Re: 12/22 Mikey AMPS 299 +2.5/319 +6/311
mmm, i posted at the same time as you and didn't see your post.
your lantus may be no good. i think it's fine to store it on a shelf in the fridge (you do mean in the fridge, right?) but it does lose potency and if it's been in use since september, that's pretty long. some people get months out of it, some seem to just get 1 month. if you stop seeing the numbers you were before, that's a good indicator that the lantus might be toast. when i look at mikey's amps 299 to a +6 of 311, i would wonder if it's gone. if i were you, i'd probably get a new pen.
btw, google for a solostar pen coupon and for your first order there's usually one out there for $25. if you can find someone to sell you 1 pen they are about $41. my Save-On pharmacy will sell a single pen. most pharmacies will sell the box of 5 together. a pen @$41 holds 300units of lantus, a vial @ $114 has 1000 units. most people have doses small enough they can't use up a vial before it goes bad.
the prescriptions are separate for a pen and a vial - you have to get a new one from the vet if you want to change between those 2.