12/22/2011 Marilyn AMPS:151 Reduced Dose Lower Than Stated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Marilyn's Yesterday 12/21/2011: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59128

Marilyn's Yesterday "Dive" 12/21/2011:

AMPS = 377...1/2 can Friskies Turkey (her usual food...usual schedule)
2.25u Lantus (Day 2, Cycle 3)
+2 = 401
+4 = 369

PMPS = 259...1/2 can Friskies Turkey (her usual food...usual schedule)
PMPS BBK = 0.0 Ketones
2.25u Lantus (Day 2, Cycle 4)
PM+4 = 155
PM+4.5 = 127...1/4 can Friskies Turkey (her usual food...usual schedule)
PM+5 = 108...1/2 can ( =1.5 oz.) FF HC Grilled Turkey in Gravy + 0.5 mL Karo
PM+5.5 = 104
PM+5.75 = 107
PM+6 = 111
PM+6.5 = 127
PM+7 = 137
PM+7.5 = 140
PM+8.25 = 125
PM+8.5 = 1/4 Can Friskies Turkey (her usual food...a couple hours later than normal)
PM+9.5 = 107
PM+10 = 117
PM+11 = 113

Marilyn's Today 12/22/2011:

AMPS = 151...1/2 Can Friskies Salmon (her usual food...usual time)
1.0u Lantus (reduced dose from 2.25u...previously, I stated I would shoot 2.0u...but couldn't go through with it on AMPS:151)
AM+1 = 165
AM+2 = 239
AM+4 = 317


Edit to add @ 8:20 AM...all AMPS & PMPS regular feedings
 
Re: 12/22/2011 Marilyn AMPS:151 Reduced Dose Lower Than Sta

I guess I let her go through the roof, and off the meter now. We are both exhausted and sick...and must sleep. If anyone has a better idea...than thru roof/off meter...I'll stick around for 10 minutes, or so. Thanks.

Deb
 
Re: 12/22/2011 Marilyn AMPS:151 Reduced Dose Lower Than Sta

Hi guys .. boy marilyn had a nice solid run of blues yesterday didn't she? Nice! Sorry to see she went so high after that this morning .. And I'm sorry you guys are both feeling crummy .. I hope some btb cuddles will help you guys out .. hang in there, I know it's tough ...
 
Re: 12/22/2011 Marilyn AMPS:151 Reduced Dose Lower Than Sta

((((deb)))) i'm sure you are exhausted. that was a lot of testing. good information to have, but wow. i hope you're getting to rest today. sending you a virtual up of soothing tea! ~O)

you have to do what you feel comfy with, but fwiw, shooting a lower preshot doesn't necessarily send the cat lower. they plummet more from high numbers than they do from low numbers. it's a strange effect, and i know for me it seemed very illogical. i thought if punkin dropped from 300 to 100 on a dose, then the same dose at a preshot of 200 would send him to zero. but for whatever reason, it doesn't work that way. from that comes the Lantus Land saying "shoot low to stay low." it's what people talk about when they say Lantus produces flatter curves than other insulins. you probably would've been fine with the 2.0 and the preshot of 155. BUT, as i said, you have to be comfy. she may very well be high from her liver reacting to the low numbers anyway. that's unpreventable. as she gets used to a lower range of numbers her liver will calm down and stop reacting to them.

for now, if i were you, i'd go back to the 2.0 tonight. technically she didn't even earn a reduction in dose, that was just rather shocking to have her moving so fast last night, so you could go back up to 2.25. you do want her down into the 50-100 range when you are ok with it, which is the non-diabetic cat range, but i totally understand how you have to work up to it.

the really great thing :lol: about FD is you get another chance to do it again! i hope today is uneventful for you and you feel better when you wake up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top