12/22-BEAR- +11 83

Plus side, getting these + 11 have definitely helped me prepare for whats coming at amps..
I do have to be in the office all day today, so assume im shooting 0.25.. will need to prop him up with some food im sure, strategizing 🤔
 
Yes on the reduction down to 0.25u, let’s see where he is at for preshot. You’re right, these +11s have been working in your favour. When would be the last test you can get in before you leave to go to the office?
 
Great minds think alike, I was just thinking that as well.

Here is a pic of 0.25u, you would need to gently squeeze out a couple drops from 0.5u.

1766413163424.jpeg
 
Oh I’ve got the 0.25 down pat haha we were on it for so long in the beginning.. i still have a “comparison” syringe that i use for reference set to 0.5, and check the negative space to make sure its less 😉
 
Usually with SLGS we don’t want to shoot if under 90. He only had trace ketones in the past, usually above trace is cause for some concern, but I also want to give some consideration to the fact that he had wonky electrolytes when you brought him to the vet with trace ketones at that vet visit early Dec.
 
Yeah we are getting kind of into cheeky monkey territory. Just throwing it out there, but as I said above usually above trace is cause for concern. I know you haven’t been able to get any recent ketone tests in, but since you can’t stay home to monitor, 76 is getting down there to shoot. Had he been closer to 90 with meter variance, I’d not be so concerned about shooting and leaving. I’m going to suggest a skip. The insulin should be waning but he’s giving you some interesting patterns here.
 
Sorry, was just typing that lol go LC if you can, numbers are safe still, and he might be getting some really good duration, which in and of itself is interesting.
 
Oh well…when kitties get down into lower doses like 0.25u and under, sometimes you can see the pancreas kicking in some insulin of its own. Right now you’ll still have the 0.5u depot.
 
Maybe too, if you can just catch that +1 or out the door test, then give him another higher LC snack before you leave, while still on a lower dose and with a skip, the depot can still influence the first part of the cycle a little.
 
Hi Vanessa, well that’s not awful (yet) after a skip! I wonder going forward if you might want to try a few things. These lower +11s and preshots are bounce breaks, and in some cases, the HC dry kibble is probably also clearing his system. When he does bounce he doesn’t really bounce too high or for too long, so that’s a great thing. Now that you have some selection of MC and even HC on hand, I think it really would be best to avoid the contraband altogether now. We kind of used it in the past because we knew he liked it and you weren’t able to monitor, but now it’s a bit of the chicken and the egg. The HC dry bumps up his numbers quite a lot but we don’t know how he’s using the carbs, then lo and behold it clears his system, plus the bounce breaks and we are finding lower preshots. Removing the dry will just make it easier to read his patterns more clearly.

Going forward, it will help to get a clearer picture overall to just avoid it entirely, and if you aren’t sure in pm cycles after you go to bed, just use some MC wet food or if necessary HC wet food.

You might also want to try TR for a period of time especially if you will be home over the Christmas break. With TR you can hold the doses longer, since you would reduce if you got a BG under 50, and you don’t have the limitation of having to wait for BG to be above 90 before shooting which we have been following with SLGS. As I mentioned further above, ideally you want him spending more time in healing greens, which gives his pancreas time to heal.

Of course that wouldn’t have necessarily made you feel super comfortable today, since 76 would have been your lowest green to shoot, and you weren’t able to monitor. But it is something to think about if your Christmas break schedule allows for it. Even if you don’t feel comfortable just yet with TR, I still think we might see some benefit from removing the HC dry out of the mix.

One last thought, there is still some value in continuing to test for ketones, even though he had only trace in the past. Just so we can ensure those aren’t an issue. Likely not a concern since he’s eating well, active, feeling good, etc, but still worth mentioning.
 
Okay yes!

No more contraband, Bear is not happy about this auntie Christie lol hes a kibble lover!

Im wondering if i could get some LC or MC kibble for those nights that hes lower..
Giving wet before bed is an option, but leaving out wet is not a thing lol the savages he calls his siblings would surely devour every morsel 😂 I have to guard him during the times he gets wet and they get kibble.. I tried feeding them in separate rooms before but Bear Bear doesn’t like to be separated at feed time, or he doesn’t eat 🙄 bear-nannigans *sigh*.

Im not taking any extra time off over the holidays, so just the regular days christmas, boxing day etc.
I was wondering how TR works and if its more recommended for those who are able to be available most days? Interesting to hear from anyone who works FT/PT how they manage this.

Desperately have been trying to get a ketones test but i think i mentioned hes been elusive with his habits. I caught the one by just pure luck the first time.. i tried putting him in the litter box and he just walked right out 😂 but yes, ketones test is always on my radar
 
Haha, sorry Bear-Bear, auntie Christie insists :D. The thing is you wouldn’t need to leave the MC food out at night, just feed it to him before you go to bed, depending on the last BG test before bed. If he’s flat, I’d still go with higher LC. You are already doing a great job of getting some before bed tests in. Any dry food is problematic because we don’t really know how long it stays in the system. You can, but then you’d need to stick with SLGS. There is a good post here on TR with a full time job. Info - IS TIGHT REGULATION POSSIBLE WITH A FULL TIME JOB? YES!

I used to do similar to what I’ve been suggesting for you when you need to leave, when if you get a lower preshot, feed higher LC or MC, shoot, get an out the door test, feed a bit more MC if necessary before you leave.

All stuff you can consider, since you are getting good data when you do shoot and can monitor, like on December 18th. He’s still doing very well overall, so I guess it depends on your goals, aside from those cycles influenced by contraband, he shows real progress, which you should definitely feel proud of. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Haha, sorry Bear-Bear, auntie Christie insists :D. The thing is you wouldn’t need to leave the MC food out at night, just feed it to him before you go to bed, depending on the last BG test before bed. If he’s flat, I’d still go with higher LC. You are already doing a great job of getting some before bed tests in. Any dry food is problematic because we don’t really know how long it stays in the system. You can, but then you’d need to stick with SLGS. There is a good post here on TR with a full time job. Info - IS TIGHT REGULATION POSSIBLE WITH A FULL TIME JOB? YES!

I used to do similar to what I’ve been suggesting for you when you need to leave, when if you get a lower preshot, feed higher LC or MC, shoot, get an out the door test, feed a bit more MC if necessary before you leave.

All stuff you can consider, since you are getting good data when you do shoot and can monitor, like on December 18th. He’s still doing very well overall, so I guess it depends on your goals, aside from those cycles influenced by contraband, he shows real progress, which you should definitely feel proud of. :bighug:
Thank you 🥹
I mean i guess remission has always been the goal, but i just want him a happy and healthy bear cub! Even if that means hes OTJ lol
I am going to look over the TR and im sure il have questions.. i guess the biggest one is what is best for him based on all of our information, his data + my schedule lol. My only concern atm with TR, and has been my thing all along, is that he’s pretty sensitive to a lot.. as we have seen him live up to lol.

Almost pmps and shot time, to clarify, we are shooting our new reduction of 0.25? I cant believe we’re back here again already!
 
Of course, no rush to decide, like I said you have made great progress. Ask any questions you may have, I’ll be happy to try and answer, and Wendy often peeks in too and perhaps others who can give you some further perspective. Shoot 0.25u tonight and let’s see how he goes for the time being. P.S. hide the HC dry kibble lol
 
Vanessa, One thing that someone here on the forum mentioned related to catching a ketones test or urine for a UA: once a cat has started urinating, it is near impossible for them to stop. So, if you can catch Bear in the box, wait until he starts his stream to try to grab a test. Some here have also taken long handled spoons, attached a bit of a longer stick to the handle, and used that to slip under when they are urinating. @Tim & Pookey has a video of this.
 
Of course, no rush to decide, like I said you have made great progress. Ask any questions you may have, I’ll be happy to try and answer, and Wendy often peeks in too and perhaps others who can give you some further perspective. Shoot 0.25u tonight and let’s see how he goes for the time being. P.S. hide the HC dry kibble lol
Pmps 196
 
Vanessa, One thing that someone here on the forum mentioned related to catching a ketones test or urine for a UA: once a cat has started urinating, it is near impossible for them to stop. So, if you can catch Bear in the box, wait until he starts his stream to try to grab a test. Some here have also taken long handled spoons, attached a bit of a longer stick to the handle, and used that to slip under when they are urinating. @Tim & Pookey has a video of this.
Thanks for the info, Mary 😇 Its more just catching him in the act that’s the issue lol.. before, i just stuck the strip in the stream while he was going lol that was the easy part. I may need to look into getting a camera or something 🤷‍♀️
 
Yea, I had to stalk him for a day leading up to the catch, just getting unlucky with timing. Even tried taping a ladle to a broom stick to catch him from like 6 feet away. That was a fail. Hard to control that contraption 😆
 
Back
Top