12/21 TAFFY-AMPS 108/+2 76/+3 81/+7 118/PMPS 304/+2 367/+4 331/+5.5 313/+11 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...303-pmps-313-2-275-4-237.169938/#post-1847990

So, hard to say for sure, but the old pen may have been losing potency. After not having his numbers move much, I used the new insulin last night (at same dose) and he is finally going somewhere. Coincidence or insulin?
PM +9 = 143
AMPS = 108

I did go ahead and increase him this morning ti 1.75u, but I am not sure I should have yet???
Also forgot the I ran late last night by over 25 minutes and I shot his a little early this morning.
Taffy is having trouble going potty again and seeking fuzz. He won't eat the pumpkin ( I tried again and mixed it in stinky food). It is not a miralax issue, he needs help with motility and I never know what to give him. Psyllium is not good with him either, I think it gums him up worse. I gave him probiotics in his food, but he didn't finish it. I may have to pill some.
 
Can anyone tell me experience with Reglan? Taffy has had issues with going potty for a long time. It is not dryness, constipation, dehydration. He eats food with a lot of moisture and his #2s are usually good "texture". It seems mute like a motility issue. I really want to help him with this.
 
I would not have increased this morning. Hopefully you're around to monitor him. Some cars take longer than 6 cycles to recover from skipped shots. As long as you can monitor it's not a big issue. He'll tell you if a a reduction is needed.
 
I would not have increased this morning. Hopefully you're around to monitor him. Some cars take longer than 6 cycles to recover from skipped shots. As long as you can monitor it's not a big issue. He'll tell you if a a reduction is needed.
I was unsure...I thought that since I had done over 6 cycles since the skip, that I should go ahead and increase. But then there was the insulin question, whether the old pen had decreased potency or not. But, I did it already. I am around today.
+2 = 76 We may be headed for an interesting day...
 
I still need ideas for motility...we have never tried a drug for this issue (other than miralax and lactulose). He always seems like he is seeking something, he eats dust bunnies, etc.
 
I was unsure...I thought that since I had done over 6 cycles since the skip, that I should go ahead and increase. But then there was the insulin question, whether the old pen had decreased potency or not. But, I did it already. I am around today.
+2 = 76 We may be headed for an interesting day...
With an AMPS that low after being high for 3 days it's a good indicator to hold the dose. If your not sure I'd do nothing next time. Hold it there Taffy and surf buddy.

I don't use reglan as it's more for dogs. Think @jayla-n-Drevon has used it.
 
I know. Ugh. I should have held that dose, as it seemed either he was just finally responding or the old pen really was dying out and the new insulin kicked him into gear. I really do suspect the insulin bcuz he has not had such static numbers for so long, usually. But I can't know for sure. We are on the move now, so I'll focus on that!
 
Test often and put on the coffee!:coffee::coffee:
:cat:Could it be he's eating stuff because his numbers have been high? but some cats are just weird, pica is not uncommon in cats I've learned since my civvie Jett has something that sure as heck mimics it..he chews EVERYTHING. Rebar,leather, shoes, plastic is a true delicacy he can sniff out a mile away, cloth gift bags, wood, iPad corners..I could go on and on...he's like a puppy. Everything goes via the teeth test.
I've used Reglan (Dr. H. RX) but the drug they gave me this time for colitis is metronidazole Tiny Tabs. They worked well at calming Jett's colitis but you have to put them in a gel cap as they are nasty bitter or really be good at getting the pill down without stopping in the mouth.
I'd ask the vet, maybe a phone consultation would to it but they Xrayed Jett and palpated him to diagnose and RX the colitis
Feel better and surf safely Taffy...:bighug:
ETA: my vet said if it is colitis causing the problem adding constipation remedies such as miralax will aggravate the situation not help. Thinking because they are trying then to poop out something that is not there to poop out?
 
+3 = 81 Got to the greens, but maybe that is as low as we go today...I'm good with that. @Gussie's mom I don't really know what to do for Taffy. Both of my guys have not #2'd today yet, but civ Baby's is due to his mainly kibble diet. He gets wet food put out every day, but he eats just a little usually. I am trying to give him Miralax, that seems to be ok for him. Taffy tho, I can't figure out what helps the dude. Psyllium just irritates, same with slippery elm. Won't eat pumpkin. He is ok, I just wish I could relieve his frustration. I wonder if he has acid and some pepcid would help...I have to do more reading/research, but right now I am wrapping gifts! Oh, I tried to do phone consult about it with my local vet, but they want to examine them both. Unless it gets urgent, I am not dragging them out in this weather (raining!!).
 
With an AMPS that low after being high for 3 days it's a good indicator to hold the dose. If your not sure I'd do nothing next time. Hold it there Taffy and surf buddy.

I don't use reglan as it's more for dogs. Think @jayla-n-Drevon has used it.
Hi!
Yes we use reglan and it has helped with mobility for my Rico... I use the injectable and compounded.
Rico can be fussy so if I want to be sure he gets it I give the injection.
It slows everything down and seems to make him more relaxed.
 
Hi hoping the pumpkin helps! I bought some of this at PSW, it's not as thick as canned pumpkin, it's just pumpkin and water
IMG_3191.JPG
They tolerated it better than straight thick pumpkin. You could probably accomplish it with pumpkin and water and a blender
Hope the food he ate gets things moving!
 
Hi!
Yes we use reglan and it has helped with mobility for my Rico... I use the injectable and compounded.
Rico can be fussy so if I want to be sure he gets it I give the injection.
It slows everything down and seems to make him more relaxed.
Huh, I thought it was supposed to help things move through. Not really sure I want to slow anything down! Thanks for the info.
 
I had one cat with a large cell tumour on cisapride (increases muscle contractions) plus mirilax. Some people don't like cisapride because they feel it is almost impossible to get the system to work on its own again. Since my girl was terminal, it helped tremendously. I don't know how or if it would work for Taffy.
 
PMPS = 304
Shot back up from the lower #s earlier. I don't know if this is bouncing or maybe the pumpkin?? Pumpkin must affect BGs, I would think.
Also having trouble keeping to good schedule, this past week especially. Tonight and last night were not up to me and I was not the driver and I get home very frazzled and frustrated and late. I'll be better after I relax a few.
 
Hi hoping the pumpkin helps! I bought some of this at PSW, it's not as thick as canned pumpkin, it's just pumpkin and water
View attachment 25001
They tolerated it better than straight thick pumpkin. You could probably accomplish it with pumpkin and water and a blender
Hope the food he ate gets things moving!
They have dried pumpkin flakes, too. I'm going to keep experimenting and see if anything food-wise helps him, I think, before I try drugs. But, this has been an issue for a few years, and I have not yet found the solution. Maybe I will ask the vet about chinese herbs for this.
 
They have dried pumpkin flakes, too. I'm going to keep experimenting and see if anything food-wise helps him, I think, before I try drugs. But, this has been an issue for a few years, and I have not yet found the solution. Maybe I will ask the vet about chinese herbs for this.
Hoping something gets him going....:bighug:
 
Dunno, pumpkin didn't affect Gussies numbers....but ECID so can't say for sure..but my best guess would be a bounce off those greens earlier, liver going Whoa!?!
I hope so. I feel like we are stalled up and I feel like it has been my fault. I've been so stressed at home and this stupid eye thing and the holidays.
 
I hope so. I feel like we are stalled up and I feel like it has been my fault. I've been so stressed at home and this stupid eye thing and the holidays.
It's ok, it's a marathon not a sprint as the saying goes....you just have to keep at it. You can only do as best you can given your specific circumstances, therefore sometimes we have to slide backward a bit but the cool thing is that because you are working the protocol even when you have to skip or reduce because of circumstances you have the chance to pick back up. its awfully hard to wear the patience pants necessary for this dance, especially for those cursed with the "fixer" gene! ;):bighug:
 
Haha and it's REALLY hard to just let go the reins and let the cat lead!:nailbiting:
What helped for me was wrapping my head around that it is hormones we are dealing with, not say a bug that we give a medicine for and everything gets better boom!
 
it is hormones we are dealing with

Exactly!!! When you get frustrated, remember this....you know how a teenage girl can be in tears one second and laughing the next...and then screaming in anger??....Hormones!!

And these are cats we're dealing with!.....we can't even make them go to their room and re-read the rules or sign a "behavior contract"!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top