12/22 Jade amps 294 PMPS 346+2=174!

You do test enough fur TR. If my cat I would consider it briefly until in better numbers but she’s not and your vet would really disapprove. She will likely get there with SLGS but it will take a lot longer. Lots of patience required.
 
You do test enough fur TR. If my cat I would consider it briefly until in better numbers but she’s not and your vet would really disapprove. She will likely get there with SLGS but it will take a lot longer. Lots of patience required.
I’m not even sure I completely understand TR.
I will consider trying it if this increase doesn’t help her numbers but will need much more understanding of the TR process.
 
I’ve read that and it confuses me. Unfortunately, I need to be walked though it step by step.
:banghead::banghead::banghead:
With SLGS, you have been decreasing a dose every time you go below 90. With TR, you reduce whenever the numbers go below 50. You can increase every 6-10 cycles on TR, whereas you would have to wait 7 days with SLGS. That's basically it in a nutshell. Ask any questions, and always check in with someone here if in doubt.

I agree with Elise that Jade would probably do much better if you switched methods.
 
With SLGS, you have been decreasing a dose every time you go below 90. With TR, you reduce whenever the numbers go below 50. You can increase every 6-10 cycles on TR, whereas you would have to wait 7 days with SLGS. That's basically it in a nutshell. Ask any questions, and always check in with someone here if in doubt.

I agree with Elise that Jade would probably do much better if you switched methods.
I’m assuming that number (50) is not an AlphaTrak number but a human meter?
 
Thank you. I think if this increase doesn’t bring her numbers down, I’ll try it. I will still guidance in the beginning tho…..
I've been on the FDMB almost every day for the last 14 months and I still need lots of hand holding when it comes to dosing. Don't worry about getting all of the facts straight all at once. We're here to help.

Another bit of advice: If you're starting TR, I'd suggest getting late cycle tests if possible, like +10 or +11. That will give you more time to ask someone here for help if you're unsure of what dose to give if her numbers are lower than you're used to.
 
I've been on the FDMB almost every day for the last 14 months and I still need lots of hand holding when it comes to dosing. Don't worry about getting all of the facts straight all at once. We're here to help.

Another bit of advice: If you're starting TR, I'd suggest getting late cycle tests if possible, like +10 or +11. That will give you more time to ask someone here for help if you're unsure of what dose to give if her numbers are lower than you're used to.
That’s where I may run into issues and why I have chosen ( and may stick with) SLGS. I have a tricky schedule and work from mid afternoon to late evenings at a restaurant. I very much appreciate the support, it really helps!
 
That’s where I may run into issues and why I have chosen ( and may stick with) SLGS. I have a tricky schedule and work from mid afternoon to late evenings at a restaurant. I very much appreciate the support, it really helps!
How soon before shot time do you get home from your shift?
 
I used to do a +11 test before the AMPS test. I only had +1.5 hours from AMPS until I had to leave for work. Comparing the +11 to the AMPS test helped me to know whether or not I should leave a higher (or medium) carb food out before I left for the day.
 
Hey, Jill. I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well. Did you actually have a COVID test? I hope it’s just Omicron, which is mild and short-lived by all accounts.
 
Hey, Jill. I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well. Did you actually have a COVID test? I hope it’s just Omicron, which is mild and short-lived by all accounts.
Hiya. Feeling kind of lousy. I did take a home test and it was negative but I’m somewhat certain I have it. I’m double vaxxed and boosted so hopefully will be feeling better soon! I very much appreciate you asking. It’s knocked a couple of my coworkers down pretty badly. It’s really ripping through the restaurants here. Such a bummer. Just in time for the holidays :arghh::banghead::confused::mad::blackeye:
 
Hiya. Feeling kind of lousy. I did take a home test and it was negative but I’m somewhat certain I have it. I’m double vaxxed and boosted so hopefully will be feeling better soon! I very much appreciate you asking. It’s knocked a couple of my coworkers down pretty badly. It’s really ripping through the restaurants here. Such a bummer. Just in time for the holidays :arghh::banghead::confused::mad::blackeye:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Her PM +2 is 174....wasn't expecting that. i hope we aren't in for a long, sleepless night when I'm under the weather.:nailbiting: I will test again at +3 or +3.5 @tiffmaxee
 
Have you been feeding her tonight at all? Looks like she's slowing down. Nice to see that bit of green. :D
I feed her small amounts, often. All LC altho I did give her a very small (less than half teaspoon )of MC mixed in at +4.5
She’s at 119 @+5 and I am going to bed.
Question… what should I look for at AMPS? I’m home enough to test her throughout the day altho I know her ears are getting a bit tender from today/ tonight.
I was told that if she dips below 90 twice in one cycle to give a reduction. But .75 kept her so high…
 
Question… what should I look for at AMPS? I’m home enough to test her throughout the day altho I know her ears are getting a bit tender from today/ tonight.
I was told that if she dips below 90 twice in one cycle to give a reduction. But .75 kept her so high…
With SLGS, you actually reduce by 0.25 if they reduce even once below 90. Once thing for you to consider, is that SLGS can be customized by experienced caregivers who know how their cat reacts to insulin and food. Some people lower their reduction point a bit if they find that their cat doesn't hold reductions at 90. You have to trade that off with your comfort level of being away at work and not able to test. If you stick with 1.0 unit, there's a chance she'll see numbers like this again.

Given that you gave MC after she's started to rise, she's probably good for the night.
 
Back
Top