12/21: Willow has joined the blue/green club! AMPS 132 / +3 83 / + 6 68

cabreu

Member Since 2020
Friday's post

Willow has just finished a week of cabergoline and is doing great. Fifth day in a row of going green, and she hasn't bounced in more than 48 hours-- even then, I think it was because we gave her gravy when she almost went into hypo territory.

She already seems to be gaining weight and filling the litter box less. I don't want to jinx it, but after months of the 250-550 range, this is a very welcome change! I will be taking her on a 5-hour car ride in a few days, and will probably give her a smaller dose for that day. I saw the other thread where people suggested a half dose or no dose for traveling, but since the amount of time in the car won't interfere much with her schedule, I'm thinking 3/4 dose.
 
Last edited:
Cabergoline is doing wonders! :D Great report on Willow. :) I bet she feels better too.

At this point in time, you might want to consider doing reductions at below 70. It's a modification to TR that can give you a bit of safety margin. Note to any lurkers, only to be used if acromegaly is being treated (SRT or cabergoline) or IAA is breaking, and kitty is on a higher dose.

I didn't reduce Neko's dose when travelling, unless she had been hinting about needing a reduction. Given Willow isn't too predictable these days, might not be a bad idea to give her a safety reduction. I'd actually reduce for a cycle or two before hand, so the depot is also reduced the day of travel.

By the way, a word on terminology. We don't typically refer to a low numbers event as a hypo, unless there are hypo symptoms. Cats not on insulin can test in the 40's, we just don't want our sugar cats there so we have some room.

The link to your last post here.
 
Cabergoline is doing wonders! :D Great report on Willow. :) I bet she feels better too.

At this point in time, you might want to consider doing reductions at below 70. It's a modification to TR that can give you a bit of safety margin. Note to any lurkers, only to be used if acromegaly is being treated (SRT or cabergoline) or IAA is breaking, and kitty is on a higher dose.

I didn't reduce Neko's dose when travelling, unless she had been hinting about needing a reduction. Given Willow isn't too predictable these days, might not be a bad idea to give her a safety reduction. I'd actually reduce for a cycle or two before hand, so the depot is also reduced the day of travel.

By the way, a word on terminology. We don't typically refer to a low numbers event as a hypo, unless there are hypo symptoms. Cats not on insulin can test in the 40's, we just don't want our sugar cats there so we have some room.

The link to your last post here.
Thanks for the reminder, added the link to the last post to the top. And thanks also for the terminology clarification. So you just call below 50 "low numbers"?

Yes I took your suggestion about 70 being the threshold and did a reduction from 9 to 8 units a couple of days ago when she went to 67. She just dipped below 70 again so I think I'll reduce to 7.5 or 7 tonight.
 
Good call on the reduction. Once she slows down the reduction you can think about whether you want to lower the reduction point back down to 50.

Below 50 we call low numbers, unless there are hypo symptoms. Got a furbaby at home who likes the 40's.
 
Back
Top