12/22 Johnny PMPS 215 +1.25 (146) - travel tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
I think Johnny earned a dosecrease to .25u this morning! He got a tiny bit of higher carb FF juice on his LC food to bump up the 48. Paws crossed that he's preparing for an afternoon of surfing some nice greens. :mrgreen:

Johnny has napped in the mitten basket, chased some siblings for fun and investigated some Christmas presents waiting to be wrapped. All in all, he seems to be feeling really good. The only down moment of the morning was when I made cereal and he sat staring at me waiting to lick some milk at the end (our old tradition). He was not pleased when I told him I wanted to give him the milk, but that I couldn't because it wasn't good for him. Made me kinda sad. I don't eat cereal very often anymore because he comes running. It's so tough when you can't explain to them the "whys" behind why certain things that have changed.

Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32664&view=unread&sid=dfd16e0a754c317d04042fe0bda799f3#unread
 
Re: 12/22 Johnny AMPS 142 +2 (84) +3 (48) +3.5 (62) +4 (63)

He is doing GREAT!!! Look at these beautiful numbers--And I would say he earned a dose reduction today!
Just check with the dose helpers, but a 48 wins the prize!! Congrats--Happy Holidays--Good Job! :mrgreen:
Milk as I understand it, isnt best for the kitties, but mine never had it so, whadda I know?? :lol: -Have a great Day!
 
Re: 12/22 Johnny AMPS 142 +2 (84) +3 (48) +3.5 (62) +4 (63)

I used to put out a bowl of milk for J.D. every night before I went to bed, in case he went low over night while I was sleeping. Those were my pre-FDMB days.
I do very occasionally (it's rare), give him a few licks of milk (maybe a teaspoon), when I'm drinking some, and he's been a good boy. Just a treat, maybe a few times a year.

Nice numbers today, Johnny :-D hope ya get the dosecrease.
 
Re: 12/22 Johnny AMPS 142 +2(84) +3(48) +3.5(62) +4(63) +6(6

I thought the same thing! I didn't want to type it. lol

He's 125 at +10.5. Is the dosecrease official? Reduce to .25u tonight?
 
Re: 12/22 Johnny AMPS 142 +3(48) +10.5(125)-definite dosecre

Hi, congrats on some sweet surfing.. Johnny & Janice :thumbup
As far as the 48 & a definite dosecrease.. not sure what a newly diagosed diabetic is versus long term..or how kittys like mine & yours who were off the juice & back on factor in... but protocol states...

Reducing the dose...

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Re: 12/22 Johnny AMPS 142 +3(48) +10.5(125)-definite dosecre

I would have to say that Johnny is a newer diabetic as he is not here even a year--But then he was OTJ also for a while
Look you can always raise the dose, but you dont really want him to be going that low.
Want to try taking the fat off the 0.25?? Couldnt hurt!! Besides He is looking very good!
If it's not enough, then you can see what happens--Remember, the shed will still have the fat dose from this am in it, so he may have some lower numbers tonite--shed action still could be working..
So, I would monitor this evening-abit just to be sure--OK??

Hope dosing helpers verify, but that's what I would do--Great catch today!! HUGS!
 
Re: 12/22 Johnny PMPS 215 dosecrease - travel tomorrow

Thanks for the input! We shot .25u, so we just shaved off the 'fat' of his dose.

Johnny and company (beans and kitty brother/sister) are traveling to PA tomorrow. We'll be in the car from just after AMPS until around +10. Should we shave the dose again slightly? I don't want to set him back any, but I also don't want him dropping too low on the road. It will be pretty difficult to get a test in and Mr. Bean hates stopping (don't they all!). We usually stop 4 hours in to let Johnny use the litter box (what we did while traveling for Thanksgiving anyway). I also fed him some LC periodically while in his carrier (him, not me!). It was well-received.
 
I dont know that there is a right answer... ECID.. historically speaking.. a car makes a cat stress.. stress generally raises BG, if it were me.. I wouldn't make any dosecreases right now in the midst of travel too. Your call.
 
The travel issue came up in another condo yesterday. When Rusty was transported to Ella, they skipped the AM shot so there was no danger of a low number in a situation where the kitty wouldn't eat.
 
I know cats can hide stress well, but Johnny's a pretty seasoned traveler. He held pretty steady recently during Thanksgiving travels (7 hours in the car; first trip with insulin), so I think we'll give a drop just to be super safe but still give him a little. It's funny. He likes his carrier to be covered with a blanket like a bird, which cracks us up. Take the blanket off and the "meow" protests begin!

He was really happy to get some food that I shoveled to him on the last trip and ate a bunch. This time, we'll have a bowl (oh la la!). We'll see where he is in the a.m. and make the decision. We'll have internet access during this trip (once we're there), so I'll check in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top