Re: 12/22 Michael amps 221 Question
even a tightly regulated cat has the dose adjusted. Cats don't just get a perfect dose and stay on it forever. Remember that insulin is a hormone, not a "drug".
It may have been too soon to increase his dose this morning, paula. It looks like he still may be bouncing from the 70 on 12/19. When you're considering increasing the dose, look back to whenever he last saw green and count forward 6 cycles. That would be today's day cycle. Because you've had nothing under 270's until the amps this morning, I don't think he'd cleared that bounce yet. This morning's 221 might be telling you that, as Dyana said, today may be when he's clearing the bounce. We don't increase doses during a bounce when the cat is getting to greens in between the bounces. The green in between the bounces tells you that the dose (1.5u) is pretty good.
I think I'd monitor carefully, ie, test often today, to make sure if he's clearing the bounce he doesn't go too low. Getting a +2 is a great first step. If it's significantly lower than 221 that will tell you that the bounce is clearing.