12/22 Michael amps 221 +6 215 pmps 262 +2 368

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/22 Michael amps 221

I would get a +2 test if you can, or at least a +3. I'm just saying because he could be clearing his bounce today, and with the extra insulin, you might see an active cycle.
 
Re: 12/22 Michael amps 221 Question

Hi LL
I have a question.
What is the purpose of increase and decreasing doses if we are always repeating a dose that kitty has
been on:?: For example (please look at Michael's spread sheet.) He has been on 1.5u for 6 days and this am I raised it to 1.75u. In Oct. 2014 he was on 1.75u for about 8 days. He still doesn't seem to be regulated and still bounces although his #'s have improved. The #'s are lower and he doesn't bounce as much and seems to clear the bounces faster. How do you ever find the correct dose :?:
Thanks in advance.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 12/22 Michael amps 221 Question

even a tightly regulated cat has the dose adjusted. Cats don't just get a perfect dose and stay on it forever. Remember that insulin is a hormone, not a "drug".

It may have been too soon to increase his dose this morning, paula. It looks like he still may be bouncing from the 70 on 12/19. When you're considering increasing the dose, look back to whenever he last saw green and count forward 6 cycles. That would be today's day cycle. Because you've had nothing under 270's until the amps this morning, I don't think he'd cleared that bounce yet. This morning's 221 might be telling you that, as Dyana said, today may be when he's clearing the bounce. We don't increase doses during a bounce when the cat is getting to greens in between the bounces. The green in between the bounces tells you that the dose (1.5u) is pretty good.

I think I'd monitor carefully, ie, test often today, to make sure if he's clearing the bounce he doesn't go too low. Getting a +2 is a great first step. If it's significantly lower than 221 that will tell you that the bounce is clearing.
 
Re: 12/22 Michael amps 221 Question

Julie: I suggested a couple days ago that if he didn't clear in the next few cycles or show some blue/green, it might be time to increase so Paula did what I suggested.

Even though he might clear the bounce today, Paula, I still think he needed a dose increase. But Dyana and Julie are right that you will need to watch him closely in case he clears today/tonight. I'm sorry I didn't know you were sick when I suggested that on 12/20. I would have withheld that suggestion so you wouldn't be sick and fighting numbers dropping.

Lots of things can change how a cat is doing on a dose. I've had the same thing happen with Gracie. Sometimes she's done well on a dose, earned reductions, then failed the last reduction and I had to go up above the dose that she originally earned the reduction from. I try not to worry about "why" but just give her more insulin if she needs it.

Hope you feel better soon!
 
Re: 12/22 Michael amps 221 Question

Thanks, Marje

I am feeling better. Not coughing as much and Michael is back to sleeping in the bed. I guess the antibiotics are working. (They better @ 2000 mg of Amoxicillan a day.) With that amount, the bug better go away and never ever come back!
@ +6 M's #'s are 215 so maybe he cleared the bounce. He seems o.k. the 5ps' are in order.
I guess I just need to wear my patience pants and maybe better #'s are on the way.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 12/22 Michael amps 221 +6 215 Question

Paula, I know it's hard for you, but because of that bounce clearing, if you could get an extra test or two tonight, it would probably be a good idea. Flat yellows also often precede an active cycle.
 
@pmps 262 +2 368 M has gone from yellow to that awful Stinky pink grr_red
Wonder if we will ever see blue again :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top