12/22 Jack amps 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
last condo

Jack's had a rough couple of days. First the fasting for the vet visit and getting prodded at the vet. Next came a suspected p'titis flareup. His appy has been pretty mediocore the past 2 days which is unusual for him and his numbers skyrocketed. Luckily, today his appy has picked back up. I got some more food yesterday and also got some CBD oils for him. They sell Pet Relief not the canna product, but it looked pretty good from the label and production method. I started with a 1/4 dose and will give him some in small increments throughout the day while he is getting his appy back.

He also has some presents under the tree, they had some pouch supplemental food that was 100% meat, so I found a tasty diabetic friendly meal to call his "Christmas dinner"

I think I should have done a little R last night instead of upping his dose. It looks like the numbers might be coming down now that he is starting to feel better. At least it is the weekend so any monitoring is easier.

Thanks to the members here I've had some great input on his latest vet news and am learning all kinds of new stuff. I know so much more now then when starting this diabetes adventure and a lot of it will help with future furballs.

Hope all the beans and kitties are doing good and ready to enjoy the holiday weekend!
 
Sure glad to see Capt. Jack back on the lower floors and that his appy picked back up. He sure did have a tough couple of days :( Remember NDW is likely at play with the so put those patience pants on. I'm sure Jack will love his special Christmas dinner!
 
Lovely start to the day, sorry about the rest of the cycle. Aren't those itty bitty R doses fun. :rolleyes:

You will likely find that the pred impacts how much insulin he needs. Even in my civie I noticed a difference - yes, I was paranoid about testing it! But I would hold this dose at least 6 cycles and then evaluate. You will probably need to increase with pred on board.

I too am glad to hear he has his appy back - pred can help with that too. Neko always considered extra food to be the best Christmas present. :)
 
Good to hear that his appy is coming back. And hope the CBD oil helps along with the pred. In humans, steroids can put weight on so hope that will be a nice side effect for Jack as well.
 
You will likely find that the pred impacts how much insulin he needs.
Duh, I didn't even think about it. This morning was his first day of pred and not budesonide. That would help explain the rising numbers even though he is feeling better and acting perkier. I'm getting used to these low doses finally, but there isn't much wiggle room. What used to be a rounding error for Jack can now be a double or triple dose. I have to use a magnifying glass to see where the stopper is on those itty bitty lines. I'll probably stay with the touch of R if he is in the reds and just let it ride for a few days if he is under until I get a better feel for how he responds to the pred.

steroids can put weight
Paws crossed. Between the oils and the steroids, his appy has been improving all day. Hopefully he starts packing on the pounds, he needs to get back to his "he looks like a panther" weight!
 
He's still on a relatively low dose of pred. If SCL, double that is starting dose. You might also want to move dosing to the evening. It's a better time for the endocrine system in giving a steroid. Plus if he goes higher then, better sleep. :cool: But you are right, now is data gathering on when the pred impacts BG and for how long.
 
Good luck with the CBD oil, Bronx thinks he's a kitten again when on it and plays pounce on my foot or hand when it moves under the sheets :cat:
 
Bronx thinks he's a kitten again
That is awesome, must be very rewarding to see him feeling good enough to attack the toe monsters.

Do you know how much you are giving him? The bottle I got is 3.3mg for a full dropper. I started with 1/8 to 1/4 of a dropper.
 
That is awesome, must be very rewarding to see him feeling good enough to attack the toe monsters.

Do you know how much you are giving him? The bottle I got is 3.3mg for a full dropper. I started with 1/8 to 1/4 of a dropper.
I give him about 8 drops 2x/day of Innovet PureCBD (1oz/30ml) 125mg. No idea how to do the math.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top