12/21 Yoyo AMPS(@+13) 73, +1 73,+2 72,+3 92,PMPS 198,+1 179,

Debra and Yoyo

Member Since 2018
Yesterday 12/20 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-20-yoyo-amps-130-2-118-pmps-121-t-2-70.223182/

Giving 2 Units Lantus Only for this AM Cycle
PM Cycle will be 2nd Day @ 2.12 Units Lantus

Wooosh......what a morning.....at +10.5 Yo was at 55 after having given him Gravy at +8.
So at +10.5 I gave him more gravy and Karo syrup.
Retested about 1.75 hours later(his normal shot time) and he was at 57. So I delayed Insulin.
I fed him 1 can of his normal LC food and retested 1 hour later at which time Yo was 73 @ his new AMPS.
I know it sounds confusing.....but I waited until I believe he was at a safe number to give him his insulin dose.
I also reduced him again because of the early morning drop which I feel he would have gone much lower if I hadn't caught the drop in the wee hours of morning.

Ok....time to retest my little guy, paws crossed all is well.

Stay safe Kitties and I hope everyone else's day started out better than mine:)

PLEASE DO NOT COPY THE DOSING THAT I DID FOR YOYO TODAY.

TR PROVIDES GUIDANCE FOR DEALING WITH LOW PRESHOTS.

THERE IS A POST TO FOLLOW ..... "DEALING WITH LOW PRESHOTS."
 
Last edited:
Hi Debra and Yoyo!!

I was just scrolling down the list in LL and saw that Yoyo gave you a little “challenge” today so thought I’d pop on and see what happened. My intent here is not to play “Monday morning quarterback” but to help you with the decision process the next time this might happen and also help others reading know that TR provides guidance for how to deal with this kind of situation. What’s done is done and this is not a criticism of that but just guidance.

When you get a low number within two hours of the next preshot, you do not want to give high carb food unless the kitty is in the 30s or below. I know that low number worried you but the better solution would have been to given LC food and then retest in 30. That would be the suggestion for 1.5-2 hours prior to PS. If you had gotten a 50 something number at PS and didn’t just shoot it, you would have stalled without feeding and waited for the number to rise. Once you fed HC, you needed to wait a couple of hours for it to wear off so you weren’t shooting a food spike.

When we had been here about six months or so, Gracie gave me a 40 something at +10 and Jill helped me through it. We followed the “Dealing with Low Preshots post. I waited 20 minutes, retested, she was still in the 40s, I fed LC, retested in 30, still in 40s but flat, fed a little more LC, etc. As it turned out, she didn’t come up enough for me to shoot so it was the only time I ever had to shoot due to low numbers.

When you retested at his normal shot time and he was 57, it would have been better to withhold food until the two full hours after you gave HC (which wouldn’t have been long). If he was still above 50, you could have shot. You said you waited until he was at a safe number at 73, but 50 or above is a safe number for an experienced member with data like yours to shoot once you knew the HC was worn off.

I also reduced him again because of the early morning drop which I feel he would have gone much lower if I hadn't caught the drop in the wee hours of morning.
I wouldn’t have reduced him; he didn’t need a reduction. He was also at the very end of his cycle and he would have started up on his own. If you look back at 12/17, he was 73 @ +11, 79 @ +12. You shot and fed and then dealt with the cycle. That would have been the best course of action today. And if you shot 2u as a BCS, perhaps, remember that stalling can also work as a dose reduction so if we stall, we don’t reduce the dose unless the BG drops below the reduction point.

Let’s say you had fed LC @ +10.5 and he had just surfed the 50s into AMPS. Then you could have shot on time and fed a good meal whether it be LC or MC and tested at +1 and +2.

Believe me, I know it is hard to mentally deal with those lower numbers late in the cycle and at PS. I’m not second guessing you but just, again, giving guidance for the next time and also ensuring other members who might encounter the same situation, have an idea of what they might do.

As you know, if he rises up into mid to higher blues today, for you with your knowledge of him, you could easily shoot at +11 to get back on schedule. I know you will monitor. :)
 
Hi Debra and Yoyo!!

I was just scrolling down the list in LL and saw that Yoyo gave you a little “challenge” today so thought I’d pop on and see what happened. My intent here is not to play “Monday morning quarterback” but to help you with the decision process the next time this might happen and also help others reading know that TR provides guidance for how to deal with this kind of situation. What’s done is done and this is not a criticism of that but just guidance.

When you get a low number within two hours of the next preshot, you do not want to give high carb food unless the kitty is in the 30s or below. I know that low number worried you but the better solution would have been to given LC food and then retest in 30. That would be the suggestion for 1.5-2 hours prior to PS. If you had gotten a 50 something number at PS and didn’t just shoot it, you would have stalled without feeding and waited for the number to rise. Once you fed HC, you needed to wait a couple of hours for it to wear off so you weren’t shooting a food spike.

When we had been here about six months or so, Gracie gave me a 40 something at +10 and Jill helped me through it. We followed the “Dealing with Low Preshots post. I waited 20 minutes, retested, she was still in the 40s, I fed LC, retested in 30, still in 40s but flat, fed a little more LC, etc. As it turned out, she didn’t come up enough for me to shoot so it was the only time I ever had to shoot due to low numbers.

When you retested at his normal shot time and he was 57, it would have been better to withhold food until the two full hours after you gave HC (which wouldn’t have been long). If he was still above 50, you could have shot. You said you waited until he was at a safe number at 73, but 50 or above is a safe number for an experienced member with data like yours to shoot once you knew the HC was worn off.


I wouldn’t have reduced him; he didn’t need a reduction. He was also at the very end of his cycle and he would have started up on his own. If you look back at 12/17, he was 73 @ +11, 79 @ +12. You shot and fed and then dealt with the cycle. That would have been the best course of action today. And if you shot 2u as a BCS, perhaps, remember that stalling can also work as a dose reduction so if we stall, we don’t reduce the dose unless the BG drops below the reduction point.

Let’s say you had fed LC @ +10.5 and he had just surfed the 50s into AMPS. Then you could have shot on time and fed a good meal whether it be LC or MC and tested at +1 and +2.

Believe me, I know it is hard to mentally deal with those lower numbers late in the cycle and at PS. I’m not second guessing you but just, again, giving guidance for the next time and also ensuring other members who might encounter the same situation, have an idea of what they might do.

As you know, if he rises up into mid to higher blues today, for you with your knowledge of him, you could easily shoot at +11 to get back on schedule. I know you will monitor. :)
Thank you Marje for the very important information regarding Dealing with Low Preshots. It has helped me tremendously and I will follow the guidance TR has provided on how to deal with low preshots....many thanks:bighug:
 
Thank you Marje for the very important information regarding Dealing with Low Preshots. It has helped me tremendously and I will follow the guidance TR has provided on how to deal with low preshots....many thanks:bighug:
You are very, very welcome.

I’d love to see him get less HC food. I know you have a full plate and you need him up when he drops. I know you’ve also tried limiting the HC food. How about the next time he earns a dose reduction, you try to see if you can keep him surfing with just LC to MC foods? I wouldn’t try it while he’s on this current dose that you shot tonight but next time he earns a reduction, because he’ll have less insulin, you might find he needs less carbs. That happened with Gracie. The lower the dose, the less carbs I needed. Just a thought.
 
Back
Top