline then? How much? I'm thinking 100mg once a day or should I cut the pill & make it 50mg or I could try to make it approximately 75mg? They want him to take 100mg twice a day that's way more than he took last time?

He weighs 17lbs, there urinalysis is old school so I'm going to post what the vet tech wrote in his records WBC +++ RBC +++ PH 6 SG 1.015. She said he also had a little bit of blood in his urine. I said something to her about the advil overdose & she said that should be out of his system. I did ask how much for a full blood panel & it's $98 it's in house but when we go in hopefully soon for bloodwork. I will take a sample of his bloodwork results in showing what I'm looking for in all the boxes not just some of them of course they won't include the pancreatitis or thyroid in it because that would cost more. I know how they are with bloodwork from the past so an example of what I expect will be shared with them.

Anyone who can help me dose my poor boy please comment! @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @FrostD
 
Ondansetron can be given several times a day if necessary - even every 8 hours. Just see how he does with it and how often he needs it. You may be able to get him to eat with only twice a day or he may need it more frequently.
 
Hey out of curiosity, have you checked his ketones level lately? And did the vet mention anything about calcium or crystals in the urine? For right now, its highly important that he stays as hydrated as possible to help flush the irritants out of the bladder, and to help make sure the infection doesn't travel up to the kidneys.
 
Typical dose of doxycycline for cats is 2.5 mg per pound of body weight to be given every 12 hours. I’m actually surprised that the previous dose was only once per day! But that’s just a recommendation for starting doxycycline. It can vary depending on what’s being treated and the severity of the illness (in this case the amount of bacteria and red and white blood cells seen.).
 
Also for antibiotics, you absolutely need to talk to your vet about that. It's crucial to finish the entire course so that the bacteria doesn't become resistant to treatment. The only time an antibiotic should be stopped is if the cause of the condition is not bacterial, or is causing a severe reaction such as allergies or life threatening side effects.
 
But anyway, Christina, I don’t think you will feel easy until you ask the vet! There’s nothing wrong with checking with them to make sure. Just say that you noticed last time he was on a lesser dose and wanted to make sure that you would be giving him the correct dose.
 
Doxycycline is a “bacteriostatic” medication that stops the bacteria from replicating instead of actually killing them directly. It’s a human med used off label in cats, and there’s a lot of different doses used by vets — depending on the situation as I said before. I suspect they don’t want to mess around and risk a kidney infection.
 
Last edited:
But anyway, Christina, I don’t think you will feel easy until you ask the vet! There’s nothing wrong with checking with them to make sure. Just say that you noticed last time he was on a lesser dose and wanted to make sure that you would be giving him the correct dose.
Unfortunately the vet is closed until tomorrow at 8am, if not for the whole day due to the snow storm coming in. The vet tech who read his results asked how much he weighed & I told her 17lbs & she came out with a bottle of amoxicillin & I told her that he had a culture at our previous vet & he is resistant to amoxicillin. She asked about Clavamox & I told her it didn't work for him that the only thing that worked was doxycycline but I couldn't remember the dosage. I tried to get the information out of my threads & the spreadsheet but I wasn't quick enough. She called the vet & he said 100mg twice a day. Doxycycline was hard on him last time he took it so I'm not sure what dose to give him. I'm going to give him ondansetron at PMPS & the doxycycline @+6 PMPS feeding just not sure how much?
 
Be sure to make absolutely certain that Panzer eats food after you give him the pill - in order to avoid esophageal injury. He must either eat or drink (or you syringe water). Giving it with food should help protect his stomach as well, but you already know that it upsets his stomach. :(
I always give all pill pocket meds with food because of the esophageal thing because that's the only time they injest water. I put 3 tablespoons of water in every meal, they don't drink water ever. Is that a bad thing?
 
Hey out of curiosity, have you checked his ketones level lately? And did the vet mention anything about calcium or crystals in the urine? For right now, its highly important that he stays as hydrated as possible to help flush the irritants out of the bladder, and to help make sure the infection doesn't travel up to the kidneys.
No there was no calcium or crystals in the urine, just bacteria white & red blood cells in it Thankfully
 
Also for antibiotics, you absolutely need to talk to your vet about that. It's crucial to finish the entire course so that the bacteria doesn't become resistant to treatment. The only time an antibiotic should be stopped is if the cause of the condition is not bacterial, or is causing a severe reaction such as allergies or life threatening side effects.
He had a 4 month long UTI when we moved in January. He had the test done to see what he can take & what he's resistant too. Doxycycline is the one that finally kicked the UTI.
 
I would start him out on the dose that the vet prescribed and see how he handles it. Then I would leave messages for them and/or call them in the morning or whenever they open. Of course, if he has a worse reaction than last time, you can always change his dose if you think it’s absolutely necessary because of worse side effects than he had last time. Remember, it is already going to take a little while for this medication to start having an effect on his level of bacteria because of the fact that it keeps the bacteria from reproducing and it doesn’t directly kill them right away. It is going to take a few days for you to start seeing an improvement. You could always start with this dose of 100 mg twice a day, and if the vet approves it, then you could go to a lower dose if you think it’s necessary how about that?
 
I would start him out on the dose that the vet prescribed and see how he handles it. Then I would leave messages for them and/or call them in the morning or whenever they open. Of course, if he has a worse reaction than last time, you can always change his dose if you think it’s absolutely necessary because of worse side effects than he had last time. Remember, it is already going to take a little while for this medication to start having an effect on his level of bacteria because of the fact that it keeps the bacteria from reproducing and it doesn’t directly kill them right away. It is going to take a few days for you to start seeing an improvement. You could always start with this dose of 100 mg twice a day, and if the vet approves it, then you could go to a lower dose if you think it’s necessary how about that?
That sounds good & I will give him an ondansetron every 12hrs as well but 6hrs before the doxycycline. They eat every 6hrs now except they get a half can between the 2 of them @+2-+3 @AMPS feeding & that's to give Panzer a food bump while I'm at work incase he needs it because I can't test again until +6-+7 on work days.

Okay so I will give ondansetron @PMPS & doxycycline 100mg @+6 PMPS & see how that goes.
 
Hey out of curiosity, have you checked his ketones level lately? And did the vet mention anything about calcium or crystals in the urine? For right now, its highly important that he stays as hydrated as possible to help flush the irritants out of the bladder, and to help make sure the infection doesn't travel up to the kidneys.
Checked for ketones the other day, he was negative thankfully.
 
I always give all pill pocket meds with food because of the esophageal thing because that's the only time they injest water. I put 3 tablespoons of water in every meal, they don't drink water ever. Is that a bad thing?
Some cats are not big drinkers. I would say that they’re getting their water needs met via wet food and the extra water you put in. Don’t worry!
 
I It is going to take a few days for you to start seeing an improvement.
^ Highlighting this part, because most antibiotics take about 2 or 3 days to show effects.
No there was no calcium or crystals in the urine, just bacteria white & red blood cells in it Thankfully
Checked for ketones the other day, he was negative thankfully.
These are fantastic news!! If you have the ability, try to check for ketones every now and then. 6.0 for pH is riiiiight on the edge of normal going into acidic, and if that value gets more acidic there's a sign of something is very wrong with the kidneys. Considering he is diabetic, first thought would be ketones.

I am also in the major snowstorm area, its going to be a blizzard from it snowing so much yesterday and todays high winds will whip it up and cause whiteout conditions. So I am staying put in my home!! If you dont have the supplies you need, maybe we could figure some other method of monitoring?
 
^ Highlighting this part, because most antibiotics take about 2 or 3 days to show effects.


These are fantastic news!! If you have the ability, try to check for ketones every now and then. 6.0 for pH is riiiiight on the edge of normal going into acidic, and if that value gets more acidic there's a sign of something is very wrong with the kidneys. Considering he is diabetic, first thought would be ketones.

I am also in the major snowstorm area, its going to be a blizzard from it snowing so much yesterday and todays high winds will whip it up and cause whiteout conditions. So I am staying put in my home!! If you dont have the supplies you need, maybe we could figure some other method of monitoring?
I'm prepared, I've got lots of supplies. Thank you though :cat:
 
^ Highlighting this part, because most antibiotics take about 2 or 3 days to show effects.


These are fantastic news!! If you have the ability, try to check for ketones every now and then. 6.0 for pH is riiiiight on the edge of normal going into acidic, and if that value gets more acidic there's a sign of something is very wrong with the kidneys. Considering he is diabetic, first thought would be ketones.

I am also in the major snowstorm area, its going to be a blizzard from it snowing so much yesterday and todays high winds will whip it up and cause whiteout conditions. So I am staying put in my home!! If you dont have the supplies you need, maybe we could figure some other method of monitoring?
Just now seeing the 6 on the PH is high ugg...I just bought a brand new bottle of keostix so I will test daily for them.
 
Okay I just thought of something Panzer gets Mirilax @+7 AMPS & +6 PMPS. Should I wait & start the doxycycline in the morning @ AMPS & give the ondansetron at that time as well? That would mean he would get insulin ondansetron & doxycycline @ AMPS & PMPS is that to much? @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
They’re different meds, should be fine. No cross reactions between them from what i can tell.
The Mirilax & the doxycycline? Or the ondansetron & doxycycline? Doxycycline made him puke in the past so he was on ondansetron when he had it the first time. So I figure I should give him Ondansetron again as well so he doesn't puke.
 
I've decided to start the doxycycline @AMPS & give Ondansetron then as well. His BG is high but to be expected with him having a UTI. If he will let me get some urine I'm going to test for ketones again. He was negative yesterday when I checked but I know how quickly that can change although he's never had ketones (knock on wood) I've seen it in lots of other kitty's on here. Panzer is also having trouble jumping I think he's hurting because he still gets Zobaline daily! Please pray for my baby worried momma :(
 
Okay I just thought of something Panzer gets Mirilax @+7 AMPS & +6 PMPS. Should I wait & start the doxycycline in the morning @ AMPS & give the ondansetron at that time as well? That would mean he would get insulin ondansetron & doxycycline @ AMPS & PMPS is that to much? @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I don’t think it’s a problem to do the doxy and ondansetron at the same time (and insulin of course). If he won’t eat though, you may have to figure out a schedule where he gets the Ondansetron 30 minutes before eating or perhaps at a different time. Let’s hope it will be okay with the eating.
 
The Mirilax & the doxycycline? Or the ondansetron & doxycycline? Doxycycline made him puke in the past so he was on ondansetron when he had it the first time. So I figure I should give him Ondansetron again as well so he doesn't puke.
If he’s vomiting a lot you will probably need to go with Cerenia, which I recall you have used in Panzer in the past. I remember talking about it with you.
 
@chuckstables more on vaccines from an older post that I wrote. (sorry, I wrote on yesterday's post too... trying to only write on today's):

I used to listen to the vets about this too (years ago before it was well known that vaccines provide protection that lasts for years.). Dr. Lisa Pierson talks on her site about her cats 18 and 19 who had never been vaccinated after receiving their initial series of kitten vaccines and how she took titers on them before they died at these advanced ages — and they still had immunity to those diseases.

I will say also that I have never forgotten watching my dear friend’s cat, Louie, experience a vaccine site sarcoma — and have surgery and radiation and chemo — and it still came back and they tried again and he still died — and it broke their hearts. Louie was only about 4 years old when he died.

In addition, do some reading about the link between vaccines and kidney disease in cats. I get my cats their initial series of kitten vaccines and their boosters one year later — and that is all. Of course my cats are indoor cats. I lost a cat to complications from Lyme disease many years ago and that was it for me.
 
I don’t think it’s a problem to do the doxy and ondansetron at the same time (and insulin of course). If he won’t eat though, you may have to figure out a schedule where he gets the Ondansetron 30 minutes before eating or perhaps at a different time. Let’s hope it will be okay with the eating.
Fingers & paws crossed...so far he is eating very well. I can tell he doesn't feel good though & he's in the 300s.
 
If he’s vomiting a lot you will probably need to go with Cerenia, which I recall you have used in Panzer in the past. I remember talking about it with you.
So far no vomiting but we haven't started the doxycycline yet. I don't have any Cerenia because that vet wouldn't do ondansetron & Cerenia together & then he refused any refills on anything until Panzer got a rabies shot & exams for both. I wish would have thought about it today when I got his urine tested because I know they would have sold me some. I have a feeling they will be closed tomorrow due to this winter storm but I'm going to call & check anyways. I'm kinda scared to be out driving in it though to pick it up, it's not far but it's on a country road.
 
I gave Panzer his doxycycline & his Ondansetron @ AMPS. He didn't want to eat much but finished it up with fortiflora on it. I don't think he's nausea but just sick of that flavor. I had to cut beef fancy feast out of the rotation for about a week, I gave it last night & they like it again...cat's :rolleyes:They are used to having there probiotic in baby food right after the AMPS feeding but I know not to give an antibiotic & a probiotic at the same time. They were begging & looking at me all crazy Lol I told them they could have it at there +3 snack:cat:
 
Panzer had what I thought was a nice poop until he starting scooting across the floor & trying to get it off of his butt.I isolated him in the cat room & got a couple of warm wash rags & cleaned him up, he willing let me help him. Then I cleaned up the dining room & cat room floor. It wasn't diarrhea, I think it was just stuck to his butt.
 
So I don't have to worry to much about ketones? I tried to get some pee about an hour ago & ended up with litter in my measuring cup so failed attempt.
I would still keep up periodic ketone testing since his numbers have been up a bit and since he has an infection. His drinking water is good and he seems to have a good appetite (except for being picky about flavors.)
 
So far no vomiting but we haven't started the doxycycline yet. I don't have any Cerenia because that vet wouldn't do ondansetron & Cerenia together & then he refused any refills on anything until Panzer got a rabies shot & exams for both. I wish would have thought about it today when I got his urine tested because I know they would have sold me some. I have a feeling they will be closed tomorrow due to this winter storm but I'm going to call & check anyways. I'm kinda scared to be out driving in it though to pick it up, it's not far but it's on a country road.
Don’t go out. Just try the slippery elm bark to help sooth his digestive tract. Hopefully no vomiting will occur.
 
I would give it but just make sure that it’s separated from the time you give the antibiotics by a few hours.
Okay he just had insulin Ondansetron, & doxycycline @PMPS. I normally do the slippery elm @+4 +5 PMPS & skip Mirilax that night. He has Mirilax 2xs a day one day & once the next day & slippery elm bark instead of Mirilax, then repeat the next day & so on.
 
I would still keep up periodic ketone testing since his numbers have been up a bit and since he has an infection. His drinking water is good and he seems to have a good appetite (except for being picky about flavors.)
Okay I will do my best, he's not feeling good so he's pretty much sitting to pee & having litter stuck to him. I'm going to have to put a small amount of water in the tub to soak his butt before we go to bed because he's stinky probably from the eventful poop.
 
Back
Top