12/22 Minner AMPS 122 +1 160 +2.5 115 +4 96 +5.5 84 +8 106 PMPS 236 (bummer)

MinnerPip

Member Since 2024
Prior Post

This is the lowest PS I have ever shot. I’m putting faith in the protocol and begging for her to be ok as this cycle kicks in. She ate some of her Applaws tuna loin post shot treat, but has no interest in her FF pate. She’s been losing interest in it the past few days since she has gotten into blues and now green as of last night’s cycle. I normally feed her bfast at +1.5 or 2, but wanting to do a little earlier now w/ these lower numbers.

I gave her a tbsp of Hartz Bisque which she lapped right up.

I am really really scared b/c she has solid drops typically through +4. Or sometimes she stays flat. It’s a craps shoot.

Is anyone there who can help me if needed ? I’ll do a +1 check here in 10 minutes.
 
False alarm. I did not expect that — 122 to 160. I’m sure it will sound nuts, but it seems when I shoot her left side, the odds of a no action or weak action cycle are much higher. It could also be the bisque I gave her when she refused all FF, or perhaps a bounce from her great green streak last night.

Will see what happens at normal bfast time and if she will eat. Will do a 2.5 check.
 
Still turning her nose up at her regular FF pate. She wants the bisque and food that is not nutritionally balanced or high carb. She rarely would touch wet food pre diabetes. It took 4 mths post diabetes to get her completely off dry and she is super picky. What if now that she is in blue and green she is returning to those pre diabetes days refusal to eat wet food. We will be toast. This cat.

Looks like the +1 bump is over and we’re going down now. May the nail biting begin.

I am super needy. Trying not to be chicken little here. Also exhausted after 3 nights in a row of monitoring.
 
Is Minner at a good weight? Is she consuming enough calories to support her weight?
She is 15 pounds and has stuck there since end of october when dry food ended (it was a wean off dry over months). I weigh her once a week. She is not eating enough right now to sustain. She has been getting more treats than normal b/c I’m testing so much more the last few days. So she is holding out for treats instead of eating her pate. The hartz bisque is her kitty crack and she had not had any in months until I let her eat some past 2 days given my fear of these “low to me” numbers. I found a post here that shows its carbs at 1.92% but my guess is that is a wet percent vs dry matter basis. If i’m right then its 19.2% carb on dry matter basis. Ugh.
 
She is 15 pounds
Is that her ideal weight? Do you know how many calories she should eat a day to maintain her ideal weight?

So she is holding out for treats instead of eating her pate.
. They are so smart :banghead:

Does she like freeze dried treats? If so, you can crumble some on top of her regular LC to entice eating. You could also try fortiflora. It's not a great probiotic but my cat loves it as a flavor packet on top of her food when she's being picky lol.
 
Is that her ideal weight? Do you know how many calories she should eat a day to maintain her ideal weight?

. They are so smart :banghead:

Does she like freeze dried treats? If so, you can crumble some on top of her regular LC to entice eating. You could also try fortiflora. It's not a great probiotic but my cat loves it as a flavor packet on top of her food when she's being picky lol.
She needs about 250kcal a day. Yes she is a smart little cookie and I am a sucker. I left the house for 1.5 hrs after +6.5 check (96) and when I got back I warmed a can of one of the pates she seems to like more than others. I already sprinkle freeze dried chicken on top as part of feeding ritual — that has been big reason I was able to finally cut cord on dry. I put this one bowl in front of her and kept adding more sprinkles and that little nugget almost polished off the whole can. That was probably 80kcal right there. So .. whew. I will try the fortiflora. I’ve tried in past to no avail …. When it takes 4 mths to break a dry food junkie you have tried many many things. But things can change! Thank you keeping an eye out for us. It means a TON. Also … bg after her whole can snack was 106. :)
 
The honeymoon is over … bounce is back. Bummer on the 236 pmps. Or maybe it’s that nearly whole can of FF pate she ate at a bit past +8. She normally eats majority of her food each day at +1.5 or +2 and then grazes. Today was an anomaly b/c of picky britches not eating normally and me therefore trying to coax her to eat at other times. The pate is only 2 or 3% carb but I did see Wendy say in last day or so that just calories (regardless of being LC) can drive bg up when eaten during waning part of cycle … if I understood her correctly.

Minner is also a bit lethargic. But so am I from 3 nights of monitoring so much. I figured all the extra testing and waking her up at times to do it may be interfering w/ her good sleep too.
 
The next test is almost the same, no steep drop. I expect it'll be Minner's version of a bounce. Hope so, that means you get more sleep tonight.
 
The next test is almost the same, no steep drop. I expect it'll be Minner's version of a bounce. Hope so, that means you get more sleep tonight.
Yes on the sleep plan! I did b/c after that +3, I set alarm for AM shot time, and went to sleep. She roused me around +9 a bit, fell back asleep. Then, to my SURPRISE, she dropped from the 236 pmps to 118 amps. Whoa. Starting a 12/23 thread now, new day of monitoring begins.
 
Back
Top